Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

1 2	State of Arkansas 85th General Assembly	A Bill		
3	Regular Session, 2005		HOUSE BILL 2773	
4	Regular Session, 2005			
5	By: Representative Mahony	y		
6				
7				
8		For An Act To Be Entitle	ed	
9	AN ACT PERTAINING TO ISOLATED SCHOOL DISTRICTS;			
10	AND FO	R OTHER PURPOSES.		
11				
12		Subtitle		
13	AN	ACT PERTAINING TO ISOLATED SCH	OOL	
14	DIS	TRICTS.		
15				
16				
17	BE IT ENACTED BY THE	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE	OF ARKANSAS:	
18				
19	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 6-20-603 is amended to read as follows:			
20	6-20-603. Continued support of isolated school districts.			
21	(a) Upon the effective date of consolidation, annexation, or			
22	reorganization, the	following school districts that	t received isolated funding	
23	in the 2003-2004 school year shall become isolated school areas for the sole			
24	purpose of receiving isolated funding and shall have a per student isolated			
25	funding amount as fo	llows:		
26				
27			Per Student Isolated	
28	County	School District	Funding Amount	
29	Column A	Column B	Column C	
30	Van Buren	Alread	2,219	
31	Desha	Arkansas City	2,040	
32	Randolph	Biggers-Reyno	763	
33	Miller	Bright Star	916	
34	Marion	Bruno Pyatt	329	
35	Dallas	Carthage	1,938	
36	Independence	Cord-Charlotte	235	



1	Woodruff	Cotton Plant	733
2	Crittenden	Crawfordsville	642
3	Newton	Deer	853
4	Greene	Delaplaine	215
5	Desha	Delta Special	952
6	Nevada	Emmet	307
7	Sharp	Evening Shade	115
8	Ashley	Fountain Hill	339
9	Yell	Fourche Valley	1,603
10	Arkansas	Gillett	1,000
11	Lincoln	Gould	765
12	Lincoln	Grady	560
13	Polk	Hatfield	42
14	Monroe	Holly Grove	868
15	Arkansas	Humphrey	328
16	Union	Huttig	668
17	Cleveland	Kingsland	394
18	Madison	Kingston	661
19	Phillips	Lake View	1,054
20	Searcy	Leslie	628
21	Lawrence	Lynn	782
21 22	Lawrence Columbia	Lynn McNeil	782 329
		•	
22	Columbia	McNeil	329
22 23	Columbia Union	McNeil Mount Holly	329 898
22 23 24	Columbia Union Newton	McNeil Mount Holly Mount Judea	329 898 622
22 23 24 25	Columbia Union Newton Izard	McNeil Mount Holly Mount Judea Mount Pleasant	329 898 622 225
22 23 24 25 26	Columbia Union Newton Izard Johnson	McNeil Mount Holly Mount Judea Mount Pleasant Oark	329 898 622 225 1,576
22 23 24 25 26 27	Columbia Union Newton Izard Johnson Montgomery	McNeil Mount Holly Mount Judea Mount Pleasant Oark Oden	329 898 622 225 1,576 671
22 23 24 25 26 27 28	Columbia Union Newton Izard Johnson Montgomery Saline	McNeil Mount Holly Mount Judea Mount Pleasant Oark Oden Paron	329 898 622 225 1,576 671 733
22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29	Columbia Union Newton Izard Johnson Montgomery Saline Yell	McNeil Mount Holly Mount Judea Mount Pleasant Oark Oden Paron Plainview-Rover	329 898 622 225 1,576 671 733 297
22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30	Columbia Union Newton Izard Johnson Montgomery Saline Yell Franklin	McNeil Mount Holly Mount Judea Mount Pleasant Oark Oden Paron Plainview-Rover Pleasant View	329 898 622 225 1,576 671 733 297 679
22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31	Columbia Union Newton Izard Johnson Montgomery Saline Yell Franklin Randolph	McNeil Mount Holly Mount Judea Mount Pleasant Oark Oden Paron Plainview-Rover Pleasant View Randolph County	329 898 622 225 1,576 671 733 297 679 444
22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32	Columbia Union Newton Izard Johnson Montgomery Saline Yell Franklin Randolph Lawrence	McNeil Mount Holly Mount Judea Mount Pleasant Oark Oden Paron Plainview-Rover Pleasant View Randolph County River Valley	329 898 622 225 1,576 671 733 297 679 444 106
22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33	Columbia Union Newton Izard Johnson Montgomery Saline Yell Franklin Randolph Lawrence Stone	McNeil Mount Holly Mount Judea Mount Pleasant Oark Oden Paron Plainview-Rover Pleasant View Randolph County River Valley Rural Special	329 898 622 225 1,576 671 733 297 679 444 106 788

## HB2773

Van Buren	Scotland	1,841
Dallas	Sparkman	487
Ouachita	Stephens	1
Stone	Stone County	367
Jackson	Swifton	458
Columbia	Taylor	353
Howard	Umpire	2,152
Union	Union	45
Columbia	Walker	819
Newton	Western Grove	375
Cleburne	Wilburn	978
Sharp	Williford	475
Washington	Winslow	494
	Dallas Ouachita Stone Jackson Columbia Howard Union Columbia Newton Cleburne Sharp	DallasSparkmanOuachitaStephensStoneStone CountyJacksonSwiftonColumbiaTaylorHowardUmpireUnionUnionColumbiaWalkerNewtonWestern GroveCleburneWillburnSharpWilliford

14

15 (b) Beginning with the 2004-2005 school year and each school year 16 thereafter, state financial aid in the form of isolated funding shall be 17 provided to school districts containing an isolated school area in an amount 18 equal to the prior year three (3) quarter average daily membership of the 19 <u>school or schools in the</u> isolated school area multiplied by the per student 20 isolated funding amount for the isolated school areas as set forth under 21 column "C" of subsection (a) of this section.

(c) No school district may receive isolated funding under this section for an isolated school area if the prior year three (3) quarter average daily membership of the <u>school or schools in the</u> isolated school area exceeds three hundred fifty (350).

26 (d) A school district receiving isolated funding for an isolated
27 school area shall expend the funds solely for the operation, maintenance, and
28 support of the <u>school or schools in the</u> isolated school area.

(e) No school district or isolated school area which may qualify under other law to receive additional state aid because its average daily membership is less than three hundred fifty (350) shall be eligible to receive funding under this section except that a district qualifying under other law for such aid and qualifying for funds under this section may elect to receive funds under this section in lieu of aid under other.

35 (f) For the purposes of this section, school districts with isolated 36 school areas shall account for the average daily membership of all schools

3

HB2773

1	located in the isolated school area as required by the Department of		
2	Education and shall submit reports as required by the department.		
3	(g) The department shall distribute isolated funding under this		
4	section in two (2) payments per school year.		
5	(h) This section does not determine a school district's qualification		
6	as an isolated school under § 6-20-601 as required to prohibit the closing of		
7	an isolated school in § 6-20-602.		
8	(i) The State Board of Education may promulgate rules as necessary for		
9	the proper implementation of this section.		
10			
11	SECTION 2. EMERGENCY CLAUSE. It is found and determined by the		
12	General Assembly of the State of Arkansas that some or parts of isolated		
13	schools may be closed; that schools need to enter into contracts, retain		
14	staff, and schedule classes prior to the beginning of the school year; and		
15	that this act is immediately necessary to provide funding for isolated		
16	schools for the 2005-2006 school year. Therefore, an emergency is declared		
17	to exist and this act being immediately necessary for the preservation of the		
18	public peace, health, and safety shall become effective on:		
19	(1) The date of its approval by the Governor;		
20	(2) If the bill is neither approved nor vetoed by the Governor,		
21	the expiration of the period of time during which the Governor may veto the		
22	bill; or		
23	(3) If the bill is vetoed by the Governor and the veto is		
24	overridden, the date the last house overrides the veto.		
25			
26			
27			
28			
29			
30			
31			
32			
33			
34			
35			
36			

4