1	State of Arkansas
2	90th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2015 HR 1018
4	
5	By: Representatives Hammer, Rushing, J. Mayberry, Lampkin, Blake, Richmond, D. Ferguson,
6	Lundstrum, L. Fite, Pitsch
7	
8	HOUSE RESOLUTION
9	TO RECOGNIZE THE BOYS AND GIRLS CLUBS OF ARKANSAS FOR
10	THEIR VALUABLE CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE YOUNG PEOPLE OF
11	ARKANSAS AND TO CONGRATULATE THE 2015 ARKANSAS STATE
12	YOUTH OF THE YEAR CANDIDATES.
13	
14	
15	Subtitle
16	TO RECOGNIZE THE BOYS AND GIRLS CLUBS OF
17	ARKANSAS FOR THEIR VALUABLE CONTRIBUTIONS
18	TO THE YOUNG PEOPLE OF ARKANSAS AND TO
19	CONGRATULATE THE 2015 ARKANSAS STATE
20	YOUTH OF THE YEAR CANDIDATES.
21	
22	
23	WHEREAS, the Arkansas Alliance of Boys and Girls Clubs provides
24	services to over 70,000 school-aged youth in 38 cities in Arkansas and its
25	goal is to enable young people to reach their full potential as productive,
26	responsible, and caring citizens; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, through outcome driven programs, leaders in the Boys and Girls
29	Clubs stress academic success, healthy lifestyles, character, and
30	citizenship; and
31	
32	WHEREAS, Boys and Girls Clubs encourage an appreciation for the arts
33	and provide programs in sports, fitness, and recreation; and
34	
35	WHEREAS, the programs promote a better self-image and improved
36	education, social, emotional, and cultural awareness while encouraging



.

3

4 WHEREAS, the 2015 Arkansas State Youth of the Year candidates are Logan 5 Anderson, age 18, from the Boys and Girls Club of Central Arkansas; Brett 6 Dunn, age 17, from the Boys and Girls Club of Van Buren; Bobbye Ann Kellam, 7 age 16, from the Boys and Girls Club of Saline County; Joselin Martinez, age 8 17, from the Boys and Girls Club of Benton County; Madison Needham, age 18, 9 from the Fort Smith Boys and Girls Club; Jaylah Prude, age 17, from the Donald W. Reynolds Boys and Girls Club; and Donterious Webster, age 18, from 10 11 the Boys and Girls Club of Phillips County; and

12

WHEREAS, on February 19th, 2015, one of the Arkansas State Youth of the Year candidates will be chosen as Arkansas State Youth of the Year to represent the State of Arkansas in the National Youth of the Year contest for Boys and Girls Clubs of America; and

17

18 WHEREAS, through the years, Boys and Girls Clubs have encouraged young 19 people to aspire to the highest level of personal development and to become 20 good citizens who are involved in their communities,

21

22 NOW THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETIETH GENERALASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

25

THAT the House of Representatives commends Boys and Girls Clubs across Arkansas for the outstanding services they provide young people and their families.

29

30 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon its adoption a copy of this resolution 31 be presented by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Logan 32 Anderson, Brett Dunn, Bobbye Ann Kellam, Joselin Martinez, Madison Needham, 33 Jaylah Prude, Donterious Webster, and the Arkansas Alliance of Boys and Girls 34 Clubs.

2

- 35
- 36

02-12-2015 14:28:36 SRC021