1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: H3/27/19		
2	92nd General Assembly	A Bill		
3	Regular Session, 2019		HOUSE BILL 1880	
4				
5	By: Representatives Dalby, M. Gray			
6	By: Senator J. Sturch			
7	,			
8	For An Act To Be Entitled			
9	AN ACT CONCERNING THE DISTRICT COURTS OF			
10	INDEPENDENCE, FULTON, AND IZARD COUNTIES; AND FOR			
11	OTHER PURPOSES.			
12				
13	:			
14	Subtitle			
15	CONCERNING THE DISTRICT COURTS OF			
16	INDEPENDENCE, FULTON, AND IZARD COUNTIES.			
17	•			
18	1			
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:			
20				
21	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 16-17-1113(f), concerning the transition to			
22	state district courts for Independence, Fulton, and Izard counties in 2021,			
23	is repealed.			
24	(f)(1) The Fourteenth District is composed of the counties of			
25	Independence, Fulton, and	Izard.		
26	(2) The Fourteenth District has six (6) departments as follows:			
27	(A) One (1) located in Batesville;			
28	(B) One (1) located in Melbourne;			
29	(C) One (1) located in Calico Rock;			
30	(D) One (1) located in Horseshoe Bend;			
31	(E) One (1) located in Salem; and			
32	(F) One (1) located in Mammoth Spring.			
33		eenth District is served b	y one (1) state district	
34	court judge.			
35		(4) The Fourteenth District judge is elected districtwide.		
36	(5) The Fourt	eenth District court has d	istrictwide jurisdiction.	

As Engrossed: H3/27/19 HB1880

1			
2	SECTION 2. Arkansas Code Title 16, Chapter 17, Subchapter 11, is		
3	amended to add an additional section to read as follows:		
4	16-17-1115. Reorganization of local district courts to state district		
5	courts as of January 1, 2025.		
6	(a)(1) Beginning January 1, 2025, the following cities and counties		
7	under this section that are currently being served by a local district court		
8	under § 16-17-901 et seq. shall be reorganized as a state district court and		
9	served by state district court judges as assigned.		
10	(2) The new state district court judgeship created by this		
11	section shall become effective January 1, 2025, and shall be placed on the		
12	ballot to be elected in the 2024 nonpartisan judicial election from the newly		
13	constructed state district court district.		
14	(3) The cities and counties that were previously served by local		
15	district courts and will be served by state district courts shall comply with		
16	the cost-sharing requirements established in § 16-17-1106, effective January		
17	<u>1, 2025.</u>		
18	(b)(1) The Fourteenth District is composed of the counties of		
19	Independence, Fulton, and Izard.		
20	(2) The Fourteenth District has six (6) departments as follows:		
21	(A) One (1) located in Batesville;		
22	(B) One (1) located in Melbourne;		
23	(C) One (1) located in Calico Rock;		
24	(D) One (1) located in Horseshoe Bend;		
25	(E) One (1) located in Salem; and		
26	(F) One (1) located in Mammoth Spring.		
27	(3) The Fourteenth District is served by one (1) state district		
28	court judge.		
29	(4) The Fourteenth District judge is elected districtwide.		
30	(5) The Fourteenth District court has districtwide jurisdiction.		
31			
32	/s/Dalby		
33			
34			
35			
36			