1	State of Arkansas
2	85th General Assembly
3	First Extraordinary Session, 2006 SR 8
4	
5	By: Senator G. Jeffress
6	
7	
8	SENATE RESOLUTION
9	CONGRATULATING THE STRONG HIGH SCHOOL LADY
10	BULLDOGS ON THEIR SECOND CONSECUTIVE CLASS AA
11	GIRLS' STATE BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.
12	
13	Subtitle
14	CONGRATULATING THE STRONG HIGH SCHOOL
15	LADY BULLDOGS ON THEIR SECOND
16	CONSECUTIVE CLASS AA GIRLS' STATE
17	BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.
18	
19	
20	WHEREAS, Brittany Johnson's outstanding rebounding effort in the second
21	half carried the Strong Lady Bulldogs to their second consecutive Class AA
22	girls' state basketball championship title; and
23	
24	WHEREAS, Johnson, a 5'9" junior and the championship game's most
25	valuable player, scored a game-high 17 points and grabbed 17 rebounds as the
26	Lady Bulldogs pulled away from East Poinsett County in the second half for a
27	70-49 victory; and
28	
29	WHEREAS, the team responded to Coach Kendrah Ferguson's halftime urging
30	to pick up the pace, finding the team a little sluggish in the first half but
31	pleased with her well-conditioned team's second-half effort; and
32	
33	WHEREAS, the Lady Bulldogs won with balance, getting 14 points from
34 25	sophomore Jasmine Canser, 12 points from senior Alexis Johnson, 11 points
35 26	from junior Miranda Parker, and nine points and eight assists from sophomore
36	Destiny Rogers; and



1	
2	WHEREAS, the championship game victory completed the Lady Bulldogs'
3	second consecutive 35-1 season, with the Lady Bulldogs going undefeated in
4	Class AA play since losing to Hampton in the 2004 Region Eight tournament;
5	and
6	
7	WHEREAS, during the Lady Bulldogs' 70-2, two-season run their only
8	losses have come against West Monroe, Louisiana, during the 2004-2005 season
9	and at Mountain Home in December, 2005; and
10	
11	WHEREAS, Coach Ferguson, speaking on behalf of her team, stated that
12	the players are very hard-working and that the second consecutive
13	championship is a great honor for them; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, other championship team members are Jennifer Medlin, Lanay
16	Jones, Candice Bridges, Miki Manning, Holly Grice, Amelia Smith, Anastacia
17	Dismuke, Ashley Parker, Desiree Rogers, Tiara Jackson, and Melissia Parker;
18	and
19	
20	WHEREAS, Head Coach Kendra Ferguson was assisted by Team Managers Ebony
21	Neal and Shanta Williams and Assistant Coach Daphne Holly,
22	
23	NOW THEREFORE,
24	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE EIGHTY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE
25	STATE OF ARKANSAS:
26 27	THAT the Senate of the Eighty-Fifth General Assembly of the State of
28	Arkansas congratulates the Strong Lady Bulldogs on their second consecutive
29	Class AA girls' state basketball championship and another excellent season.
30	class An gills state basketball championship and another excellent season.
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	