1	State of Arkansas 87th General Assembly	A Bill		
2	•	71 Dill	HOUSE BILL 1946	
3 4	Regular Session, 2009		HOUSE BILL 1940	
5	By: Representatives T. Rogers,	Cole		
6				
7				
8	For An Act To Be Entitled			
9	AN ACT CONCERNING APPOINTMENTS TO THE ARKANSAS			
10	RURAL DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION; AND FOR OTHER			
11	PURPOSES.			
12				
13		Subtitle		
14	CONCERNING APPOINTMENTS TO THE ARKANSAS			
15	RURAL DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION.			
16				
17				
18	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:			
19				
20	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code 15-6-104(b), concerning the membership of the			
21	Arkansas Rural Development Commission, is amended to read as follows:			
22	(b) The members	shall be appointed as follows:		
23	(1)(A)(i) There shall be seven (7) members of the commission			
24	appointed by the Govern	or to serve for terms of five ((5) years.	
25		(ii) One (1) member shall be	appointed from each of	
26	the four (4) congression	nal districts of the state as o	constituted January 1,	
27	1990, and shall be a re	sident of a rural area of that	congressional district.	
28		(iii) Three (3) members shall	l be appointed from the	
29	state at large and shal	l be residents of a rural area.	•	
30		In the event of a vacancy on th		
31	of the Governor's appointee positions due to death, resignation, or other			
32	reason, the vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired portion of the term by			
33	appointment by the Governor of a person meeting the same qualifications			
34	required for initial appointment.			
35) Members Except as provided i		
36	(b)(1)(C)(ii) through (iv) of this section, members of	t the commission shall	

03-05-2009 14:51 MBM191

1	not be eligible for reappointment.		
2	(ii) A member appointed to fill the unexpired		
3	portion of a term may be reappointed to serve a five-year term.		
4	(iii) A member appointed to a five-year term by the		
5	Governor shall not be eligible for reappointment by the Governor but may be		
6	appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate or the Speaker of the		
7	House of Representatives.		
8	(iv) The Governor may appoint to a five-year term a		
9	person previously appointed to the commission by the President Pro Tempore o		
10	the Senate or the Speaker of the House of Representatives; and		
11	(2) Two (2) members shall be appointed by and shall serve at the		
12	pleasure of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and two (2) members		
13	shall be appointed by and shall serve at the pleasure of the Speaker of the		
14	House of Representatives.		
15			
16			
17			
18			
19			
20			
21			
22			
23			
24			
25			
26			
27			
28			
29			
30			
31			
32			
33			
34			
35			
36			