1 2	State of Arkansas 90th General Assembly	A Bill	
	Regular Session, 2015	11 Billi	HOUSE BILL 1400
3 4	Regulai Session, 2013		HOUSE BILL 1400
5	By: Representatives B. Overb	pey, Gossage	
6	By: Senator G. Stubblefield	-5,8	
7	y		
8		For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT CON	NCERNING THE REORGANIZATION OF THE	LOCAL
10	DISTRICT (COURTS TO STATE DISTRICT COURTS IN	THE
11	SEVENTH JU	JDICIAL DISTRICT; AND FOR OTHER PUR	RPOSES.
12			
13			
14		Subtitle	
15	CONC	ERNING THE REORGANIZATION OF THE	
16	LOCA	L DISTRICT COURTS TO STATE DISTRIC	Т
17	COUR	TS IN THE SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRIC	т.
18			
19			
20	BE IT ENACTED BY THE (GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF AF	RKANSAS:
21			
22	SECTION 1. Arka	ansas Code § 16-17-1112(b)(3), cond	cerning reorganization
23	of local district cour	rts to state district courts in the	e Seventh District as
24	of January 1, 2017, is	repealed.	
25	(3) ((A) The Seventh District shall be o	omposed of the
26	counties of Franklin a	and Johnson.	
27		The Seventh District shall have si	x (6) departments as
28	follows:		
29		(i) One (1) located in Charlesto	n;
30		(ii) One (1) located in Ozark;	
31		(iii) One (1) located in Altus;	
32		(iv) One (1) located in Clarksvi	•
33		(v) One (1) located in Coal Hill	.; and
34	(2)	(vi) One (1) located in Lamar.	1 1 /1>
35		The Seventh District shall be serv	rea by one (1) state
36	district court indee.		

1	(D) The Seventh District judge shall be elected						
2	districtwide.						
3	(E) The Seventh District court shall have district wide						
4	jurisdiction.						
5							
6	SECTION 2. Arkansas Code Title 16, Chapter 17, Subchapter 11, is						
7	amended to add a new section to read as follows:						
8	16-17-1113. Reorganization of local district courts to a state						
9	district court of the Seventh Judicial District as of January 1, 2025.						
10	(a)(1) Beginning January 1, 2025, the cities and counties of the						
11	Seventh Judicial District that are currently served by local district courts						
12	under § 16-17-901 et seq. shall be reorganized into a state district court						
13	district and served by a state district court judge as provided in subsection						
14	(b) of this section.						
15	(2) The new state district court judgeship created in the						
16	Seventh Judicial District by this section shall become effective January 1,						
17	2025, and shall be placed on the ballot to be elected in the 2024 nonpartisan						
18	judicial election from the newly constructed state district court district.						
19	(3) The cities and counties of the Seventh Judicial District						
20	which were previously served by local district courts and will be served by a						
21	state district court shall comply with the cost-sharing requirements						
22	established in § 16-17-1106, effective January 1, 2025.						
23	(b)(1) The Seventh Judicial District shall be composed of the counties						
24	of Franklin and Johnson.						
25	(2) The Seventh District shall have six (6) departments as						
26	follows:						
27	(A) One (1) located in Charleston;						
28	(B) One (1) located in Ozark;						
29	(C) One (1) located in Altus;						
30	(D) One (1) located in Clarksville;						
31	(E) One (1) located in Coal Hill; and						
32	(F) One (1) located in Lamar.						
33	(3) The Seventh Judicial District shall be served by one (1)						
34	state district court judge.						
35	(4) The Seventh Judicial District judge shall be elected						
36	districtwide.						

1	(3) ine	Seventi	Judiciai	District	court	snall	nave	distri	.ct-wia	.e
2	jurisdiction.										
3											
4											
5											
6											
7											
8											
9											
10											
11											
12											
13											
14											
15											
16											
17											
18											
19											
20											
21											
22											
23											
24											
25											
26 27											
28											
29											
30											
31											
32											
33											
34											
35											
36											