1	State of Arkansas
2	85th General Assembly
3	First Extraordinary Session, 2006 SR 5
4	
5	By: Senator Wilkins
6	
7	
8	SENATE RESOLUTION
9	CONGRATULATING THE PINE BLUFF DOLLARWAY CARDINALS
10	ON THEIR FIRST CLASS AAA BOYS' STATE BASKETBALL
11	CHAMPIONSHIP.
12	
13	Subtitle
14	CONGRATULATING THE PINE BLUFF DOLLARWAY
15	CARDINALS ON THEIR FIRST CLASS AAA
16	BOYS' STATE BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.
17	
18	
19	WHEREAS, the Pine Bluff Dollarway Cardinals avenged last season's
20	semifinal loss to Little Rock Christian with a 60-54 victory to claim the
21	Class AAA boys' state basketball championship; and
22	
23	WHEREAS, Head Coach Ellis Berry stressed that the key to the state
24	championship was discipline, free throw shooting, and defense, and his team
25	responded by hitting seven (7) of nine (9) free throws in the fourth quarter
26	of the championship game, and twelve (12) of seventeen (17) overall; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, the Cardinals' outside shooting prevailed in the championship
29	game, with the Cardinals hitting eight (8) of thirteen (13) shots from three-
30	point range after hitting six (6) of eight (8) three-pointers in the first
31	half; and
32	
33	WHEREAS, the Cardinals jumped out to a 32-23 halftime lead behind the
34	three-point shooting of Senior Co-captain Josh Bell, who finished the game
35	with fourteen (14) points and hit both of his three-point attempts in the
36	first half; and

1	
2	WHEREAS, Marquis Swygart led the Cardinals with sixteen (16) points,
3	had a game-high five assist, and tied for the team lead with five (5)
4	rebounds; and
5	
6	WHEREAS, Senior Co-captain Bobby Miller was named the game's most
7	valuable player, finishing with eleven (11) points and three (3) assists; and
8	
9	WHEREAS, the championship was the first Class AAA state title for the
10	Pine Bluff Dollarway Cardinals boys' basketball team and the first in fifteen
11	(15) seasons for Head Coach Ellis Berry; and
12	
13	WHEREAS, other members of the championship team are Devon Fountain,
14	Chris Shorter, Matthew Price, Akemiah Roaf, Edwin Shorter, Justin Harris,
15	Stacy Kimble, Webster Laws, Xavier Kirkland, Germane Clark, and Joseph Byrd,
16	
17	NOW THEREFORE,
18	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE EIGHTY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE
19	STATE OF ARKANSAS:
20	
21	THAT the Senate of the Eighty-Fifth General Assembly of the State of
22	Arkansas congratulates the Pine Bluff Dollarway Cardinals on their first
23	Class AAA boys' state basketball title and an excellent season.
24	
25	
26 27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	