1	State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H2/26/15
2	90th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2015 HJR 1027
4	
5	By: Representative Ladyman
6	
7	HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION
8	PROPOSING AN AMENDMENT TO THE ARKANSAS CONSTITUTION
9	CONCERNING ELECTED COUNTY OFFICIALS; INCREASING THE
10	LENGTH OF TERMS OF CIRCUIT CLERKS, COLLECTORS OF
11	TAXES, COUNTY CLERKS, COUNTY JUDGES, COUNTY SHERIFFS,
12	COUNTY ASSESSORS, COUNTY CORONERS, COUNTY TREASURERS,
13	COUNTY SURVEYORS, AND JUSTICES OF THE PEACE FROM TWO
14	(2) YEARS TO FOUR (4) YEARS; AND PROVIDING THAT
15	CERTAIN COUNTY OFFICERS SHALL NOT BE APPOINTED OR
16	ELECTED TO A CIVIL OFFICE DURING THEIR ELECTED TERM.
17	
18	
19	Subtitle
20	PROPOSING AN AMENDMENT TO THE ARKANSAS
21	CONSTITUTION CONCERNING ELECTED COUNTY
22	OFFICIALS.
23	
24	
25	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETIETH GENERAL
26	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS AND BY THE SENATE, A MAJORITY OF ALL
27	MEMBERS ELECTED TO EACH HOUSE AGREEING THERETO:
28	
29	That the following is proposed as an amendment to the Constitution of
30	the State of Arkansas, and upon being submitted to the electors of the state
31	for approval or rejection at the next general election for Representatives
32	and Senators, if a majority of the electors voting thereon at the election
33	adopt the amendment, the amendment shall become a part of the Constitution of
34	the State of Arkansas, to wit:
35	
36	SECTION 1. Section 19 of Article 7 of the Arkansas Constitution is

1 amended to read as follows:

The clerks of the circuit courts shall be elected by the qualified electors of the several counties for the term of two four (4) years, and shall be ex-officio ex officio clerks of the county and probate courts and recorder; provided, that in any county having a population exceeding fifteen thousand (15,000) inhabitants, as shown by the last Federal census, there shall be elected a county clerk, in like manner as the clerk of the circuit court, for the term of four (4) years, and in such case the county clerk shall be ex-officio ex officio clerk of the probate court of such county until otherwise provided by the General Assembly.

SECTION 2. Section 29 of Article 7 of the Arkansas Constitution is amended to read as follows:

§ 29. County judge - Election - Term - Qualifications.

The Judge of the County Court shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county for the term of two four (4) years. He or she shall be at least twenty-five (25) years of age, a citizen of the United States, a man an individual of upright character, of good business education, and a resident of the State for two (2) years before his or her election; and a resident of the county at the time of his or her election, and during his or her continuance in office.

 SECTION 3. Section 38 of Article 7 of the Arkansas Constitution is amended to read as follows:

§ 38. Justices of the peace - Election - Term - Oath.

- (a) The Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, the qualified electors of each township shall elect the Justices of the Peace for the term of two four (4) years; who shall be commissioned by the Governor, and their official oath shall be indorsed on the commission.
- 32 <u>(b) If a reapportionment of the quorum court following the decennial</u>
 33 <u>census under Arkansas Constitution Amendment 55, § 2, will occur during the</u>
 34 <u>first two (2) years of a four-year term of a Justice of the Peace, a Justice</u>
 35 <u>of the Peace shall be elected for a term of two (2) years rather than four</u>
 36 <u>(4) years.</u>

1	
2	SECTION 4. Section 46 of Article 7 of the Arkansas Constitution is
3	amended to read as follows:
4	§ 46. County executive officers — Compensation of county assessor.
5	The qualified electors of each county shall elect one (1) Sheriff, who
6	shall be $\frac{\text{ex-officio}}{\text{ex officio}}$ collector of taxes, unless otherwise provided
7	by law; one $\underline{(1)}$ Assessor, one $\underline{(1)}$ Coroner, one $\underline{(1)}$ Treasurer, who shall be
8	$rac{ ext{ex-officio}}{ ext{ommon}}$ ex officio treasurer of the common school fund of the county, and
9	one (1) County Surveyor; for the term of two four (4) years, with such duties
10	as are now or may be prescribed by law: Provided, that no per centum shall
11	ever be paid to assessors upon the valuation or assessment of property by
12	them. If a separate collector of taxes has been created by law for a county,
13	the qualified electors of that county shall elect one (1) collector of taxes
14	for a term of four (4) years, with duties as provided by law.
15	
16	SECTION 5. Article 7 of the Arkansas Constitution is amended to add an
17	additional section to read as follows:
18	§ 53. County officers ineligible to civil office.
19	A person elected or appointed to the following county offices shall
20	not, during the term for which he or she shall have been elected, be
21	appointed or elected to any civil office under this state:
22	(1) County judge;
23	(2) Justice of the Peace;
24	(3) Sheriff;
25	(4) Circuit clerk;
26	(5) County clerk;
27	(6) Assessor;
28	(7) Coroner;
29	(8) Treasurer;
30	(9) County Surveyor; or
31	(10) Collector of Taxes.
32	
33	SECTION 6. Amendment 41 of the Arkansas Constitution is amended to
34	read as follows:
35	Election of county clerk.
36	The provisions for the election of a County Clerk upon a population

As Engrossed: H2/26/15 HJR1027

1	basis are hereby abolished and there may be elected a County Clerk in like
2	manner as a Circuit Clerk, for the term of four (4) years, and in such cases,
3	the County Clerk may be ex officio Clerk of the Probate Court of such county
4	until otherwise provided by the General Assembly.
5	
6	SECTION 7. EFFECTIVE DATE. (a) This amendment shall become effective
7	on and after January 1, 2017.
8	(b) Persons elected to the following offices at the 2016 general
9	election shall serve terms of two (2) years:
10	(1) County judge;
11	(2) Justice of the Peace;
12	(3) Sheriff;
13	(4) Circuit clerk;
14	(5) County clerk;
15	(6) Assessor;
16	(7) Coroner;
17	(8) Treasurer;
18	(9) County Surveyor; and
19	(10) Collector of Taxes.
20	(c) Persons elected to the following offices at the 2018 general
21	election shall serve terms of four (4) years:
22	(1) County judge;
23	(2) Justice of the Peace;
24	(3) Sheriff;
25	(4) Circuit clerk;
26	(5) County clerk;
27	(6) Assessor;
28	(7) Coroner;
29	(8) Treasurer;
30	(9) County Surveyor; and
31	(10) Collector of Taxes.
32	
33	SECTION 8. BALLOT TITLE AND POPULAR NAME. When this proposed
34	amendment is submitted to the electors of this state on the general election
35	<pre>ballot:</pre>
36	(1) The title of this joint resolution shall be the ballot

As Engrossed: H2/26/15 HJR1027

1	title; and	
2	(2) The popular name shall be "A Constitutional Amendmen	ıt
3	Concerning Elected County Officials".	
4		
5	/s/Ladyman	
6		
7		
8		
9		
10		
11		
12		
13		
14		
15		
16 17		
17		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
24		
25		
26		
27		
28		
29		
30		
31		
32		
33		
34		
35		
36		