1	State of Arkansas		
2	87th General Assembly		
3	Regular Session, 2009	R	20
4			
5	By: Senator Steele		
6			
7			
8	SENATE RESOLUTION		
9	TO HONOR THE 1994 UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS		
10	RAZORBACK NCAA DIVISION I NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP		
11	BASKETBALL TEAM.		
12			
13	Subtitle		
14	TO HONOR THE 1994 UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS		
15	RAZORBACK NCAA DIVISION I NATIONAL		
16	CHAMPIONSHIP BASKETBALL TEAM.		
17			
18			
19	WHEREAS, National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame coach Nolan		
20	Richardson and the 1994 Arkansas Razorbacks epitomized the "Forty (40)		
21	Minutes of Hell" style of basketball imposed upon Razorback opponents and		
22	delivered perhaps the most exciting basketball season in the school's		
23	history; and		
24			
25	WHEREAS, the Razorbacks made the Final Four of the NCAA basketball		
26	tournament in 1990, 1994, a year they spent ranked among the top three (3)	
27	teams in the nation, and 1995, showcasing Nolan Richardson's pressing		
28	pressure defense and fast-moving "run-and-gun" brand of basketball that		
29	usually spelled victory for the Hogs and that always gave the Razorbacks	the	е
30	opportunity to come from behind to erase any deficit; and		
31			
32	WHEREAS, in 1994 the Razorbacks spent nine (9) weeks as the consens	us	
33	number one (1) team in the nation before beating Duke University, cheered	01	n
34	by sitting President Bill Clinton and his family, and winning the NCAA		
35	Division I Men's National Championship, the first in the school's history	;	
36	and		



2 WHEREAS, in the 1994 national championship game, the second-seeded 3 Razorbacks faced sixth-seeded Duke, the 1991 and 1992 national champion, and 4 after trailing by ten (10) points early in the second half, called timeout 5 with 1:29 left and the score tied 70-70; and

6

1

7 WHEREAS, with the shot clock winding down and less than a minute to 8 play, Scotty Thurman found himself with a split-second opportunity and 9 launched a successful three-point shot, a shot that along with the 1994 title 10 stands alone in Razorback lore; and

11

WHEREAS, according to both coaches and players, history could have easily immortalized a different Razorback's jump shot in the national championship game, as the team-first attitude was crucial to the success of the program's most memorable play and its crowning achievement; and

WHEREAS, Coach Nolan Richardson was quoted as saying, "Our team was based on concepts. That pass was a good pass to Dwight [Stewart], but he bobbled the ball. He was a good three-point shooter, but he passed to Scotty and he was spotted up. That was one of the biggest shots in the 40 years I coached."; and

22

23 WHEREAS, according to Corliss Williamson, winner of the 1994 Final Four 24 Most Valuable Player award, the team-first attitude was a key ingredient to 25 the Hogs having a 31-3 record, winning the title, and earning a No. 1 26 ranking. "Sacrifice is something Coach Richardson preached from day one," 27 Williamson said. "He did a great job of motivating everyone and getting 28 everyone on the same page. We all understood the game, being unselfish and 29 being able to pass the ball. No one was selfish or wanted to take all the 30 shots."; and

31

WHEREAS, the 1994 Razorback championship team roster included Corey
Beck, Ray Biggers, Ken Biley, Roger Crawford, Alex Dillard, John Engskov,
Reggie Garrett, Elmer Martin, Reggie Merritt, Clint McDaniel, Davor Rimac,
Darnell Robinson, Dwight Stewart, Scotty Thurman, Craig Tyson, Corliss
Williamson, Lee Wilson, Head Coach Nolan Richardson, and Assistant Coaches

2

Mike Anderson, Brad Dunn, and Nolan Richardson III, NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE EIGHTY-SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: That the Senate honors the outstanding record and achievements of the 1994 University of Arkansas at Fayetteville Razorback basketball team and its NCAA Division I Men's National Basketball Championship.