1	State of Arkansas  A D:11	
2	85th General Assembly A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2005 HOUSE BILL	1003
4		
5	By: Representative Boyd	
6		
7	Ear Ar Aat To Do Entitled	
8	For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT TO CLARIFY THE CREATION AND LOCATIONS OF	
10	THE DEPARTMENTS OF VARIOUS DISTRICT COURTS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	
11 12	FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	
13	Subtitle	
14	AN ACT TO CLARIFY THE CREATION AND	
15	LOCATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENTS OF VARIOUS	
16	DISTRICT COURTS.	
17		
18		
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:	
20		
21	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 16-17-902 is amended to read as follows:	:
22	16-17-902. Counties having one district court.	
23	(a)(1) Each of the following counties shall have one (1) district	
24	court and one (1) district judge:	
25	(2) Baxter, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Clark, Cleburne, Clevela	and,
26	Columbia, Conway, Crawford, Cross, Dallas, Drew, Faulkner, Fulton, Grant,	
27	Greene, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Johns	son,
28	Lawrence, Lafayette, Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Madison, Marion, Miller,	
29	Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Perry, Pike, <del>Poinsett,</del> Polk, Pope, Randolph,	
30	Scott, Searcy, Sevier, Sharp, St. Francis, Stone, Union, and Van Buren, ar	<del>1d</del>
31	Woodruff.	
32	(b) The district court shall be located in the county seat of the	
33	counties listed in subdivision (a)(2) of this section.	
34	(c)(1) The judge of any district court located in a county with one	<u> </u>
35	(1) district court shall be elected countywide.	
36	(2) If there is only one (1) district court in a county, it	

11-15-2004 12:23 KAC013

```
1
     shall have countywide jurisdiction.
 2
 3
           SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 16-17-904 is amended to read as follows:
 4
           16-17-904. Counties having two district courts.
 5
           (a) Arkansas, Carroll, Franklin, Logan, and Mississippi, and Prairie
 6
     counties, having two (2) judicial districts, shall have one (1) district
 7
     court in each district and one (1) district judge for each court.
 8
               The district court in Arkansas, Carroll, Franklin, Logan, and
 9
     Mississippi, and Prairie counties shall be located in the county seat of each
10
     judicial district in the county.
11
           (c) The judge of any district court located in Arkansas, Carroll,
12
     Franklin, Logan, and Mississippi, and Prairie counties shall be elected by
     the electors of the judicial district in which the court is located.
13
14
           (d) In Arkansas, Carroll, Franklin, Logan, and Mississippi, and
15
     Prairie counties, the jurisdiction of the district court shall be limited to
16
     the district in which the court sits.
17
           SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 16-17-907 is amended to read as follows:
18
19
           16-17-907. Clay County District Court.
20
           (a) Clay County, having two (2) judicial districts, shall have one (1)
21
     district court with two (2) three (3) departments, one (1) department located
22
     in the county seat of each judicial district Corning, one (1) located in
23
     Piggott, and one (1) located in Rector and both with all three (3)
24
     departments are to be served by one (1) judge.
           (b) The judge of the Clay County District Court shall be elected
25
26
     countywide.
27
           (c) The Clay County District Court shall have countywide jurisdiction.
28
29
           SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 16-17-914(a)(1), concerning the
30
     establishment of district courts, is amended to read as follows:
31
           (a) Lonoke County, having two (2) judicial districts, shall have the
32
     following district courts and judges:
33
                 (1) The Northern District of Lonoke County shall have:
34
                       (A) One (1) district court with two (2) departments, one
35
     (1) located in Cabot and one (1) located in Ward; and
36
                       (B) One (1) district judge.
```

1	
2	SECTION 5. Arkansas Code Title 16, Chapter 17, Subchapter 9 is amended
3	to add additional sections to read as follows:
4	16-17-924. Poinsett County District Court.
5	(a) Poinsett County shall have one (1) district court with five (5)
6	departments, one (1) located in Marked Tree, one (1) located in Trumann, one
7	(1) located in Tyronza, one (1) located in Lepanto, and one (1) located in
8	Harrisburg with all five (5) departments to be served by one (1) judge.
9	(b) The judge of the Poinsett County District Court shall be elected
10	countywide.
11	(c) The Poinsett County District Court shall have countywide
12	jurisdiction.
13	
14	16-17-925. Sharp County District Court.
15	(a) Sharp County shall have one (1) district court with two (2)
16	departments, one (1) located in Ash Flat and one (1) located in Cherokee
17	Village with both departments to be served by one (1) judge.
18	(b) The judge of the Sharp County District Court shall be elected
19	countywide.
20	(c) The Sharp County District Court shall have countywide
21	jurisdiction.
22	
23	16-17-926. Woodruff County District Court.
24	(a) Woodruff County shall have one (1) district court with three (3)
25	departments, one (1) located in Augusta, one (1) located in Cotton Plant, and
26	one (1) located in McCrory with all three (3) departments to be served by one
27	(1) judge.
28	(b) The judge of the Woodruff County District Court shall be elected
29	countywide.
30	(c) The Woodruff County District Court shall have countywide
31	jurisdiction.
32	
33	16-17-927. Prairie County District Courts.
34	(a) Prairie County, having two (2) judicial districts, shall have the
35	following district courts and judges:
36	(1) The Northern District shall have:

1	(A) One (1) district court located in Des Arc; and
2	(B) One district judge.
3	(2) The Southern District shall have:
4	(A) One (1) district court with three (3) departments, one
5	(1) located in Hazen, one (1) located in Biscoe, and one (1) located in
6	DeValls Bluff; and
7	(B) One district judge.
8	(b) The judge of any district court located in Prairie County shall be
9	elected by the electors of the judicial district, as now or in the future may
10	be constituted, in which the court is located.
11	(c) The jurisdiction of the district court in Prairie County shall be
12	limited to the judicial district, as now or in the future may be constituted,
13	in which the court is located.
14	
15	SECTION 6. EMERGENCY CLAUSE. It is found and determined by the
16	General Assembly of the State of Arkansas that the districts courts in
17	various counties must have departments located in various parts of the county
18	to ensure that sufficient courtrooms and resources are available for the
19	operation of the court system in the counties; that the statutes creating the
20	district courts must be clarified to reflect the establishment of the various
21	departments; and that this act is immediately necessary to ensure the
22	continued operation of the departments of the district courts. Therefore, an
23	emergency is declared to exist and this act being immediately necessary for
24	the preservation of the public peace, health, and safety shall become
25	effective on:
26	(1) The date of its approval by the Governor;
27	(2) If the bill is neither approved nor vetoed by the Governor,
28	the expiration of the period of time during which the Governor may veto the
29	bill; or
30	(3) If the bill is vetoed by the Governor and the veto is
31	overridden, the date the last house overrides the veto.
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	