1	State of Arkansas	A Bill	
2	89th General Assembly	A DIII	HOUGE DILL 112
3	Regular Session, 2013		HOUSE BILL 1134
4	Dy: Danragantativas Euhanks	Pall Praga Prancoum I Purris Catlatt Clamm	or Dala Doffenbaugh C
5	By: Representatives Eubanks, Bell, Bragg, Branscum, J. Burris, Catlett, Clemmer, Dale, Deffenbaugh, C		
6	Douglas, Farrer, Gillam, Gossage, Lampkin, Lea, Lenderman, Linck, McLean, Shepherd, Slinkard, Vines By: Senators J. English, Holland, J. Key, G. Stubblefield		
7	By: Senators J. English, Holla	ind, J. Key, G. Stubblerield	
8		For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE SPRING BREAK		
LO	HOLIDAY FOR PUBLIC SCHOOLS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.		
11	HOLIDAY FO	OR PUBLIC SCHOOLS; AND FOR OTHER PURPO	JSES.
12			
13		Subtitle	
14	mo A		
15		MEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE SPRING	
16	BREAL	K HOLIDAY FOR PUBLIC SCHOOLS.	
L7			
18	DE IT ENVOYED DA MIE C	CEMEDAL ACCEMBLY OF THE CTATE OF ADVA	MCAC.
L9 20	DE II ENACIED DI INE G	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKAN	NSAS:
21	SECTION 1 Arko	ansas Code § 6-10-106(d), concerning t	the common enrine
22		ols, is amended to read as follows:	The common spring
23	<u>-</u>		ah A muhlia aabaal
		ool years 2011-2012 and 2012-2013, each	
24 25	-	s a week-long holiday for spring break	
26		day for five (5) consecutive school da	ays beginning on
27	-	cty-eighth week of the school year. Thirty-eighth week of the school year	ahall ha
28		g as week one the first week in July t	
29	Sunday.	; as week one the first week in July (inat begins on a
30	•	ing in this subsection (d) shall preve	ent a nublic school
31		ng fewer than five (5) consecutive sch	
32	_	to comply with the department's requir	-
33		s for student attendance under the Sta	
34	•	nsas Public Schools and School Distric	
35		nere is created an advisory committee	
36		tion (d) during the 2011-2012 and 2012	

T	on the coordination of academic, extracurricular, and athletic school		
2	activities and on state tourism.		
3	(B) The advisory committee shall be composed of eight (8)		
4	members, as follows:		
5	(i) The Commissioner of Education or his or her		
6	designee;		
7	(ii) The Director of the Department of Higher		
8	Education or his or her designee;		
9	(iii) The Director of the Department of Parks and		
10	Tourism or his or her designee;		
11	(iv) The Executive Director of the Arkansas		
12	Hospitality Association or his or her designee;		
13	(v) The Executive Director of the Arkansas		
14	Activities Association or his or her designee;		
15	(vi) The Executive Director of the Arkansas		
16	Association of Educational Administrators or his or her designee;		
17	(vii) The Executive Director of the Arkansas		
18	Education Association or his or her designee; and		
19	(viii) The Executive Director of the Arkansas School		
20	Boards Association or his or her designee.		
21	(C) The commissioner or his or her designee shall serve as		
22	chair of the advisory committee.		
23	(D) The advisory committee shall meet upon the call of the		
24	chair but at least annually at a location designated by the chair.		
25	(E) By August 1, 2012, and August 1, 2013, the advisory		
26	committee shall report to the Senate Committee on Education and the House		
27	Committee on Education any findings and recommendations of the advisory		
28	committee for the impact of this section on the coordination of academic,		
29	extracurricular, and athletic school activities and on state tourism.		
30	(F) The advisory committee's work shall end upon the		
31	filing of the August 1, 2013, report unless the Senate Committee on Education		
32	or the House Committee on Education requests further study by the advisory		
33	committee.		
34			
35			

36