1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: S2/5/03	
2	84th General Assembly		
3	Regular Session, 2003	SC	CR (
4			
5	By: Senator Argue		
6	By: Representative C. Johns	on	
7			
8			
9	SEN	NATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION	
10	RECOGNI	ZING THE CONTRIBUTION MADE BY THE ARKANSAS	
11	BLUE RI	BBON COMMISSION ON PUBLIC EDUCATION TOWARD	
12	IMPROVI	NG THE STATE'S SYSTEM OF PUBLIC EDUCATION	
13	AND EXP	RESSING APPRECIATION FOR A JOB WELL DONE.	
14			
15		Subtitle	
16	RECO	GNIZING THE CONTRIBUTION MADE BY THE	
17	ARKA	NSAS BLUE RIBBON COMMISSION ON	
18	PUBL	IC EDUCATION TOWARD IMPROVING THE	
19	STAT	E'S SYSTEM OF PUBLIC EDUCATION AND	
20	EXPR	ESSING APPRECIATION FOR A JOB WELL	
21	DONE	•	
22			
23	WHEREAS, Act 13	98 of 2001, sponsored by former State Senator John Ri	ggs
24	of Little Rock, creat	ed the Arkansas Blue Ribbon Commission on Public	
25	Education and charged	it to define the components of the constitutional	
26	mandate for "a genera	l, suitable and efficient system of free public	
27	schools", define an e	quitable and adequate system of free public education	1,
28	assess current effort	s to improve the state's system of public education,	
29	actively involve the	private sector as full and valued partners in the	
30	improvement process,	and recommend legislation for the 2003 Regular Sessio	m
31	of the General Assemb	ly; and	
32			
33	WHEREAS, in acc	ordance with the provisions of Act 1398, the Governor	.,
34	the Speaker of the Ho	use of Representatives, the President Pro Tempore of	the
35	Senate, the Chair of	the House Interim Committee on Education, and the Cha	ıir
36	of the Senate Interim	Committee on Education appointed the following	



6

1	individuals to serve on the Blue Ribbon Commission:
2	
3	Mr. Frank Anthony, Pine Bluff
4	Ms. Charlie Cole Chaffin, Benton
5	Ms. Judith G. Donovan, Searcy
6	Dr. Charles Dunn, Arkadelphia
7	Dr. Benny Gooden, Fort Smith
8	Dr. Reed Greenwood, Fayetteville
9	Mr. Gene Gregory, Arkansas City
10	Ms. Pat L. Harris, Bryant
11	Mr. Wayne Hartsfield, Searcy
12	Ms. Shelby Hillman, Carlisle
13	Mr. Randy Hughes, Delight
14	Mr. Phil Jones, Sr., Jonesboro
15	Dr. Don Love, Springdale
16	Mr. David Matthews, Rogers
17	Mr. Hugh McDonald, Little Rock
18	Ms. Kathy McFetridge, Springdale
19	Mr. Robert McGinnis, West Memphis
20	Dr. Martha McNair, Fayetteville
21	Mr. Kevin Moore, Russellville
22	Ms. Stacy Pittman, Little Rock
23	Ms. Alisia Ramirez-Hartz, Fayetteville
24	Mr. Ulicious Reed, Marvell
25	Mr. Larry Ross, North Little Rock
26	Mr. Keith Stokes, Dardanelle
27	Ms. Johnettee W. Walker, Wilmot
28	
29	WHEREAS, these Arkansans, lead by Mr. McGinnis and Ms. Pittman, came
30	together and worked diligently for thirteen (13) months to produce their
31	report, which was presented to a joint meeting of the House Interim Committee
32	on Education and the Senate Interim Committee on Education on July 18, 2002;
33	and
34	
35	WHEREAS, the report of the Arkansas Blue Ribbon Commission on Public
36	Education has served as a touchstone for the discussion of the changes and

2

SCR6

1	improvements required to enhance the educational opportunities available to
2	the children of our state,
3	
4	NOW THEREFORE,
5	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE EIGHTY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE
6	STATE OF ARKANSAS, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:
7	
8	That this resolution is adopted to recognize the contribution made by
9	the Arkansas Blue Ribbon Commission on Public Education toward improving the
10	state's system of public education and wish to express their sincere
11	appreciation for a job well done.
12	
13	/s/ Argue
14	
15 16	
10	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33 34	
35	
36	
20	

3