1	State of Arkansas
2	87th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2009 SR 30
4	
5	By: Senator R. Thompson
6	
7	
8	SENATE RESOLUTION
9	TO HONOR THE OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT OF GREENE
10	COUNTY TECH'S SENIOR HIGH BOYS BASKETBALL TEAM AS
11	2009 CLASS 5A STATE BASKETBALL CHAMPIONS.
12	
13	Subtitle
14	TO HONOR THE OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT OF
15	GREENE COUNTY TECH'S SENIOR HIGH BOYS
16	BASKETBALL TEAM AS 2009 CLASS 5A STATE
17	BASKETBALL CHAMPIONS.
18	
19	
20	WHEREAS, Greene County Tech senior high boys basketball coach Scott
21	Bowlin says his team's toughness earned the Greene County Tech Golden Eagles
22	their second Class 5A boys state basketball championship in the past three
23	(3) years; and
24	
25	WHEREAS, Senior forward Wes Livingston scored thirteen (13) points and
26	grabbed nine (9) rebounds to lead the Greene County Tech Golden Eagles to a
27	39-34 victory over cold-shooting North Pulaski Falcons in the Class 5A boys
28	state basketball championship game at the Summit Arena in Hot Springs,
29	Arkansas; and
30	
31	WHEREAS, Greene County Tech finished the season with twenty-six (26)
32	wins and only six (6) losses and made forty-eight percent (48%) of its field
33	goal attempts in the state final; and
34	
35	WHEREAS, a testament to the team's strong defensive effort in the
36	state final, the Golden Eagles took twenty-seven (27) fewer shots than the

1 Falcons, were only eleven (11) of twenty-three (23) from the free-throw line, 2 committed eight (8) more turnovers than the Falcons, were outrebounded 20-7 on the offensive end and made no steals; and 3 4 5 WHEREAS, Coach Bowlin said "We like to base our program on the 6 defensive side of the ball. We play great defense most of the time and the last four (4) games it's been outstanding"; and 7 8 9 WHEREAS, players on the 2009 state championship team include 10 Trase Davis, Zach George, Josh Goodman, Chase Halbrook, Caleb Hartwig, Kevin 11 Hawes, Wes Livingston, Zach Mitchell, Matt Shelton, Adam Slayton, Matt 12 Taylor, Stan Williams, Chandler Ellington, Chase McCreless, Tony Forehand, Cody Batten, Trevor Mafnas, Kevin Liddell, Garrett Sheperd, Ryan Maxwell, 13 Josh Ward, Cody Griffin, Cory Porter, Payton Snodgrass, and Lance Williams; 14 15 and 16 17 WHEREAS, the Golden Eagles were coached by head coach Scott Bowlin and 18 assistant coaches Greg Richey, Jay Robertson, and Scott Wright; and were 19 supported by athletic director Ted Cunningham, superintendent Rita Adams, principal Gene Weeks, assistant principals Scott Gerrish and Mike Chipman, 20 21 scorekeeper Sharon Camp, statistician Brenda Lackey, and managers Zach Baker 22 and Tyler Cribbs, 23 24 NOW THEREFORE, 25 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE EIGHTY-SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE 26 STATE OF ARKANSAS: 27 28 THAT the Senate of the Eighty-Seventh General Assembly of the State of 29 Arkansas honors the outstanding achievement of the Greene County Tech Golden 30 Eagles senior high boys basketball team as 2009 class 5A boys state 31 basketball champions. 32 33 34 35 36