1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: ${}^{H3/15/11}$ $A~ {}^{Bill}$	
2	88th General Assembly	71 Dilli	HOUSE DILL 1720
3	Regular Session, 2011		HOUSE BILL 1738
4	Day Day was a most ive In amoun		
5 6	By: Representative Ingram		
7		For An Act To Be Entitled	1
8	AN ACT TO PROHIBIT THE DISTRIBUTION OF INSURANCE		
9	PREMIUM TAX MONEYS TO INACTIVE FIRE DEPARTMENTS; AND		
10		FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	
11	TOR OTHER T	on oblo.	
12			
13		Subtitle	
14	TO PRO	OHIBIT THE DISTRIBUTION OF IN	SURANCE
15	PREMIU	JM TAX MONEYS TO INACTIVE FIRE	Е
16	DEPART	TMENTS.	
17			
18			
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GE	NERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE O	F ARKANSAS:
20			
21	SECTION 1. Arkan	sas Code § 14-284-403 is amer	nded to read as follows:
22	14-284-403. Apportionment of funds.		
23	(a)(l) These pre	mium tax moneys are assessed	for disbursement from the
24	Fire Protection Premium	Tax Fund, § 19-6-468, by the	e Department of Finance
25	and Administration to the counties in the following percentages:		
26	Arkansas County — 0.78%	, Ashley County - 1.39%, Baxt	ter County -1.78% , Benton
27	County - 3.86%, Boone C	Sounty -1.46% , Bradley County	7 - 0.52%, Calhoun County
28	- 0.51%, Carroll County	r - 0.97%, Chicot County - 0.5	51%, Clark County - 1.13%,
29	Clay County - 1.10%, Cl	eburne County - 1.11%, Clevel	land County -0.66% ,
30	Columbia County — 1.24%	, Conway County -1.04% , Crai	ighead County -2.91% ,
31	Crawford County - 1.98%	, Crittenden County -1.32% ,	Cross County -0.84% ,
32	Dallas County - 0.45%, Desha County - 0.71%, Drew County - 0.80%, Faulkner		
33	County - 2.30%, Frankli	n County $-$ 0.97%, Fulton Cour	nty — 0.84%, Garland
34	County - 3.12%, Grant County - 1.13%, Greene County - 1.39%, Hempstead County		
35	- 1.89%, Hot Spring County $-$ 1.46%, Howard County $-$ 0.75%, Independence		
36	County - 1.90%, Izard C	Sounty - 0.91%, Jackson County	7 - 0.95%, Jefferson

- 1 County 2.32%, Johnson County 1.05%, Lafayette County 0.71%, Lawrence
- 2 County 0.96%, Lee County 0.73%, Lincoln County 1.12%, Little River
- 3 County 0.77%, Logan County 1.06%, Lonoke County 1.70%, Madison County -
- 4 0.95%, Marion County 1.00%, Miller County 1.44%, Mississippi County -
- 5 1.77%, Monroe County 0.53%, Montgomery County 0.66%, Nevada County -
- 6 0.58%, Newton County 0.67%, Ouachita County 1.37%, Perry County 0.62%,
- 7 Phillips County 1.12%, Pike County 0.87%, Poinsett County 1.14%, Polk
- 8 County 1.01%, Pope County 1.73%, Prairie County 0.83%, Pulaski County -
- 9 5.99%, Randolph County 0.96%, St. Francis County 1.45%, Saline County -
- 10 3.00%, Scott County -0.59%, Searcy County -0.73%, Sebastian County -2.06%,
- 11 Sevier County -0.82%, Sharp County -1.30%, Stone County -0.77%, Union
- 12 County -2.01%, Van Buren County -1.18%, Washington County -3.46%, White
- 13 County -2.71%, Woodruff County -0.47%, Yell County -1.11%.
- 14 (2)(A) The moneys shall be apportioned by each quorum court to
- 15 the districts and municipalities within the county based upon population
- 16 unless the County Intergovernmental Cooperation Council county
- 17 <u>intergovernmental cooperation council</u> notifies the quorum court of the fire
- 18 protection needs of the districts and municipalities, in which case the
- 19 moneys shall be apportioned by the quorum court based on those needs.
- 20 (B) The funds shall be distributed to municipalities and
- 21 those certified departments in districts $\frac{\text{which}}{\text{that}}$ are in compliance with
- 22 this subchapter, § 20-22-801 et seq., and § 6-21-106.
- 23 (C) Fire departments which that are not certified by the
- Office of Fire Protection Services pursuant to under § 20-22-801 et seq.
- 25 shall also be eligible to receive moneys disbursed under this section so long
- 26 as all moneys received are spent directly on equipment, training, capital
- 27 improvements, or other expenditures necessary for upgrading the service
- 28 provided by the department.
- 29 <u>(D)(i) An inactive fire department is not eligible to</u>
- 30 receive moneys disbursed under this section.
- 31 <u>(ii) Any moneys allocated by the county</u>
- 32 <u>intergovernmental cooperation council and any moneys that would have been</u>
- 33 <u>apportioned to an inactive fire department based upon population shall be</u>
- 34 disbursed by the quorum court to the active departments based upon
- 35 population.
- 36 (b) Disbursements shall be made on forms prescribed by the Department

of Finance and Administration. (c) A county treasurer shall not collect the treasurer's commission provided in \$ 21-6-302 on any of the premium tax moneys disbursed from the Fire Protection Premium Tax Fund. /s/Ingram