1	State of Arkansas
2	90th General Assembly
3	Fiscal Session, 2016 HR 1008
4	
5	By: Representatives V. Flowers, K. Ferguson, Blake
6	
7	HOUSE RESOLUTION
8	TO RECOGNIZE THE OBSERVANCE OF NATIONAL WHISTLEBLOWER
9	DAY ON JULY 30 AND TO RECOGNIZE THE IMPORTANCE OF
10	AMERICA'S FIRST LAW PROTECTING WHISTLEBLOWERS.
11	
12	
13	Subtitle
14	TO RECOGNIZE THE OBSERVANCE OF NATIONAL
15	WHISTLEBLOWER DAY ON JULY 30 AND TO
16	RECOGNIZE THE IMPORTANCE OF AMERICA'S
17	FIRST LAW PROTECTING WHISTLEBLOWERS.
18	
19	
20	WHEREAS, on July 30, 1778, the Founding Fathers unanimously passed
21	America's first law to protect whistleblowers from retribution; and
22	
23	WHEREAS, whistleblowing is generally defined as the lawful disclosure
24	of information reasonably believed to evidence a violation of law, rule, or
25	regulation, or gross mismanagement, a gross waste of funds, an abuse of
26	authority, or a danger to public health or safety; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, whistleblowers risk their careers and reputations by reporting
29	waste, fraud, and abuse to the proper authorities in order to promote
30	accountability, integrity, honesty, fairness, and transparency; and
31	
32	WHEREAS, our current leaders should follow the tradition of defending
33	whistleblowers and ensure that our nation's laws offer protection to
34	whistleblowers; and
35	
36	WHEREAS, the commemoration of July 30 as National Whistleblower Day

1	recognizes the first law protecting whistleblowers and it recognizes the
2	importance of whistleblowers to our nation's transparency and accountability
3	
4	NOW THEREFORE,
5	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETIETH GENERAL
6	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
7	
8	THAT the House of Representatives of the Ninetieth General Assembly
9	recognizes the observance of National Whistleblower Day on July 30 and
10	recognizes the importance of America's first law protecting whistleblowers.
11	
12	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption of this resolution, an
13	appropriate copy be provided by the Chief Clerk of the House of
14	Representatives to Stephen M. Kohn, Executive Director of the National
15	Whistleblower Center.
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	