1	State of Arkansas
2	89th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2013 SR 15
4	
5	By: Senator Rapert
6	
7	SENATE RESOLUTION
8	CONGRATULATING THE UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL ARKANSAS
9	BEARS FOOTBALL TEAM FOR AN OUTSTANDING 2012 SEASON
10	AND FOR CONTINUING EXCELLENCE IN ACADEMICS.
11	
12	
13	Subtitle
14	CONGRATULATING THE UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL
15	ARKANSAS BEARS FOOTBALL TEAM FOR AN
16	OUTSTANDING 2012 SEASON AND FOR
17	CONTINUING EXCELLENCE IN ACADEMICS.
18	
19	
20	WHEREAS, the University of Central Arkansas Bears finished their 2012
21	season as co-champions of the Southland Conference; and
22	
23	WHEREAS, the University of Central Arkansas Bears reached the 2nd round
24	of the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Football
25	Championship Series in 2012 for the second consecutive year; and
26	
27	WHEREAS, in 2012, the University of Central Arkansas Bears finished
28	10th in the final Football Championship Series' national poll by The Sports
29	Network, the highest since moving to Division I in 2006; and
30	
31	WHEREAS, forty-six (46) players for the University of Central Arkansas
32	Bears were named to the Southland Conference Academic Honor Roll for the Fall
33	of 2012, and the Bears maintained the highest Academic Progress Rate in the
34	Southland Conference for the second consecutive year, the highest in the
35	State of Arkansas; and
36	



.

1 WHEREAS, Head Coach Clint Conque was named the 2012 Southland 2 Conference Coach of the Year and finished 8th in the voting for the 2012 Eddie Robinson Award, given to the top coach at the NCAA Football 3 4 Championship Series level; and 5 6 WHEREAS, Junior Quarterback Wynrick Smothers finished llth in the 7 voting for the 2012 Walter Payton Award for the outstanding player at the 8 Football Championship Series level, was named the Southland Conference 9 Offensive Player of the Year, and was a first-team All-Southland Conference 10 selection after leading the Bears to a 9-3 record and a Southland Conference 11 co-championship in the 2012 season; and 12 WHEREAS, Corey Howard was named the 2012 Southland Conference Offensive 13 14 Lineman of the Year and Jonathan Woodard the 2012 Southland Conference 15 Freshman of the Year; and 16 17 WHEREAS, the University of Central Arkansas Bears football team is 18 comprised of a group of talented, hard-working, and high-achieving 19 individuals who proudly represented the university on the field and in the 20 classroom, 21 22 NOW, THEREFORE, 23 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE FOR THE EIGHTY-NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE 24 STATE OF ARKANSAS: 25 26 THAT the Senate congratulates the University of Central Arkansas Bears 27 for an excellent season and for their continued outstanding academic 28 accomplishments. 29 30 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that upon its adoption a copy of this resolution be 31 presented to the University of Central Arkansas Bears football team and the 32 President and the Athletic Director of the University of Central Arkansas. 33 34 35 36

2

SR15