Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

1	State of Arkansas	A Bill	
2	87th General Assembly	A DIII	
3	Regular Session, 2009		HOUSE BILL 1023
4 5	By: Representatives Pennartz	Glidewell	
6	By: Representatives Pennartz, Glidewell By: Senator Altes		
7	by. Senator Artes		
, 8			
9	For An Act To Be Entitled		
10	AN ACT TO REQUIRE CONTINUED RESIDENCY, AFTER		
11	ELECTION, OF CITY DIRECTORS IN A CITY		
12	ADMINISTRATOR FORM OF GOVERNMENT; AND FOR OTHER		
13	PURPOSES.		
14			
15		Subtitle	
16	TO REQUIRE CONTINUED RESIDENCY, AFTER		
17	ELECTION, OF CITY DIRECTORS IN A CITY		
18	ADMINISTRATOR FORM OF GOVERNMENT.		
19			
20			
21	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:		
22			
23	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 14-48-110 is amended to read as follows:		
24	14-48-110. Board of directors and mayor generally.		
25	(a)(l) The seven (7) directors elected by a city reorganized under		
26	this chapter shall be b	known and designated as the board	d of directors of the
27	city.		
28		oard <u>of directors</u> shall constitut	-
29	executive body of the city, subject to the powers of the mayor in § 14-48-		
30	lll, and shall be vested with all powers and authority which, immediately		
31	prior to the effective date of the reorganization, were vested under then-		
32	existing laws, ordinances, and resolutions in the governing body of the city		
33	and in its board of public affairs subject to the powers of the city		
34 25	administrator in § 14-4		1 .1. 1 .
35	-	where when expressly permitted	
36	the mayor or board memb	per <u>director</u> may not serve the c	ity in any other



HB1023

l capacity.

(b)(1) The positions upon the board <u>of directors</u> shall, for election
purposes, be permanently designated as positions, numbered respectively, one,
two, three, four, five, six, and seven.

5 (2)(A) Each candidate for election to membership on the board of
6 directors shall specify the position for which he or she is running.

7 (B) The electors shall vote separately on the candidates
8 for each position, and the position sought by each candidate shall be shown
9 on the ballot.

10 (c)(1) Except in the instances where <u>in which</u> the mayor and directors 11 are elected at special elections as provided in §§ 14-48-108 and 14-48-109, 12 the mayor and <u>members of the board directors</u> shall be elected at the general 13 elections held biennially for the election of state and county offices.

14 (2) Each such general election shall be utilized for the
15 election of successors to the mayor and to those directors whose terms expire
16 on December 31 following the election.

17 (d)(1) All primary, general, and special elections of the mayor and
18 directors shall be nonpartisan, and the ballots shall show no party
19 designation.

20 (2)(A) In all primary, general, and special elections, each
21 candidate for the office of mayor or director shall be elected by the
22 electors of the city as follows:

(i) The persons elected to fill director positions one, two, three, and four, respectively, shall be qualified electors of the respective wards and shall be elected by the qualified electors of the respective wards-; and

(ii) The persons elected to fill the position of mayor and director positions five, six, and seven, respectively, shall be qualified electors of the city and shall be elected by the qualified electors of the entire city.

31 (B) Neither the mayor nor a director shall be prohibited32 from holding successive terms of office.

33 (C)(i)(a) The persons elected to fill director positions
34 one, two, three, and four, respectively, shall continue to reside in the ward

35 from which he or she was elected for the term for which he or she was

36 <u>elected</u>.

12-10-2008 15:26 KLL071

2

HB1023

1	(b) The persons elected to fill the position		
2	of mayor and director positions five, six, and seven, respectively, shall		
3	continue to reside in the city from which he or she was elected for the term		
4	for which he or she was elected.		
5	(ii) If a duly elected director shall cease to		
6	reside in the ward or the city from which he or she was elected, the director		
7	shall be disqualified to hold the office and a vacancy shall exist that shall		
8	be filled as prescribed by law.		
9	(e)(l) The mayor and any director elected at a special election shall		
10	take office on the first Monday following the certification, as required in		
11	this chapter, of his <u>or her</u> election.		
12	(2) The mayor and any director elected at a general election		
13	shall take office on January 1 following his or her election.		
14	(f)(1) At any primary, general, or special election for the election		
15	of the mayor or any director, any adult person who has resided within the		
16	municipality for at least six (6) months and is qualified to vote at an		
17	election of county or state offices shall be deemed a qualified elector.		
18	(2) Any person more than twenty-one (21) years of age <u>or older</u>		
19	possessing these same qualifications also shall be eligible to run for the		
20	office of mayor or director.		
21	(g) When a city is reorganized under this chapter, the mayor and board		
22	of directors will be divided into two (2) classes, and the tenure of office		
23	of those in each class shall be as follows:		
24	(1) Director positions one, two, three, and four shall be Class		
25	Number One. Class $\frac{1}{2}$ Number One directors shall serve until and including		
26	December 31 following the first general election held after their term of		
27	office commences and until their successors have been elected and qualified.		
28	Thereafter, those in Class $\frac{1}{2}$ Number One shall serve four-year terms, and		
29	(2) The mayor and director positions five, six, and seven shall		
30	be Class Number Two. Class $\frac{2}{2}$ Number Two directors shall serve until and		
31	including December 31 following the second general election held after their		
32	term of office commences, and until their successors have been elected and		
33	qualified. Thereafter, those in Class $rac{2}{2}$ Number Two shall serve four-year		
34	terms.		
35			
36			

3