| 1 | State of Arkansas |
|----|-----------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| 2 | 90th General Assembly |
| 3 | Regular Session, 2015 SR 30 |
| 4 | |
| 5 | By: Senator Irvin |
| 6 | |
| 7 | SENATE RESOLUTION |
| 8 | TO RECOGNIZE AND HONOR ANN CORNWELL FOR HER THIRTY- |
| 9 | FIVE YEARS OF SERVICE AS A STAFF MEMBER, DIRECTOR, |
| 10 | AND SECRETARY OF THE ARKANSAS STATE SENATE. |
| 11 | |
| 12 | |
| 13 | Subtitle |
| 14 | TO RECOGNIZE AND HONOR ANN CORNWELL FOR |
| 15 | HER THIRTY-FIVE YEARS OF SERVICE AS A |
| 16 | STAFF MEMBER, DIRECTOR, AND SECRETARY OF |
| 17 | THE ARKANSAS STATE SENATE. |
| 18 | |
| 19 | |
| 20 | WHEREAS, Ann Cornwell has been a valued employee of the Senate since |
| 21 | the Seventy-Third General Assembly in 1981; and |
| 22 | |
| 23 | WHEREAS, members of the Senate respect and value the plethora of |
| 24 | legislative experience and knowledge of Ann Cornwell, the Director and |
| 25 | Secretary of the Senate; and |
| 26 | |
| 27 | WHEREAS, Director Cornwell began working as the Senate's journal clerk |
| 28 | during the 1981 regular session until she became the Assistant Secretary of |
| 29 | the Senate during the 1991 regular session; and |
| 30 | |
| 31 | WHEREAS, Director Cornwell served as the Assistant Secretary and Fiscal |
| 32 | Officer of the Senate during the 1993 regular session, as the full-time |
| 33 | Secretary and Fiscal Officer of the Senate during the 1995 regular session, |
| 34 | and as the Secretary of the Senate and Coordinator of Legislative Services |
| 35 | during the 2007 regular session; and |
| 36 | |



.

1 WHEREAS, Director Cornwell has been serving as the Director and 2 Secretary of the Senate since the 2009 regular session and she is the first 3 female to serve the Senate as its director and secretary; and 4 5 WHEREAS, the many legislative services provided by the members of the 6 Senate staff under the leadership of Ann Cornwell play a vital role in the 7 daily functions of the Senate; and 8 9 WHEREAS, the members of the Senate and all of those who have worked 10 alongside Director Cornwell acknowledge and appreciate her hard work and 11 dedication that enable the Senate to function efficiently; and 12 WHEREAS, Director Cornwell has served during the terms of many 13 14 distinguished Governors, including Governor Frank White, President Bill 15 Clinton, Governor Jim Guy Tucker, Governor Mike Huckabee, and Governor Asa 16 Hutchinson; and 17 18 WHEREAS, Director Cornwell has served the Senate with many notable 19 Lieutenant Governors, including Lieutenant Governor Winston Bryant, 20 Lieutenant Governor Winthrop Paul Rockefeller, Lieutenant Governor Bill 21 Halter, Lieutenant Governor Mark Darr, and Lieutenant Governor Tim Griffin; 22 and 23 24 WHEREAS, Director Cornwell has served many influential former state 25 senators, including Governor Mike Beebe, United States Representative Mike Ross, United States Representative Vic Snyder, and State Republican Party 26 27 Chairman Doyle Webb; and 28 29 WHEREAS, during Director Cornwell's 35 years of service as a member of the Senate staff and Director of the Senate, she has willingly and patiently 30 31 served members of the Senate with a calm and professional demeanor that 32 reflects admirably upon the Senate and brings stability to the chamber; and 33 34 WHEREAS, Director Cornwell's kind and effective management of Senate 35 staff has won her great admiration and respect by both permanent and session 36 staff privileged to work under her guidance, many of whom look forward to

SR30

```
1
     returning every session because they "love working for Ann"; and
 2
 3
           WHEREAS, the members of the Senate recognize and honor the 35 years of
 4
     exemplary service of Director Cornwell,
 5
 6
     NOW THEREFORE,
 7
    BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETIETH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE
8
     OF ARKANSAS:
9
10
           THAT the Senate of the Ninetieth General Assembly recognizes and honors
11
     Director Cornwell's 35 years of exemplary service to the Senate, her hard
12
    work and dedication, her professionalism and kindness, and her daily efforts
13
     to maintain the functions and procedures of the Senate.
14
15
           BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption of this resolution, an
16
     appropriate copy be provided to Ann Cornwell, Director and Secretary of the
17
     Senate.
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
```

SR30