1	State of Arkansas
2	85th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2005 HR 1028
4	
5	By: Representatives Kenney, Matayo, Pace
6	
7	
8	HOUSE RESOLUTION
9	HONORING THE JOHN BROWN UNIVERSITY GOLDEN EAGLES
10	MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM AS NAIA DIVISION I
11	CHAMPIONS.
12	
13	Subtitle
14	HONORING THE JOHN BROWN UNIVERSITY
15	GOLDEN EAGLES MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM AS
16	NAIA DIVISION I CHAMPIONS.
17	
18	
19	WHEREAS, the John Brown University Golden Eagles men's basketball team
20	surprised many of their fans by making a historic run into the National
21	Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Division I championship game held
22	March 22, 2005, at the Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Missouri; and
23	
24	WHEREAS, John Brown University (24-11 on the season) of Siloam Springs,
25	Arkansas, became the first team from the State of Arkansas to win the
26	National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics title in the oldest
27	national college tournament; and
28	
29	WHEREAS, the unseeded team from John Brown University defeated seventh-
30	ranked Union University (Tennessee), tenth-ranked Louisiana State University-
31	Shreveport, Biola University (California), Carroll College (Montana), and
32	eighth-ranked Azusa Pacific University (California) on their road to the NAIA
33	championship; and
34	
35	WHEREAS, described as a "Cinderella story", John Brown University's
36	effort was led by sharpshooter Brandon Cole, the Chuck Taylor Tournament Most



HR1028

```
1
     Valuable Player, a Junior from Hector, Arkansas; and
 2
 3
           WHEREAS, John Brown University's Brandon Cole and Pat Smits were
 4
     selected for the All-Tournament team; and
 5
 6
           WHEREAS, John Brown University men's basketball team was coached by
 7
     John Sheehy, Head Coach for the past sixteen (16) years, and Assistant Coach
8
     Donnie Bostwick. Dr. G. Robert Burns is the school's Athletic Director, and
9
     Todd Bowden is the team's trainer; and
10
11
           WHEREAS, Golden Eagles team members are: Steve Briggs, Brandon Cole,
12
     Reyjavick De Gracia, Tyler Dees, Todd Frazier, Mike Garland, Chris Meisner,
13
     Isaac St. Rose, Ty Sawyer, Pat Smits, Alex Terry, Joel Tesis, John Williams,
     Ryan Woodson, and Adam Workman; and
14
15
16
           WHEREAS, the friendships and teamwork of the John Brown University
17
     Golden Eagles allowed the team to play with the heart of an admirable and
     truly deserving national champion,
18
19
20
     NOW THEREFORE,
21
     BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE EIGHTY-FIFTH GENERAL
22
     ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
23
24
           THAT the members of the House of Representatives of the Eighty-fifth
25
     General Assembly of the State of Arkansas honor the historic accomplishment
26
     of the John Brown University men's basketball team as the National
27
     Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Division I Champions.
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
```