1	State of Arkansas
2	89th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2013 HR 1011
4	
5	By: Representatives Copenhaver, B. Wilkins, Lenderman, Hutchison, Carter, Alexander, E. Armstrong,
6	Baine, Baltz, Bragg, Broadaway, Davis, C. Douglas, J. Edwards, Fite, Gillam, Hawthorne, Hodges, Jean,
7	Jett, Julian, Kizzia, Leding, Linck, Magie, Mayberry, McCrary, D. Meeks, Perry, Ratliff, Richey, Vines,
8	W. Wagner, Williams, Wren
9	
10	HOUSE RESOLUTION
11	TO CONGRATULATE THE ARKANSAS STATE UNIVERSITY RED
12	WOLVES FOOTBALL TEAM FOR WINNING BACK-TO-BACK SUN
13	BELT CONFERENCE CHAMPIONSHIPS AND THE 2013
14	GODADDY.COM BOWL.
15	
16	
17	Subtitle
18	TO CONGRATULATE THE ARKANSAS STATE
19	UNIVERSITY RED WOLVES FOOTBALL TEAM FOR
20	WINNING BACK-TO-BACK SUN BELT CONFERENCE
21	CHAMPIONSHIPS AND THE 2013 GODADDY.COM
22	BOWL.
23	
24	WHEREAS, the Arkansas State University Red Wolves won the 2012 Sun Belt
25	Conference Championship for a second straight year with a 45-0 victory over
26	Middle Tennessee State University at Liberty Bank Stadium in Jonesboro,
27	Arkansas, on Saturday, December 1, 2012, in front of a stadium-record 31,243
28	fans; and
29	
30	WHEREAS, the Red Wolves won the 2011 and 2012 Sun Belt Conference
31	championships with a combined 15-1 league record over the last two seasons;
32	and
33	
34	WHEREAS, Arkansas State defeated Kent State 17-13 in the 2013
35	GoDaddy.com Bowl on January 6, beating a team that was ranked 25th in the
36	nation according to the Associated Press rankings; and



.

HR1011

WHEREAS, the Red Wolves ended the 2012 season on an eight-game winning streak, the second longest in the nation, to finish the season with a 10-3 record; and WHEREAS, the Red Wolves became the first team in the history of the Belt Conference to win 10 games in 2 consecutive seasons; and WHEREAS, the Arkansas State Red Wolves led the Sun Belt Conference in both scoring offense and scoring defense in 2012; and WHEREAS, senior quarterback Ryan Aplin, who graduated from Arkansas State on December 15, 2012, was named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Ye for a second straight year, and broke the conference career records for to	
 record; and WHEREAS, the Red Wolves became the first team in the history of the selt Conference to win 10 games in 2 consecutive seasons; and WHEREAS, the Arkansas State Red Wolves led the Sun Belt Conference is both scoring offense and scoring defense in 2012; and WHEREAS, senior quarterback Ryan Aplin, who graduated from Arkansas State on December 15, 2012, was named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year 	ng
5 6 WHEREAS, the Red Wolves became the first team in the history of the 7 Belt Conference to win 10 games in 2 consecutive seasons; and 8 9 WHEREAS, the Arkansas State Red Wolves led the Sun Belt Conference in 10 both scoring offense and scoring defense in 2012; and 11 12 WHEREAS, senior quarterback Ryan Aplin, who graduated from Arkansas 13 State on December 15, 2012, was named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Yes	
6 WHEREAS, the Red Wolves became the first team in the history of the 7 Belt Conference to win 10 games in 2 consecutive seasons; and 8 9 WHEREAS, the Arkansas State Red Wolves led the Sun Belt Conference in 10 both scoring offense and scoring defense in 2012; and 11 12 WHEREAS, senior quarterback Ryan Aplin, who graduated from Arkansas 13 State on December 15, 2012, was named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Yer	
 Belt Conference to win 10 games in 2 consecutive seasons; and WHEREAS, the Arkansas State Red Wolves led the Sun Belt Conference in both scoring offense and scoring defense in 2012; and WHEREAS, senior quarterback Ryan Aplin, who graduated from Arkansas State on December 15, 2012, was named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year 	
8 9 WHEREAS, the Arkansas State Red Wolves led the Sun Belt Conference in 10 both scoring offense and scoring defense in 2012; and 11 12 WHEREAS, senior quarterback Ryan Aplin, who graduated from Arkansas 13 State on December 15, 2012, was named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Yes	Sun
 9 WHEREAS, the Arkansas State Red Wolves led the Sun Belt Conference in 10 both scoring offense and scoring defense in 2012; and 11 12 WHEREAS, senior quarterback Ryan Aplin, who graduated from Arkansas 13 State on December 15, 2012, was named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year 	
both scoring offense and scoring defense in 2012; and WHEREAS, senior quarterback Ryan Aplin, who graduated from Arkansas State on December 15, 2012, was named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Yes	
 WHEREAS, senior quarterback Ryan Aplin, who graduated from Arkansas State on December 15, 2012, was named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Yes 	n
 WHEREAS, senior quarterback Ryan Aplin, who graduated from Arkansas State on December 15, 2012, was named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Yes 	
13 State on December 15, 2012, was named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Ye	
14 for a second straight year, and broke the conference career records for to	ar
	tal
15 offensive yards, passing yards, and completions; and	
16	
17 WHEREAS, freshman wide receiver J.D. McKissic was Sun Belt Conference	
18 Freshman of the Year, led the nation's freshmen with 103 receptions, and w	as
19 one of 30 Football Bowl Subdivision players named to the Football Writers	
20 Association of America Freshman All-American Team; and	
21	
22 WHEREAS, in 10 of the last 11 years the Red Wolves football team has	
23 won the Sun Belt Conference Team Academic Award; and	
	. 1
25 WHEREAS Arkansas State's average home game attendance of 26,398 for	ine
26 2012 season was a school record; and	
27 28 WHEREAS, Fort Smith native Gus Malzahn led the Red Wolves as head co	aab
28 WHEREAS, Fort Smith native Gus Malzahn led the Red Wolves as head conducted during the regular season; and	acii
30	
31 WHEREAS, Forrest City native John Thompson served as defensive	
coordinator during the successful regular season and as interim head coach	in
32 leading the team's GoDaddy.com Bowl victory; and	T 11
34	
35 WHEREAS, Bryan Harsin became the 29th head football coach of Arkansa	s
36 State on December 12, 2012, following a distinguished career as offensive	

2

coordinator at two nationally prominent universities; and WHEREAS, Director of Athletics Terry Mohajir and his staff provided exceptional leadership in the operations of the Athletics Department to support the success of the student-athletes; and WHEREAS; Arkansas State had the following, league-high 10 players named to the 2012 All-Sun Belt Conference team: first-team selections quarterback Ryan Aplin, junior running back David Oku, senior offensive lineman Zach McKnight, junior offensive lineman Ryan Carrethers, and senior linebacker Nathan Herrold; second-team selections wide receiver J.D. McKissic, defensive end Tim Starson, and kicker Brian Davis; and honorable mention selections wide receiver Taylor Stockemer and linebacker Qushaun Lee, NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE EIGHTY-NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: THAT the Arkansas State University Red Wolves football team be congratulated for an outstanding 2012 season, back-to-back Sun Belt Conference championships, and its impressive victory in the 2013 GoDaddy.com Bowl. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that upon adoption of this resolution, a copy be sent to the President and Athletic Director of Arkansas State University.