1 State of Arkansas As Engrossed: S3/28/01 S4/4/01 A Bill 2 83rd General Assembly SENATE BILL 552 3 Regular Session, 2001 4 By: Senator Gwatney 5 6 7 For An Act To Be Entitled 8 9 AN ACT TO ESTABLISH THE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS IN ARKANSAS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES. 10 11 Subtitle 12 AN ACT TO ESTABLISH THE CONGRESSIONAL 13 DISTRICTS IN ARKANSAS. 14 15 16 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: 17 18 19 SECTION 1. Arkansas Code 7-2-101 is amended to read as follows: 20 7-2-101. Number of congressional districts. 21 The State of Arkansas is hereby divided into four (4) congressional districts, provided that the members of the House of Representatives of the 22 23 United States Congress presently serving from each of the existing congressional districts of this state shall continue to serve until the 24 25 expiration of their current terms, and successor congressmen shall be elected 26 from the congressional districts as established in this subchapter. It is the intention of this subchapter to provide for congressional districts of 27 substantially equal population in order to comply with the Equal Protection 28 29 Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States. 30 31 SECTION 2. Arkansas Code 7-2-102 is amended to read as follows: 32 7-2-102. First Congressional District. 33 The First Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of: Arkansas, Baxter, Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Fulton, 34 35 Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Lee, Lonoke, Mississippi, 36 Monroe, Phillips, Prairie, Poinsett, Randolph, St. Francis, Searcy, Sharp,

RR\$404 021920011452. RR\$404

1	Stone, and Woodruff; and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect
2	one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the United States.
3	
4	SECTION 3. Arkansas Code 7-2-103 is amended to read as follows:
5	7-2-103. Second Congressional District.
6	The Second Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of:
7	Conway, Faulkner, Perry, Pulaski, Saline, Van Buren, White, and Yell; and the
8	qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House
9	of Representatives of the United States.
10	
11	SECTION 4. Arkansas Code 7-2-104 is amended to read as follows:
12	7-2-104. Third Congressional District.
13	The Third Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of:
14	<i>Baxter,</i> Benton, Boone, Carroll, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, <i>Logan,</i> Madison,
15	Marion, Newton, <i>Polk,</i> Pope, Sebastian, <i>Scott,</i> and Washington; and the
16	qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House
17	of Representatives of the United States.
18	
19	SECTION 5. Arkansas Code 7-2-105 is amended to read as follows:
20	7-2-105. Fourth Congressional District.
21	The Fourth Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of:
22	Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha,
23	Drew, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson, Lafayette,
24	Little River, <i>Lincoln</i> , <i>Logan</i> , <i>Miller</i> , Montgomery, Nevada, Ouachita, <i>Pike</i> ,
25	<u>Polk, Scott,</u> Sevier, and Union; and the qualified electors residing therein
26	shall elect one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the United
27	States.
28	
29	SECTION 6. If any provision of section 2, 3, 4 or 5 of this act is
30	held invalid by any court of competent jurisdiction, sections 2 through 5 of
31	this act shall be void and Arkansas Code 7-2-102 through 7-2-105 shall be
32	repealed and the congressional districts of this state shall be as follows:
33	(1) The First Congressional District shall be composed of the
34	counties of: Arkansas; Baxter; Clay; Cleburne; Craighead; Crittenden; Cross;
35	Ful ton; Greene; Independence; Izard; Jackson; Lawrence; Lee; Lonoke;
36	<u>Mississippi; Monroe; Phillips; Prairie; Poinsett; Randolph; St. Francis;</u>

1	Searcy; Sharp; Stone; and Woodruff; and the qualified electors residing
2	therein shall elect one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the
3	<u>Uni ted States;</u>
4	(2) The Second Congressional District shall be composed of the
5	counties of: Conway; Faulkner; Perry; precincts 20, 24, 56, and 57 of Pope
6	County; Pulaski; Saline; Van Buren; White; and Yell; and the qualified
7	electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House of
8	Representatives of the United States;
9	(3) The Third Congressional District shall be composed of the
10	following counties or parts of counties: Benton; Boone; Carroll; Crawford;
11	Franklin (except precincts 20, 23, 24, 26, and 28); Johnson; Madison; Marion;
12	Newton; Pope(except precincts 20, 24, 56, and 57); Sebastian; and Washington;
13	and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the
14	House of Representatives of the United States; and
15	(4) The Fourth Congressional District shall be composed of the
16	following counties or parts of counties: Ashley; Bradley; Calhoun; Chicot;
17	Clark; Cleveland; Columbia; Dallas; Desha; Drew; precincts 20, 23, 24, 26,
18	and 28 of Franklin County; Garland; Grant; Hempstead; Hot Spring; Howard;
19	Jefferson; Lafayette; Little River; Lincoln; Logan; Miller; Montgomery;
20	Nevada; Ouachita; Pike; Polk; Scott; Sevier; and Union; and the qualified
21	electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House of
22	Representatives of the United States.
23	
24	/s/ Gwatney
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	