1	State of Arkansas
2	92nd General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2019 HR 1027
4	
5	By: Representative Womack
6	
7	HOUSE RESOLUTION
8	TO RECOGNIZE THE ARKADELPHIA BADGERS FOOTBALL TEAM
9	FOR THEIR ACHIEVEMENTS.
10	
11	
12	Subtitle
13	TO RECOGNIZE THE ARKADELPHIA BADGERS
14	FOOTBALL TEAM FOR THEIR ACHIEVEMENTS.
15	
16	
17	
18	WHEREAS, the 2018 Arkadelphia Badgers football team claimed the Class
19	4A state championship trophy after the Badgers defeated the Joe T. Robinson
20	Senators 28-0 at War Memorial Stadium in Little Rock, Arkansas, bringing the
21 22	overall season record for the Badgers to 10-5; and
22	WHEREAS, this is the second-consecutive football state championship for
24	the Badgers; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, the 2018 Arkadelphia Badgers football team began the season 0-
27	5 before finishing the season 10-5; and
28	
29	WHEREAS, the Badgers avenged their last loss of the season to the Joe
30	T. Robinson Senators by defeating the Senators in the state championship game
31	by the same number of points the Badgers lost by earlier in the season; and
32	
33	WHEREAS, the Badgers became the first high school football team in
34	state history to win a state championship by defeating 4 number one seeds in
35	their playoff series, and the first team to start the season with a record of
36	0-5 and go on to win a state championship; and



.

HR1027

1	
2	WHEREAS, the Badgers were well-led and coached by head coach J.R.
3	Eldridge, who has led the team since 2011; and
4	
5	WHEREAS, the Badgers were also supported by assistant coaches, the
6	school, and by the community; and
7	
8	NOW THEREFORE,
9	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-SECOND GENERAL
10	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
11	
12	THAT the House of Representatives congratulate the members of the
13	Arkadelphia Badgers football team on winning the 2018 Class 4A State Football
14	Championship.
15	
16	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption of this resolution, a copy shall be
17	provided to Head Coach J.R. Eldridge by the Chief Clerk of the House of
18	Representatives.
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	

2