1	State of Arkansas	A D !11	
2	92nd General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2019		HOUSE BILL 1880
4			
5	By: Representatives Dalby, M. Gra	y	
6	By: Senator J. Sturch		
7			
8	For An Act To Be Entitled		
9	AN ACT CONCERNING THE DISTRICT COURTS OF		
10	INDEPENDENCE, FULTON, AND IZARD COUNTIES; AND FOR		
11	OTHER PURPOSES.		
12			
13			
14	Subtitle		
15	CONCERNING THE DISTRICT COURTS OF		
16	INDEPENDENCE, FULTON, AND IZARD COUNTIES.		
17			
18			
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENER	AL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF	F ARKANSAS:
20			
21	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 16-17-1113(f), concerning the transition to		
22	•		
23	is repealed.	1.6	
24		eth District is composed of	the counties of
25	Independence, Fulton, and		1
26		ceenth District has six (6)	_
27		(1) located in Batesville;	<del>;</del>
28 29		(1) located in Melbourne;	l- a
29 30		: (1) located in Galico Rock : (1) located in Horseshoe I	•
31		: (1) located in Nalem; and	<del>bena ;</del>
32		: (1) located in Mammoth Spi	rina
33		eenth District is served by	
34	court judge.	concir <del>District is served by</del>	y one (1) beate district
35	(4) The Fourteenth District judge is elected districtwide.		
36	(5) The Fourteenth District court has districtwide jurisdiction.		

Ţ			
2	SECTION 2. Arkansas Code Title 16, Chapter 17, Subchapter 11, is		
3	amended to add an additional section to read as follows:		
4	16-17-1115. Reorganization of local district courts to state district		
5	courts as of January 1, 2025.		
6	(a)(1) Beginning January 1, 2025, Independence County, Fulton County,		
7	and Izard County, currently being served by a local district court under §		
8	16-17-901 et seq. shall be reorganized as a state district court and served		
9	by state district court judges as assigned.		
10	(2) The new state district court judgeship created by this		
11	section shall become effective January 1, 2025, and shall be placed on the		
12	ballot to be elected in the 2024 nonpartisan judicial election from the newly		
13	constructed state district court district.		
14	(3) The counties that were previously served by local district		
15	courts and will be served by state district courts shall comply with the		
16	cost-sharing requirements established in § 16-17-1106, effective January 1,		
17	<u>2025.</u>		
18	(b)(1) The Fourteenth District is composed of the counties of		
19	Independence, Fulton, and Izard.		
20	(2) The Fourteenth District has six (6) departments as follows:		
21	(A) One (1) located in Batesville;		
22	(B) One (1) located in Melbourne;		
23	(C) One (1) located in Calico Rock;		
24	(D) One (1) located in Horseshoe Bend;		
25	(E) One (1) located in Salem; and		
26	(F) One (1) located in Mammoth Spring.		
27	(3) The Fourteenth District is served by one (1) state district		
28	court judge.		
29	(4) The Fourteenth District judge is elected districtwide.		
30	(5) The Fourteenth District court has districtwide jurisdiction.		
31			
32			
33			
34			
35			
36			