1	State of Arkansas
2	87th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2009SR 28
4	
5	By: Senators Whitaker, R. Thompson, D. Wyatt, Glover, Laverty, Elliott, J. Jeffress, D. Johnson, Teague
6	
7	
8	SENATE RESOLUTION
9	RECOGNIZING AND HONORING TEAMS OF THE ARKANSAS
10	NATIONAL ARCHERY IN THE SCHOOLS PROGRAM THAT HAVE
11	QUALIFIED TO REPRESENT THE STATE OF ARKANSAS AT
12	THE NATIONAL ARCHERY IN THE SCHOOLS PROGRAM
13	TOURNAMENT.
14	
15	
16	Subtitle
17	RECOGNIZING AND HONORING TEAMS OF THE
18	ARKANSAS NATIONAL ARCHERY IN THE SCHOOLS
19	PROGRAM THAT HAVE QUALIFIED TO REPRESENT
20	THE STATE OF ARKANSAS AT THE NATIONAL
21	ARCHERY IN THE SCHOOLS PROGRAM
22	TOURNAMENT.
23	
24	
25	WHEREAS, archery is an activity in which people from all walks of life
26	and almost every size and ability can participate; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, the Arkansas National Archery in the Schools Program,
29	administered by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission, is a program which
30	provides a fun and safe environment to participate in archery in a school
31	setting while raising awareness of conservation-related sports,
32	responsibility, and self-esteem; and
33	
34	WHEREAS, on March 21, 2009, the inaugural Arkansas National Archery in
35	the Schools Program State Tournament was held at Summit Arena in Hot Springs,
36	Arkansas, with approximately seven hundred (700) students participating,



1 making the event the largest inaugural scholastic archery tournament in the 2 nation's history; and

3

WHEREAS, schools competed in the tournament in three divisions: elementary, grades four through six (4-6); middle school, grades seven through eight (7-8); and high school, grades nine through twelve (9-12); and

8 WHEREAS, teams scoring higher than two thousand five hundred (2,500) in 9 the elementary division, two thousand six hundred (2,600) in the middle 10 school division, and two thousand seven hundred (2,700) in the high school 11 division earned an opportunity to represent their communities and the State 12 of Arkansas at the National Archery in the Schools Program Tournament in 13 Louisville, Kentucky, on May 8-9, 2009; and

14

WHEREAS, the following teams earned scores which qualified them to attend the national tournament in the elementary division: Greene County Tech Elementary of Paragould (State Champions), Eagle Mountain Magnet Elementary of Batesville, Carlisle Elementary of Carlisle, and Jasper Elementary of Jasper; and

20

WHEREAS, the following teams earned scores which qualified them to attend the national tournament in the middle school division: Mann Magnet Middle School of Little rock (State Champions), Monticello Middle School of Monticello, Jasper Middle School of Jasper, and Arkansas Baptist Middle School of Little Rock; and

26

WHEREAS, the following teams earned scores which qualified them to attend the national tournament in the high school division: Hamburg High School of Hamburg (State Champions), Arkansas Baptist High School of Little rock, Jasper High School of Jasper, and Hope High School of Hope; and

32 WHEREAS, this level of achievement demonstrates outstanding 33 accomplishments in the sport of archery and represents the fruits of 34 discipline, work, and mutual support shown by the students, coaches, 35 instructors, and administrators of these schools,

36

SR28

2

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE EIGHTY-SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: That the Senate of the Eighty-Seventh General Assembly of the State of Arkansas recognizes the students, coaches, instructors, and administrators of the schools listed above for their outstanding accomplishments in the sport of archery and encourages and applauds their high achievements in the sport. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that upon adoption of this resolution, appropriate copies shall be provided by the Secretary of the Senate to the superintendents of the schools commended in this resolution.

SR28