Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the law as it existed prior to this session of the General Assembly.

1 2	State of Arkansas 88th General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2011		HOUSE BILL 1738
4			
5	By: Representative Ingram		
6			
7		For An Act To Be Entitled	
8	AN ACT TO	PROHIBIT THE DISTRIBUTION OF INSURANCE	2
9	PREMIUM TAX MONEYS TO INACTIVE FIRE DEPARTMENTS; AND		
10	FOR OTHER	PURPOSES.	
11			
12			
13		Subtitle	
14	TO P	ROHIBIT THE DISTRIBUTION OF INSURANCE	
15	PREM	IUM TAX MONEYS TO INACTIVE FIRE	
16	DEPA	RTMENTS.	
17			
18			
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE (GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANS	SAS:
20			
21	SECTION 1. Arka	ansas Code § 14-284-403 is amended to r	cead as follows:
22	14-284-403. App	portionment of funds.	
23	(a)(l) These pr	cemium tax moneys are assessed for disb	oursement from the
24	Fire Protection Premiu	um Tax Fund, § 19-6-468, by the Departm	ment of Finance
25	and Administration to	the counties in the following percenta	ages:
26	Arkansas County — 0.78	3%, Ashley County — 1.39%, Baxter Count	zy — 1.78%, Benton
27	County - 3.86%, Boone	County -1.46% , Bradley County -0.52%	, Calhoun County
28	- 0.51%, Carroll Count	xy = 0.97%, Chicot County = 0.51%, Clar	ck County - 1.13%,
29	Clay County — 1.10%, (Cleburne County — 1.11%, Cleveland Cour	nty - 0.66%,
30	Columbia County — 1.24	4%, Conway County — 1.04%, Craighead Co	ounty - 2.91%,
31	Crawford County — 1.98	3%, Crittenden County — 1.32%, Cross Co	ounty - 0.84%,
32	Dallas County — 0.45%,	, Desha County — 0.71%, Drew County — 0).80%, Faulkner
33	County - 2.30%, Frankl	Lin County — 0.97%, Fulton County — 0.8	34%, Garland
34	County - 3.12%, Grant	County - 1.13%, Greene County - 1.39%,	, Hempstead County
35	- 1.89%, Hot Spring Co	ounty — 1.46%, Howard County — 0.75%, I	Independence
36	County — 1.90%, Izard	County $-$ 0.91%, Jackson County $-$ 0.95%	, Jefferson



1 County - 2.32%, Johnson County - 1.05%, Lafayette County - 0.71%, Lawrence 2 County -0.96%, Lee County -0.73%, Lincoln County -1.12%, Little River County - 0.77%, Logan County - 1.06%, Lonoke County - 1.70%, Madison County -3 4 0.95%, Marion County - 1.00%, Miller County - 1.44%, Mississippi County -5 1.77%, Monroe County - 0.53%, Montgomery County - 0.66%, Nevada County -6 0.58%, Newton County - 0.67%, Ouachita County - 1.37%, Perry County - 0.62%, 7 Phillips County - 1.12%, Pike County - 0.87%, Poinsett County - 1.14%, Polk 8 County - 1.01%, Pope County - 1.73%, Prairie County - 0.83%, Pulaski County -9 5.99%, Randolph County - 0.96%, St. Francis County - 1.45%, Saline County -10 3.00%, Scott County - 0.59%, Searcy County - 0.73%, Sebastian County - 2.06%, 11 Sevier County -0.82%, Sharp County -1.30%, Stone County -0.77%, Union 12 County -2.01%, Van Buren County -1.18%, Washington County -3.46%, White County - 2.71%, Woodruff County - 0.47%, Yell County - 1.11%. 13 14 (2)(A) The moneys shall be apportioned by each quorum court to 15 the districts and municipalities within the county based upon population 16 unless the County Intergovernmental Cooperation Council county 17 intergovernmental cooperation council notifies the quorum court of the fire 18 protection needs of the districts and municipalities, in which case the 19 moneys shall be apportioned by the quorum court based on those needs. 20 (B) The funds shall be distributed to municipalities and 21 those certified departments in districts which that are in compliance with 22 this subchapter, § 20-22-801 et seq., and § 6-21-106. 23 (C) Fire departments which that are not certified by the 24 Office of Fire Protection Services pursuant to under § 20-22-801 et seq. 25 shall also be eligible to receive moneys disbursed under this section so long 26 as all moneys received are spent directly on equipment, training, capital 27 improvements, or other expenditures necessary for upgrading the service 28 provided by the department. 29 (D)(i) In municipalities located in a metropolitan 30 statistical area designated by the United States Census Bureau having a population of one million (1,000,000) or more persons according to the most 31 32 recent federal decennial census, an inactive fire department is not eligible 33 to receive moneys disbursed under this section. 34 (ii) Any moneys not disbursed under this section to 35 an inactive fire department shall be disbursed by the quorum court to the 36 active departments based upon population.

2

1	(b) Disbursements shall be made on forms prescribed by the Department
2	of Finance and Administration.
3	(c) A county treasurer shall not collect the treasurer's commission
4	provided in § 21-6-302 on any of the premium tax moneys disbursed from the
5	Fire Protection Premium Tax Fund.
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	