Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the Arkansas Constitution.

1	State of Arkansas
2	85th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2005 HJR 1027
4	
5	By: Representative Pate
6	
7	
8	HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION
9	PROPOSING A CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT PERTAINING
10	TO THE SELECTION OF THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE
11	ARKANSAS HIGHWAY COMMISSION.
12	
13	
14	
15	Subtitle
16	PROPOSING A CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT
17	PERTAINING TO THE SELECTION OF THE
18	MEMBERSHIP OF THE ARKANSAS HIGHWAY
19	COMMISSION.
20	
21	
22	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE EIGHTY-FIFTH GENERAL
23	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS AND BY THE SENATE, A MAJORITY OF ALL
24	MEMBERS ELECTED TO EACH HOUSE AGREEING THERETO:
25	
26	That the following is proposed as an amendment to the Constitution of
27	the State of Arkansas, and upon being submitted to the electors of the state
28	for approval or rejection at the next general election for Representatives
29	and Senators, if a majority of the electors voting thereon at the election
30	adopt the amendment, the amendment shall become a part of the Constitution of
31	the State of Arkansas, to wit:
32	
33	SECTION 1. Sections 2 and 3 of Amendment 42 of the Arkansas
34	Constitution are amended to read as follows:
35	§ 2. Qualifications and appointment of members - Terms of office of
36	first commission.

Within ten days after the convening of the General Assembly of the State of Arkansas in the year 1953, the Governor, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, shall appoint five persons who are qualified electors of the State to constitute the State Highway Commission for terms of two, four, six, eight and ten years respectively. The terms of the persons so appointed shall be determined by lot. The Commissioners to be appointed from the State at large; provided, however, that no two Commissioners shall be appointed from any single Congressional District. The State Highway Commission shall be composed of two (2) members from each congressional district as those districts existed on January 1, 2001. The initial members shall determine their terms of office by lot so that one person serves a oneyear term, two persons serve a two-year term, one person serves a three-year term, two persons serve a four-year term, and two persons serve a five-year term.

In the event of rejection by the Senate of a person whose name has been so submitted, the Governor shall within five days after receipt of written notice from the Secretary of the Senate of such rejection submit the name of another appointee to fill such vacancy. In the event the Governor should within five days thereafter fail to appoint or fail to submit to the Senate for confirmation the name of any person to be appointed, the Senate shall proceed to make the appointment of its own choice.

§ 3. Terms of Office of members.

Upon the expiration of the foregoing terms of said Commissioners, a successor shall be appointed by the Governor in the manner provided for in Section 2 for a term of $\frac{\text{five}}{\text{ten}}$ years, which term shall thereafter be for each member of the Commission. No person shall serve more than two consecutive terms as a member of the Commission.