1	State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H4/6/21
2	93rd General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2021 HR 1026
4	
5	By: Representatives Brooks, McCollum, Underwood
6	
7	HOUSE RESOLUTION
8	TO CONGRATULATE THE UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS AT
9	FAYETTEVILLE MEN'S ARKANSAS RAZORBACKS BASKETBALL
10	TEAM FOR QUALIFYING FOR THE ELITE EIGHT TOURNAMENT
11	FOR THE FIRST TIME SINCE 1995 AND FOR AN INCREDIBLE
12	SEASON.
13	
14	
15	Subtitle
16	TO CONGRATULATE THE UNIVERSITY OF
17	ARKANSAS AT FAYETTEVILLE MEN'S ARKANSAS
18	RAZORBACKS BASKETBALL TEAM FOR QUALIFYING
19	FOR THE ELITE EIGHT TOURNAMENT FOR THE
20	FIRST TIME SINCE 1995 AND FOR AN
21	INCREDIBLE SEASON.
22	
23	
24	WHEREAS, for the first time since 1995, the University of Arkansas at
25	Fayetteville men's Arkansas Razorbacks basketball team qualified for the
26	Elite Eight in the NCAA Division 1 Men's Basketball Tournament, held this
27	year in Indianapolis, Indiana; and
28	
29	WHEREAS, in the second round of the tournament on Sunday, March 21,
30	2021, the No. 3 seed Arkansas Razorbacks bested the No. 6 seed Texas Tech Red
31	Raiders by two (2) points for a final score of 68-66 and earned a place in
32	the Sweet Sixteen; and
33	
34	WHEREAS, the Sweet Sixteen was held on Saturday, March 27, and pitted
35	the Arkansas Razorbacks against the Oral Roberts Golden Eagles, a team the
36	Arkansas Razorbacks beat by two (2) points for a final score of 72-70; and



1	
2	WHEREAS, the win qualified the team for the Elite Eight and a matchup
3	with the No. 1 seed in the tournament, the Baylor Bears, on Monday, March 29,
4	and the Arkansas Razorbacks played a hard-fought and excellent game; and
5	
6	WHEREAS, Coach Eric Musselman and staff have done an outstanding job
7	bringing together a team primarily composed of newcomers and persevering
8	through perhaps the most challenging year in college basketball history; and
9	
10	WHEREAS, the team has reignited the fan base and instilled a sense of
11	pride throughout Arkansas by their tremendous effort and success in securing
12	a spot in the Elite Eight twenty-six (26) years after the team's last
13	appearance; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, our homegrown talent on the team includes Moses Moody, Davonte
16	"Devo" Davis, Jaylin Williams, Desi Sills, Ethan Henderson, Connor Vanover,
17	and Khalen Robinson and our transplant Arkansans who have become Arkansas
18	Razorbacks are Justin Smith, JD Notae, Vance Jackson, Jr., Jalen Tate, Emeka
19	Obukwelu, Kamani Johnson, Abayomi "Baybe" Iyiola, and Bryson Morehead,
20	
21	NOW THEREFORE,
22	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-THIRD GENERAL
23	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
24	
25	THAT the House of Representatives congratulate Coach Eric Musselman and
26	the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville men's basketball team for their
27	incredible season and success in the NCAA tournament.
28	
29	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption, a copy of the resolution be
30	provided to Coach Eric Musselman by the Chief Clerk of the House of
31	Representatives.
32	4 45 1
33	/s/Brooks
34	
35	
36	