Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

1	State of Arkansas	A Bill			
2	84th General Assembly	A DIII		50	
3	Regular Session, 2003		SENATE BILL	59	
4	Dev. Constan Hann				
5	By: Senator Horn				
6	By: Representatives King, Co	Jwiing			
7 8					
9		For An Act To Be Entitled			
10	AN ACT TO AMEND ARKANSAS CODE § 14-137-108 TO				
11		ALLOW MAYORS AND COUNTY JUDGES OF CREATING CITIES			
12	AND COUNTIES TO APPOINT THE SUCCESSOR MEMBERS OF				
13	PUBLIC H	FACILITIES BOARDS, INSTEAD OF A MAJO	RITY		
14	OF THE BOARD'S MEMBERSHIP; AND FOR OTHER				
15	PURPOSES	3.			
16					
17		Subtitle			
18	TO AI	LLOW MAYORS AND COUNTY JUDGES OF			
19	CREAT	TING CITIES AND COUNTIES TO APPOINT			
20	THE S	SUCCESSOR MEMBERS OF PUBLIC			
21	FACII	LITIES BOARDS.			
22					
23					
24	BE IT ENACTED BY THE G	ENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKA	NSAS:		
25					
26		nsas Code § 14-137-108(a) is amended	l to read as		
27	follows:	1			
28	· · · · · ·	lic facilities board shall consist o		S	
29 30	-	eansion of the board to provide servi ernmental unit from which it obtains			
31	-	provisions of this subsection shall b	-	,	
32	-	ities boards in counties having a po			
33	than one hundred fifty thousand (150,000) according to the most recent				
34		sus and to all public facilities boar		,	
35	municipalities having a population of less than one hundred thousand				
36	-	the most recent federal decennial c		;	
	_				



1 of where located.

2 (3)(A)(i) The initial members shall be appointed by the mayor of
3 the creating municipality or the county judge of the creating county for
4 terms of one (1), two (2), three (3), four (4), and five (5) years,
5 respectively.

6 (ii) Members are not required to be residents of the7 municipality or county which has created the public facilities board.

8 (B) Successor members shall be elected by a majority of 9 the board for appointed by the mayor of the creating municipality or the 10 county judge of the creating county subject to confirmation by the governing 11 body of the municipality or county for staggered terms of five (5) years 12 each, unless the bylaws of the public facilities board or the ordinance pursuant to which the public facilities board was formed provides for an 13 14 alternative means of electing successor members by the membership of the 15 public facilities board's service area.

16 (C) Each member shall serve until his successor is elected 17 and qualified.

(D) A member shall be eligible to succeed himself.

19 (4) Each member shall qualify by taking and filing with the 20 clerk of the municipality or county creating the board his oath of office in 21 which he shall swear to support the Constitution of the United States and the 22 Constitution of the State of Arkansas and to discharge faithfully his duties 23 in the manner provided by law.

(5) In the event of a vacancy in the membership of the board,
however caused, a majority of the board shall elect the mayor or the county
judge shall appoint a successor member to serve the unexpired term subject to
confirmation by the governing body of the municipality or county.

(6) The members of the board shall receive no compensation for
their services, but shall be entitled to reimbursement for reasonable and
necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.

31 (7) Any member of the board may be removed for misfeasance, 32 malfeasance, or willful neglect of duty, by the mayor of the municipality or 33 the county judge of the county, as the case may be, which created the board, 34 after reasonable notice of and an opportunity to be heard concerning the 35 alleged grounds for removal.

36

18

(8)(A)(i) If the jurisdiction of a board, pursuant to interlocal

2

agreements, expands to provide services outside the boundaries of the governmental unit from which it obtains power, then not more than two (2) additional members per governmental unit may be added pursuant to the terms of any relevant interlocal agreement. (ii) These members shall *initially* be appointed by the mayor of the newly participating municipality, or the county judge of the newly participating county, and shall serve for a term agreed upon in the interlocal agreement, provided that the term shall not exceed five (5) years. (B) The other provisions of this section shall apply to these additional members, provided that no additional member shall be eligible to serve as chairman of the board.