1	State of Arkansas
2	84th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2003 HR 1025
4	
5	By: Representative Edwards
6	
7	
8	HOUSE RESOLUTION
9	COMMENDING AND EXPRESSING APPRECIATION TO THE
10	UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS PRESS.
11	
12	Subtitle
13	COMMENDING AND EXPRESSING APPRECIATION
14	TO THE UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS PRESS.
15	
16	
17	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas Press is the chief publishing arm
18 19	of the state's academic community, and one of the most admired and awarded
20	small publishing presses in the South; and
20	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas Press has not only survived
22	economic downturns and administrative efforts to abolish the Press, it has
23	flourished with renewed public and private support and today it enjoys the
24	full support of Chancellor Dr. John White, President Alan Sugg, and the
25	University of Arkansas Board of Trustees; and
26	-
27	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas Press enjoys the prestige of being
28	the premier publisher of the works of the 2002 Nobel Peace Prize winner,
29	former President Jimmy Carter, as well as the publisher of one title by
30	former First Lady Rosalynn Carter; and
31	
32	WHEREAS, the renewed respect for and support of the University of
33	Arkansas Press is due in part to the capable guidance of University of
34	Arkansas Press Director Lawrence Malley and Dr. Collis Geren; and
35	
36	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas Press and the Press staff,



including Director Malley and Dr. Geren are most deserving of public commendation and congratulations, NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE EIGHTY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: The House of Representatives of the Eighty-Fourth General Assembly hereby commends and congratulates the University of Arkansas Press and the entire Press staff, including University of Arkansas Press Director Lawrence Malley and Dr. Collis Geren for the valuable service to the state, the academic community of the state, and to all Arkansans. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that upon adoption of this resolution, the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives shall transmit appropriate copies hereof to Chancellor Dr. John A. White, University of Arkansas President Alan Sugg, University of Arkansas Press Director Lawrence Malley, and Dr. Collis Geren.