Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: H1/12/05	
2	85th General Assembly	A B1ll	
3	Regular Session, 2005		HOUSE BILL 1003
4			
5	By: Representative Boyd		
6			
7			
8		For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT	TO CLARIFY THE CREATION AND LOCATION	ONS OF
10	THE DEP.	ARTMENTS OF VARIOUS DISTRICT COURT	S; AND
11	FOR OTH	ER PURPOSES.	
12			
13		Subtitle	
14	AN A	CT TO CLARIFY THE CREATION AND	
15	LOCA	TIONS OF THE DEPARTMENTS OF VARIOU	S
16	DIST	RICT COURTS.	
17			
18			
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE (	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF AF	RKANSAS:
20			
21		ansas Code § 16-17-902 is amended t	to read as follows:
22		ties having one district court.	
23		the following counties shall have	one (1) district
24	court and one (1) dist	5 0	
25		er, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Clark,	
26		wford, Cross, Dallas, Drew, Faulkne	
27	-	t Spring, Howard, Independence, Iza	
28	-	Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Madisor	
29		ewton, Perry, Pike, <del>Poinsett,</del> Polk,	
30	-	, <del>Sharp,</del> St. Francis, Stone, Union,	, <u>and</u> Van Buren <del>, and</del>
31	Woodruff.		
32		ct court shall be located in the co	ounty seat of the
33		bdivision (a)(2) of this section.	
34 25		ge of any district court located in	n a county with one
35 26		all be elected countywide.	- in a count it
36	(2) If th	here is only one (1) district court	L IN a county, It



HB1003

1 shall have countywide jurisdiction. 2 SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 16-17-904 is amended to read as follows: 3 4 16-17-904. Counties having two district courts. 5 (a) Arkansas, Carroll, Franklin, Logan, and Mississippi, and Prairie 6 counties, having two (2) judicial districts, shall have one (1) district 7 court in each district and one (1) district judge for each court. 8 The district court in Arkansas, Carroll, Franklin, Logan, and (b) 9 Mississippi, and Prairie counties shall be located in the county seat of each 10 judicial district in the county. 11 (c) The judge of any district court located in Arkansas, Carroll, 12 Franklin, Logan, and Mississippi, and Prairie counties shall be elected by the electors of the judicial district in which the court is located. 13 14 (d) In Arkansas, Carroll, Franklin, Logan, and Mississippi, and 15 Prairie counties, the jurisdiction of the district court shall be limited to 16 the district in which the court sits. 17 SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 16-17-907 is amended to read as follows: 18 19 16-17-907. Clay County District Court. 20 (a) Clay County, having two (2) judicial districts, shall have one (1) 21 district court with two (2) three (3) departments, one (1) department located 22 in the county seat of each judicial district Corning, one (1) located in 23 Piggott, and one (1) located in Rector and both with all three (3) 24 departments are to be served by one (1) judge. (b) The judge of the Clay County District Court shall be elected 25 26 countywide. 27 (c) The Clay County District Court shall have countywide jurisdiction. 28 29 SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 16-17-914(a)(1), concerning the 30 establishment of district courts, is amended to read as follows: 31 (a) Lonoke County, having two (2) judicial districts, shall have the 32 following district courts and judges: 33 (1) The Northern District of Lonoke County shall have: 34 (A) One (1) district court with two (2) departments, one 35 (1) located in Cabot and one (1) located in Ward; and 36 (B) One (1) district judge.

HB1003

1			
2	SECTION 5. Arkansas Code Title 16, Chapter 17, Subchapter 9 is amended		
3	to add additional sections to read as follows:		
4	16-17-924. Poinsett County District Court.		
5	(a) Poinsett County shall have one (1) district court with five (5)		
6	departments, one (1) located in Marked Tree, one (1) located in Trumann, one		
7	(1) located in Tyronza, one (1) located in Lepanto, and one (1) located in		
8	Harrisburg with all five (5) departments to be served by one (1) judge.		
9	(b) The judge of the Poinsett County District Court shall be elected		
10	countywide.		
11	(c) The Poinsett County District Court shall have countywide		
12	jurisdiction.		
13			
14	16-17-925. Sharp County District Court.		
15	(a) Sharp County shall have one (1) district court with two (2)		
16	departments, one (1) located in Ash Flat and one (1) located in Cherokee		
17	Village with both departments to be served by one (1) judge.		
18	(b) The judge of the Sharp County District Court shall be elected		
19	countywide.		
20	(c) The Sharp County District Court shall have countywide		
21	jurisdiction.		
22			
23	16-17-926. Woodruff County District Court.		
24	(a) Woodruff County shall have one (1) district court with three (3)		
25	departments, one (1) located in Augusta, one (1) located in Cotton Plant, and		
26	one (1) located in McCrory with all three (3) departments to be served by one		
27	(1) judge.		
28	(b) The judge of the Woodruff County District Court shall be elected		
29	countywide.		
30	(c) The Woodruff County District Court shall have countywide		
31	jurisdiction.		
32			
33	16-17-927. Prairie County District Courts.		
34	(a) Prairie County, having two (2) judicial districts, shall have the		
35			
55	following district courts and judges:		

HB1003

1	(A) One (1) district court located in Des Arc; and		
2	(B) One district judge.		
3	(2) The Southern District shall have:		
4	(A) One (1) district court with three (3) departments, one		
5	(1) located in Hazen, one (1) located in Biscoe, and one (1) located in		
6	DeValls Bluff; and		
7	(B) One district judge.		
8	(b) The judge of any district court located in Prairie County shall be		
9	elected by the electors of the judicial district, as now or in the future may		
10	be constituted, in which the court is located.		
11	(c) The jurisdiction of the district court in Prairie County shall be		
12	limited to the judicial district, as now or in the future may be constituted,		
13	in which the court is located.		
14			
15	16-17-928. Lawrence County District Court.		
16	(a) Lawrence County shall have one (1) district court with two (2)		
17	departments, one (1) located in Walnut Ridge and one (1) located in Hoxie,		
18	with both departments to be served by one (1) judge.		
19	(b) The judge of the Lawrence County District Court shall be elected		
20	<u>countywide.</u>		
21	(c) The Lawrence County District Court shall have countywide		
22	jurisdiction.		
23			
24	SECTION 6. EMERGENCY CLAUSE. It is found and determined by the		
25	General Assembly of the State of Arkansas that the districts courts in		
26	various counties must have departments located in various parts of the county		
27	to ensure that sufficient courtrooms and resources are available for the		
28	operation of the court system in the counties; that the statutes creating the		
29	district courts must be clarified to reflect the establishment of the various		
30	departments; and that this act is immediately necessary to ensure the		
31	continued operation of the departments of the district courts. Therefore, an		
32	emergency is declared to exist and this act being immediately necessary for		
33	the preservation of the public peace, health, and safety shall become		
34	effective on:		
35	(1) The date of its approval by the Governor;		
36	(2) If the bill is neither approved nor vetoed by the Governor,		

## As Engrossed: H1/12/05

HB1003

1	the expiration of the period of time during which the Governor may veto the
2	bill; or
3	(3) If the bill is vetoed by the Governor and the veto is
4	overridden, the date the last house overrides the veto.
5	
6	/s/ Boyd
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22 23	
23 24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	