| 1 | State of Arkansas | As Engrossed: H3/2 | 4/11 H4/11/11 S4/12/11 | |
|----|--|---------------------|---|--|
| 2 | 88th General Assembly | A | Bill | |
| 3 | Regular Session, 2011 | | HOUSE BILL 1836 | |
| 4 | | | | |
| 5 | By: Representatives Hall, Moore | | | |
| 6 | | | | |
| 7 | For An Act To Be Entitled | | | |
| 8 | AN ACT TO AMEND ARKANSAS LAW CONCERNING THE | | | |
| 9 | ESTABLISHMENT OF THE FOUR CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS; | | | |
| 10 | AND FOR | OTHER PURPOSES. | | |
| 11 | | | | |
| 12 | | ~ . | | |
| 13 | | Su | btitle | |
| 14 | TO | AMEND ARKANSAS LAV | OCONCERNING THE | |
| 15 | ES | TABLISHMENT OF THE | FOUR CONGRESSIONAL | |
| 16 | DIS | STRICTS. | | |
| 17 | | | | |
| 18 | | | | |
| 19 | BE IT ENACTED BY THE | E GENERAL ASSEMBLY | OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: | |
| 20 | | | | |
| 21 | | rkansas Code §§ 7-2 | 2-102 — 7-2-105 are amended to read as | |
| 22 | follows: | | | |
| 23 | | st Congressional Di | | |
| 24 | | _ | trict shall be composed of <u>:</u> | |
| 25 | <u>(1) The</u> | e the counties of: | Arkansas, Baxter, <u>Chicot,</u> Clay, | |
| 26 | | | , <u>Desha,</u> Fulton, Greene, Independence, | |
| 27 | | | , Lonoke, Mississippi, Monroe, | |
| 28 | | Poinsett, Randolph, | St. Francis, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, and | |
| 29 | Woodruff; and the | | | |
| 30 | | | districts of Jefferson County as they | |
| 31 | existed on January I | | | |
| 32 | | | voting district; | |
| 33 | | | e) voting district; | |
| 34 | <u>((</u> | | voting district; | |
| 35 | | | voting district; | |
| 36 | () | E) P91 (Roberts) v | OLIUP AISETICE: | |

| 1 | (F) P851 (Humphrey) voting district; and | | | | |
|----|--|--|--|--|--|
| 2 | (G) P862 (Humphrey) voting district; and | | | | |
| 3 | (3) The voting districts and voting precincts of Searcy County | | | | |
| 4 | as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-104(4). | | | | |
| 5 | (b) The qualified electors residing therein in the counties and | | | | |
| 6 | portion of Jefferson County and Searcy County listed under subsection (a) of | | | | |
| 7 | this section shall elect one (1) member of the House of Representatives of | | | | |
| 8 | the United States. | | | | |
| 9 | | | | | |
| 10 | 7-2-103. Second Congressional District. | | | | |
| 11 | (a) The Second Congressional District shall be composed of: | | | | |
| 12 | (1) The the counties of: Conway, Faulkner, Perry, Pulaski, | | | | |
| 13 | Saline, Van Buren, <u>and</u> White , and Yell; and the . | | | | |
| 14 | (b) The qualified electors residing therein in the counties listed | | | | |
| 15 | under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member of the House | | | | |
| 16 | of Representatives of the United States. | | | | |
| 17 | | | | | |
| 18 | 7-2-104. Third Congressional District. | | | | |
| 19 | (a) The Third Congressional District shall be composed of: | | | | |
| 20 | (1) The the counties of: Benton, Boone, Carroll, Grawford, | | | | |
| 21 | Franklin, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Newton, Pope, Sebastian, and Washington; | | | | |
| 22 | and the | | | | |
| 23 | (2) The voting districts and voting precincts of Crawford County | | | | |
| 24 | as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-105(2); | | | | |
| 25 | (3) The following voting districts of Newton County as they | | | | |
| 26 | existed on January 1, 2011: | | | | |
| 27 | (A) Big Creek voting district; | | | | |
| 28 | (B) Dogpatch voting district; | | | | |
| 29 | (C) Grove voting district; | | | | |
| 30 | (D) Hasty voting district; | | | | |
| 31 | (E) Polk voting district; | | | | |
| 32 | (F) Richland voting district; and | | | | |
| 33 | (G) White voting district; | | | | |
| 34 | (4) The Prairie voting district of Searcy County as it existed | | | | |
| 35 | on January 1, 2011: and | | | | |
| 36 | (5) The voting districts and voting precincts of Sebastian | | | | |

```
1
     County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-
 2
     105(5).
 3
           (b) The qualified electors residing therein in the counties and
 4
     portions of Crawford County, Newton County, Searcy County, and Sebastian
 5
     County listed under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member
 6
     of the House of Representatives of the United States.
 7
8
           7-2-105. Fourth Congressional District.
9
                The Fourth Congressional District shall be composed of:
10
                 (1) The the counties of: Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot,
11
     Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, <del>Desha,</del> Drew, Franklin, Garland, Grant,
12
     Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Little River,
13
     Lincoln, Logan, Madison, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike, Polk,
14
     Scott, Sevier, and Union, and Yell; and the
15
                 (2) The following voting districts of Crawford County as they
16
     existed on January 1, 2011:
17
                       (A) Alma #1 voting district;
18
                       (B) Alma #4 voting district;
19
                       (C) Bidville voting district;
20
                       (D) Chester voting district;
21
                       (E) Dean Springs voting district;
22
                       (F) Dyer voting district;
23
                       (G) Eagle Crest voting district;
24
                       (H) Kibler voting district;
25
                       (I) Locke voting district;
26
                       (J) Mountain voting district;
27
                       (K) Mulberry #1 voting district;
28
                       (L) Mulberry #2 voting district;
29
                       (M) Mulberry #3 voting district;
30
                       (N) Porter voting district;
31
                       (0) Vine Prairie voting district;
32
                       (P) Whitley voting district; and
                       (Q) Winfrey voting district;
33
                 (3) The voting districts and voting precincts of Jefferson
34
     County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-
35
36
     102(2);
```

| 1 | (4) The voting districts and voting precincts of Newton County | | |
|----|---|--|--|
| 2 | as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-104(3); | | |
| 3 | <u>and</u> | | |
| 4 | (5) The following voting districts of Sebastian County as they | | |
| 5 | existed on January 1, 2011; | | |
| 6 | (A) 9-1-A voting district; | | |
| 7 | (B) 9-1-B voting district; | | |
| 8 | (C) 9-1-C voting district; | | |
| 9 | (D) 9-1-D voting district; | | |
| 10 | (E) 9-1-E voting district; | | |
| 11 | (F) 9-1-Q voting district; | | |
| 12 | (G) 9-2-E voting district; | | |
| 13 | (H) 9-3-E voting district; | | |
| 14 | (I) 9-3-F voting district; | | |
| 15 | (J) 9-3-G voting district; | | |
| 16 | (K) 9-3-H voting district; | | |
| 17 | (L) 9-3-I voting district; | | |
| 18 | (M) 9-3-J voting district; | | |
| 19 | (N) 9-3-K voting district; | | |
| 20 | (0) 9-3-L voting district; and | | |
| 21 | (P) 9-3-M voting district. | | |
| 22 | (b) The qualified electors residing therein in the counties and | | |
| 23 | portions of Crawford County, Jefferson County, Newton County, and Sebastian | | |
| 24 | County listed under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member | | |
| 25 | of the House of Representatives of the United States. | | |
| 26 | | | |
| 27 | /s/Hall | | |
| 28 | | | |
| 29 | | | |
| 30 | | | |
| 31 | | | |
| 32 | | | |
| 33 | | | |
| 34 | | | |
| 35 | | | |
| 36 | | | |