Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: S3/30/09
2	87th General Assembl	y A B111
3	Regular Session, 2009	SENATE BILL 840
4		
5	By: Senator Salmon	
6		
7		
8		For An Act To Be Entitled
9		ACT TO AMEND THE MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS OF
10	TH	E ARKANSAS COMMISSION FOR COORDINATION OF
11	ED	UCATIONAL EFFORTS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.
12		
13		
14		Subtitle
15		TO AMEND THE MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS OF
16		THE ARKANSAS COMMISSION FOR COORDINATION
17		OF EDUCATIONAL EFFORTS.
18		
19		
20	BE IT ENACTED BY	THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
21		
22		Arkansas Code § 6-1-301(b), concerning the membership of
23		mission for Coordination of Educational Efforts, is amended
24 25	to read as follow	
25		rkansas Commission for Coordination of Educational Efforts is
26	-	following members:
27 28	(1)	The Director of the Department of Higher Education;
20 29	(2)	The Commissioner of Education;
	(3)	The Director of the Department of Workforce Education;
30 21	(4) Childhood Educat	<i>The Director of the Division of Child Care and Early</i> <i>ion of the Department of Human Services or his or her</i>
31 32	designee;	ton of the Department of numan services of his of her
33	<i>designee</i> , (5)	The Director of the Arkansas Economic Development
34	Commission;	The Director of the Arkansas Leonomic Development
35 35	(6)	The Vice President for Agriculture of the University of
36	Arkansas System;	The file fieldent for agriculture of the oniversity of



SB840

1	(7) The President of the Arkansas Science and Technology		
2	Authority;		
3	(8) The Director of the Department of Information Systems or his		
4	or her designee;		
5	(9) The Governor or the Governor's designee;		
6	(10) One (1) public school administrator appointed by the		
7	Governor;		
8	(11) One (1) public school teacher appointed by the Governor;		
9	(12) One (1) president or chancellor of a four-year university		
10	appointed by the Presidents Council;		
11	(13) One (1) president or chancellor of a two-year college or		
12	two-year branch of a four-year university appointed by the council;		
13	(14) One (1) member of the board of trustees of a four-year		
14	university or system of colleges and universities appointed by the council;		
15	(15) One (1) member of the board of trustees of a two-year		
16	college or branch appointed by the council;		
17	(16) One (1) member appointed by the President Pro Tempore of		
18	the Senate from a list of three (3) nominees submitted by the Executive		
19	Director of the Arkansas Education Association;		
20	(17) One (1) member appointed by the Speaker of the House of		
21	Representatives from a list of three (3) nominees submitted by the Executive		
22	Director of the Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators;		
23	(18) One (1) member appointed jointly by the Speaker of the		
24	House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate from a		
25	list of three (3) nominees submitted by the Executive Director of the		
26	Arkansas School Boards Association; and		
27	(19) One (1) representative of a predominantly black college or		
28	university in Arkansas appointed by the Speaker of the House of		
29	Representatives .		
30	(20) One (1) member appointed by the Speaker of the House of		
31	Representatives who is from the private sector and has an interest in		
32	science, technology, engineering, or math; and		
33	(21) One (1) member appointed by the President Pro Tempore of		
34	the Senate who is from the private sector and has an interest in science,		
35	technology, engineering, or math.		
36	/s/ Salmon		

2