1	State of Arkansas
2	89th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2013 SR 5
4	
5	By: Senator Bookout
6	
7	SENATE RESOLUTION
8	TO CONGRATULATE THE ARKANSAS STATE UNIVERSITY RED
9	WOLVES FOOTBALL TEAM FOR WINNING BACK-TO-BACK SUN
10	BELT CONFERENCE CHAMPIONSHIPS AND THE 2013
11	GODADDY.COM BOWL.
12	
13	
14	Subtitle
15	TO CONGRATULATE THE ARKANSAS STATE
16	UNIVERSITY RED WOLVES FOOTBALL TEAM FOR
17	WINNING BACK-TO-BACK SUN BELT CONFERENCE
18	CHAMPIONSHIPS AND THE 2013 GODADDY.COM
19	BOWL.
20	
21	WHEREAS, the Arkansas State University Red Wolves won the 2012 Sun Belt
22	Conference Championship for a second straight year with a 45-0 victory over
23	Middle Tennessee State University at Liberty Bank Stadium in Jonesboro,
24	Arkansas, on Saturday, December 1, 2012, in front of a stadium-record 31,243
25	fans; and
26	
27	WHEREAS, the Red Wolves won the 2011 and 2012 Sun Belt Conference
28	championships with a combined 15-1 league record over the last two seasons;
29	and
30	
31	WHEREAS, Arkansas State defeated Kent State 17-13 in the 2013
32	GoDaddy.com Bowl on January 6, beating a team that was ranked 25th in the
33	nation according to the Associated Press rankings; and
34	
35	WHEREAS, the Red Wolves ended the 2012 season on an eight-game winning
36	streak, the second longest in the nation, to finish the season with a 10-3



.

1 record; and 2 3 WHEREAS, the Red Wolves became the first team in the history of the Sun 4 Belt Conference to win 10 games in 2 consecutive seasons; and 5 6 WHEREAS, the Arkansas State Red Wolves led the Sun Belt Conference in 7 both scoring offense and scoring defense in 2012; and 8 9 WHEREAS, senior quarterback Ryan Aplin, who graduated from Arkansas 10 State on December 15, 2012, was named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year 11 for a second straight year, and broke the conference career records for total 12 offensive yards, passing yards, and completions; and 13 14 WHEREAS, freshman wide receiver J.D. McKissic was Sun Belt Conference 15 Freshman of the Year, led the nation's freshmen with 103 receptions, and was 16 one of 30 Football Bowl Subdivision players named to the Football Writers 17 Association of America Freshman All-American Team; and 18 19 WHEREAS, in 10 of the last 11 years the Red Wolves football team has 20 won the Sun Belt Conference Team Academic Award; and 21 22 WHEREAS Arkansas State's average home game attendance of 26,398 for the 23 2012 season was a school record; and 24 25 WHEREAS, Fort Smith native Gus Malzahn led the Red Wolves as head coach 26 during the regular season; and 27 28 WHEREAS, Forrest City native John Thompson served as defensive 29 coordinator during the successful regular season and as interim head coach in 30 leading the team's GoDaddy.com Bowl victory; and 31 32 WHEREAS, Bryan Harsin became the 29th head football coach of Arkansas 33 State on December 12, 2012, following a distinguished career as offensive 34 coordinator at two nationally prominent universities; and 35 36 WHEREAS, Director of Athletics Terry Mohajir and his staff provided

2

01-30-2013 14:09:49 DLP081

SR5

exceptional leadership in the operations of the Athletics Department to support the success of the student-athletes; and WHEREAS; Arkansas State had the following, league-high 10 players named to the 2012 All-Sun Belt Conference team: first-team selections guarterback Ryan Aplin, junior running back David Oku, senior offensive lineman Zach McKnight, junior offensive lineman Ryan Carrethers, and senior linebacker Nathan Herrold; second-team selections wide receiver J.D. McKissic, defensive end Tim Starson, and kicker Brian Davis; and honorable mention selections wide receiver Taylor Stockemer and linebacker Qushaun Lee, NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE EIGHTY-NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: THAT the Arkansas State University Red Wolves football team be congratulated for an outstanding 2012 season, back-to-back Sun Belt Conference championships, and its impressive victory in the 2013 GoDaddy.com Bowl.