Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: H3/12/09 H3/20/09	
2	87th General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2009		HOUSE BILL 2033
4			
5	By: Representative M. Burr	ris	
6			
7			
8		For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT TO CREATE A TASK FORCE ON WATER QUALITY;		
10	AND FO	R OTHER PURPOSES.	
11		~	
12		Subtitle	
13	TO	CREATE A TASK FORCE ON WATER QUAL	LITY.
14			
15			
16	BE IT ENACTED BY THE	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF	AKKANSAS:
17			
18 19	SECTION 1. TEMPORARY LANGUAGE — DO NOT CODIFY. (a) The Arkansas Legislative Task Force on Water Quality is		
20	established to:	sas Legislative lask force on wat	<u>er quarrey is</u>
20		ntify the various systems that ex	ist in this state that
22		er for public consumption;	<u>ist in this state that</u>
23		iew the laws that apply to the sy	stems in this state that
24		er for public consumption;	<u></u>
25		iew standards from other jurisdic	tions to ensure the
26		f drinking water for public consu	
27	(4) Asse	ess this state's facilities for e	nsuring the quality and
28	<u>safety of drinking wa</u>	ater for public consumption; and	
29	<u>(5) Deve</u>	elop recommendations to improve t	<u>he quality and safety of</u>
30	drinking water in thi	is state for public consumption.	
31	(b) The task f	force shall consist of the follow	ing members:
32	<u>(1)</u> A bo	pard member of a regional water d	istribution system who
33	is appointed by the G	Governor;	
34	<u>(2)</u> A me	ember of a commission that operat	es a waterworks and
35	distributing system owned by a city of the first class, city of the second		
36	class, or incorporated town who is appointed by the Governor;		



HB2033

1	(3) A member of the Senate appointed by the President Pro		
2	Tempore of the Senate;		
3	(4) A member of the House of Representatives appointed by the		
4	Speaker of the House of Representatives;		
5	(5) A person appointed by the Attorney General;		
6	(6) A person appointed by the Arkansas Municipal League;		
7	(7) A person appointed by the Arkansas Department of		
8	Environmental Quality;		
9	(8) A person appointed by the Department of Rural Services;		
10	(9) A person appointed by the Arkansas Natural Resources		
11	<u>Commission;</u>		
12	(10) A person appointed by the State Board of Health;		
13	(11) A person appointed by the Association of Arkansas Counties;		
14	(12) A water system operator appointed by the Drinking Water		
15	Advisory and Operator Licensing Committee; and		
16	(13) A person from each congressional district appointed by the		
17	Governor.		
18	(c)(1) The members of the House of Representatives and the Senate		
19	appointed to the task force under subsection (b) of this section shall serve		
20	as cochairs of the task force.		
21	(2) The task force shall meet at least one (1) time every three		
22	(3) months but may meet more often at the call of the cochairs.		
23	(3) The task force shall meet at the State Capitol.		
24	(d) If a vacancy occurs on the task force, the vacancy shall be filled		
25	by the same process as the original appointment made under subsection (b) of		
26	this section.		
27	(e) The task force shall establish rules and procedures for conducting		
28	its business.		
29	(f) A legislative member of the task force is entitled to receive		
30	reimbursement for expenses and per diem at the same rate and from the same		
31	source as provided by law for a member of the General Assembly who attends a		
32	meeting of an interim committee.		
33	(g) A majority of the members of the task force constitutes a quorum		
34	for transacting the business of the task force.		
35	(h) The Bureau of Legislative Research shall provide staff for the		
36	task force.		

2

1	(i) The task force terminates on December 31, 2010.
2	(j) On November 1, 2010, the task force shall deliver a report
3	containing the conclusions of the task force and any recommended revisions or
4	additions to the state's laws concerning the quality and safety of drinking
5	water for public consumption to the Cochairs of the Legislative Council.
6	
7	/s/ M. Burris
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	