1	State of Arkansas
2	85th General Assembly
3	First Extraordinary Session, 2006 HR 1007
4	
5	By: Representative Childers
6	
7	
8	HOUSE RESOLUTION
9	CONGRATULATING THE BLYTHEVILLE CHICKASAW PLAYERS,
10	COACHES, AND CHEERLEADERS ON ANOTHER EXCELLENT
11	SEASON AND WINNING THE CLASS AAAA BOYS' STATE
12	BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.
13	
14	Subtitle
15	CONGRATULATING THE BLYTHEVILLE CHICKASAW
16	PLAYERS, COACHES, AND CHEERLEADERS ON
17	ANOTHER EXCELLENT SEASON AND WINNING THE
18	CLASS AAAA BOYS' STATE BASKETBALL
19	CHAMPIONSHIP.
20	
21	
22	WHEREAS, the Blytheville High School Chickasaw basketball team finished
23	its season with twenty-eight (28) wins and one (1) loss en route to the Class
24	AAAA boys' state basketball championship; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, the Chickasaws showed why they deserved their number one (1)
27	ranking all year long by persevering with a 46-41 victory over Magnolia in
28	the state championship game; and
29	
30	WHEREAS, the Chickasaws made the most of their eleven (11) offensive
31	rebounds with sixteen (16) second-chance points in the title game; and
32	
33	WHEREAS, tournament most valuable player Chris Echols scored twice in
34	the final thirty-one (31) seconds to seal the victory, finishing the title
35	game with sixteen (16) points, nine (9) rebounds, and two (2) assists; and
36	

1	WHEREAS, after trailing for most of the game, the Chickasaws took their
2	first lead of the fourth quarter on a free-throw by Cal Rose with forty-seven
3	(47) seconds left; and
4	
5	WHEREAS, other state championship team members are Marcus Chew, Melvin
6	Brooks, Jeff Echols, Gerrett Howard, Travis Perdue, Shontrell Johnson, Danny
7	Davis, Gabriel Osagie, Tewayne Smith, and Chris Brown; and
8	
9	WHEREAS, the Chickasaws are coached by Head Coach David Hixson and
10	Assistant Coach Bill Tyer; and
11	
12	WHEREAS, Head Coach Hixson stated that this "is the best group of kids
13	[he had] ever been around in [his] life as a coach because they just find a
14	way to win" and that when "it comes down to making plays, they've done it all
15	year long"; and
16	
17	WHEREAS, the Chickasaws received excellent encouragement and support
18	all year long from Coach Harriett Jumper's 2005-2006 cheerleading squad
19	consisting of Lani Cato, Tiffany Clay, Destinee Dillard, Shakera Gardner,
20	Erin Gilbow, Mary Grace Hughes, Brittany Mays, Audrey Parker, Jennifer Pharo,
21	Emily Pruett, Jessica Smith, and Molly Alexander,
22	
23	NOW THEREFORE,
24	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE EIGHTY-FIFTH GENERAL
25	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
26	
27	THAT the House of Representatives of the Eighty-Fifth General Assembly
28	of the State of Arkansas congratulates the Blytheville Chickasaw players,
29	coaches, and cheerleaders on their 2006 Class AAAA boys' state basketball
30	championship and an excellent season.
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	