1	State of Arkansas
2	92nd General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2019 SCR 3
4	
5	By: Senators G. Leding, Bond, L. Chesterfield, J. Dismang, Elliott, S. Flowers, J. Hendren, K. Ingram
6	By: Representatives Scott, Clowney, D. Whitaker, D. Garner, Godfrey, Blake, McCullough, Warren
7	
8	SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
9	TO RECOGNIZE THE CONTRIBUTIONS MADE BY NOLAN
10	RICHARDSON JR. TO THE UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS AND TO
11	REQUEST THE UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS AT FAYETTEVILLE
12	NAME THE BASKETBALL COURT IN BUD WALTON ARENA IN HIS
13	HONOR.
14	
15	
16	Subtitle
17	TO RECOGNIZE THE CONTRIBUTIONS MADE BY
18	NOLAN RICHARDSON JR. TO THE UNIVERSITY OF
19	ARKANSAS AND TO REQUEST THE UNIVERSITY OF
20	ARKANSAS AT FAYETTEVILLE NAME THE
21	BASKETBALL COURT IN BUD WALTON ARENA IN
22	HIS HONOR.
23	
24	
25	WHEREAS, Nolan Richardson Jr. was the men's head basketball coach for
26	the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville Razorbacks from 1985 until 2002;
27	and
28	
29	WHEREAS, Coach Richardson became the first Razorback basketball coach
30	to lead the team to win an NCAA Division I Men's Championship Game when the
31	Razorbacks beat the Duke University Blue Devils 76-72 on April 4, 1994, in
32	Charlotte, North Carolina; and
33	
34	WHEREAS, Coach Richardson remains the only head basketball coach in
35	American basketball history to win a Division 1 National Championship, an NIT
36	Championship, and a National Junior College Championship; and



1	
2	WHEREAS, during his tenure at the University of Arkansas at
3	Fayetteville, Coach Richardson's teams made 3 trips to the NCAA Final Four
4	and won 3 Southwest Conference Regular Season Championships, 3 Southwest
5	Conference Tournament Championships, 2 Southeastern Conference ("SEC")
6	Regular Season Championships, 4 SEC Western Division Championships, and an
7	SEC Tournament Championship; and
8	
9	WHEREAS, Coach Richardson is a three-time Southwest Conference Coach of
10	the Year, the Naismith College Coach of the Year in 1994, and the SEC Coach
11	of the Year in 1998; and
12	
13	WHEREAS, Coach Richardson was inducted into the Arkansas Sports Hall of
14	Fame in 1998, the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame in 2008, and
15	the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2014; and
16	
17	WHEREAS, Coach Richardson has the highest all-time winning percentage
18	in the history of the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville basketball team,
19	with 389 wins and only 169 losses in 17 seasons with the Razorbacks; and
20	
21	WHEREAS, in an effort to recognize and honor the significant impact of
22	Coach Richardson on Arkansas athletics, it is appropriate that the basketball
23	floor of Bud Walton Arena be named in his honor,
24	
25	NOW THEREFORE,
26	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE
27	STATE OF ARKANSAS, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:
28	
29	That the Senate recognizes and appreciates the dedication and hard work
30	Coach Nolan Richardson Jr. showed in his time as the head coach and requests
31	the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville name the basketball court in Bud
32	Walton Arena in Fayetteville, Arkansas, in his honor.
33	
34	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption, a copy shall be provided to Coach
35	Richardson and to the Chancellor of the University of Arkansas at

Fayetteville by the Secretary of the Senate.

36