1	State of Arkansas	A Bill		
2	92nd General Assembly	A DIII	CENATE DILL 552	
3	Regular Session, 2019		SENATE BILL 552	
4				
5	By: Senator Teague			
6 7		For An Act To Be Entitled		
8	ለህ ለርጥ ርርህር፤	AN ACT CONCERNING THE REORGANIZATION OF LOCAL		
9		DISTRICT COURTS INTO STATE DISTRICT COURTS; AND FOR		
10	OTHER PURPOSES.			
11	OIIIIN TONIO	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,		
12				
13		Subtitle		
14	CONCER	CONCERNING THE REORGANIZATION OF LOCAL		
15	DISTRICT COURTS INTO STATE DISTRICT			
16	COURTS			
17				
18				
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GEN	NERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARK	ANSAS:	
20				
21	SECTION 1. Arkans	sas Code § 16-17-1114 is amended to	o read as follows:	
22	16-17-1114. Reorganization of local district courts to state district			
23	courts as of January 1, 2029 <u>2025</u> .			
24	(a)(1) Beginning January 1, $\frac{2029}{2025}$, the following cities and			
25	counties that are currently served by local district courts pursuant to <u>under</u>			
26	§ 16-17-901 et seq. shall be reorganized as state district courts and served			
27	by state district court	judges as assigned.		
28	(2) The new	w state district court judgeships	created by this	
29	section shall become eff	fective January 1, 2029 <u>2025</u> , and	shall be placed on	
30	the ballot to be elected in the $\frac{2028}{2024}$ nonpartisan judicial election from			
31	the newly constructed state district court district.			
32	(3) The cities and counties that were previously served by local			
33	district courts and will be served by state district courts shall comply with			
34	the cost-sharing requirements established in § 16-17-1106, effective January			
35	1, 2029 <u>2025</u> .			
36	(b)(l) The Thirts	v-Sixth Judicial District shall be	composed of the	

3/12/2019 4:12:19 PM BPG444

```
1
     counties of Little River, Sevier, Pike, and Howard.
 2
                 (2) The Thirty-Sixth Judicial District shall have five (5) seven
 3
     (7) departments as follows:
 4
                       (A) One (1) located in Ashdown;
 5
                       (B) One (1) located in Foreman;
 6
                       (C) One (1) located in Winthrop;
 7
                       (D) One (1) located in De Queen; and
 8
                       (E) One (1) located in Nashville
 9
                       (F) One (1) located in Murfreesboro; and
10
                       (G) One (1) located in Glenwood.
11
                 (3) The Thirty-Sixth Judicial District shall be served by one
12
     (1) two (2) state district court judge judges.
13
                 (4) The Thirty-Sixth Judicial District judge judges shall be
14
     elected districtwide.
15
                 (5) The Thirty-Sixth Judicial District court shall have
16
     districtwide jurisdiction.
17
           (c)(1) The Fortieth District shall be composed of the counties of
18
     Clark and Pike.
19
                 (2) The Fortieth District shall have six (6) departments as
     follows:
20
21
                       (A) One (1) located in Arkadelphia;
22
                       (B) One (1) located in Amity;
                       (C) One (1) located in Caddo Valley;
23
24
                       (D) One (1) located in Gurdon;
25
                       (E) One (1) located in Murfreesboro; and
26
                       (F) One (1) located in Glenwood.
27
                 (3) The Fortieth District shall be served by one (1) state
28
     district court judge.
29
                 (4) The Fortieth District judge shall be elected districtwide.
30
                 (5) The Fortieth District court shall have districtwide
31
     jurisdiction.
32
33
34
35
36
```