1	State of Arkansas	A D'11	
2	93rd General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2021		SENATE BILL 729
4			
5	By: Senator M. Johnson		
6			
7		For An Act To Be Entitled	
8	AN ACT TO CHA	ANGE THE FOUR (4) CONGRESSIONA	AL DISTRICTS
9	AS A RESULT C	OF THE MOST RECENT FEDERAL DEC	CENNIAL
10	CENSUS DATA;	TO DECLARE AN EMERGENCY; AND	FOR OTHER
11	PURPOSES.		
12			
13			
14		Subtitle	
15		TO CHANGE THE FOUR (4)	
16		SIONAL DISTRICTS AS A RESULT (	
17		recent federal decennial cei	NSUS
18	DATA; Al	ND TO DECLARE AN EMERGENCY.	
19			
20	DE IM ENLOMED DV MHE CENE	NAT ACCEMBLY OF THE CHATE OF	ADIZANCA C.
21	BE IT ENACIED BY THE GENE	CRAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF	ARKANSAS:
22 23	CECTION 1 Arleana	as Code § 7-2-102 is amended t	es most as follows:
23 24		ngressional District.	to read as forflows:
25		gressional District shall be c	composed of
26		counties of Arkansas, Baxter,	_
27		tenden, Cross, Desha, Fulton,	·
28	_	Lee, <del>Lincoln,</del> Lonoke, Missis	_
29		ett, <u>Prairie,</u> Randolph, St. Fr	
30	White, and Woodruff;		1, 11, 11, 11, 11,
31		owing voting districts of Jef	ferson County as they
32	existed on January 1, 201		•
33	(A) 19	(Dunnington) voting district	<del>:                                    </del>
34		.5 (Dudley Lake) voting distri	
35	<del>(C) 2</del> 5	(Old River) voting district;	<del>;</del>
36	<del>(D) 57</del>	' (Villemont) voting district;	<del>-</del>

1	(E) P91 (Roberts) voting district;
2	(F) P851 (Humphrey) voting district; and
3	(C) P862 (Humphrey) voting district; and
4	(3) The voting districts and voting precincts of Searcy County
5	as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-
6	104(a)(4).
7	(b) The qualified electors residing in the counties and portion of
8	Jefferson County and Searcy County listed under subsection (a) of this
9	section shall elect one (1) member of the United States House of
10	Representatives.
11	
12	SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 7-2-103 is amended to read as follows:
13	7-2-103. Second Congressional District.
14	(a) The Second Congressional District shall be composed of the
15	counties of Conway, Faulkner, Perry, <u>Pope,</u> Pulaski, Saline, <u>and</u> Van Buren <del>,</del>
16	and White.
17	(b) The qualified electors residing in the counties listed under
18	subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member of the United
19	States House of Representatives.
20	
21	SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 7-2-104 is amended to read as follows:
22	7-2-104. Third Congressional District.
23	(a) The Third Congressional District shall be composed of:
24	(1) The the counties of Benton, Boone, Carroll, Marion, Pope,
25	Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Newton, Searcy, and Washington;
26	(2) The voting districts and voting precincts of Crawford County
27	as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-
28	105(a)(2);
29	(3) The following voting districts of Newton County as they
30	existed on January 1, 2011:
31	(A) Big Greek voting district;
32	(B) Dogpatch voting district;
33	(C) Grove voting district;
34	(D) Hasty voting district;
35	(E) Polk voting district;
36	(F) Richland voting district; and

1	(G) white voting district;
2	(4) The Prairie voting district of Searcy County as it existed
3	on January 1, 2011; and
4	(5) The voting districts and voting precincts of Sebastian
5	County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-
6	105(a)(5).
7	(b) The qualified electors residing in the counties and portions of
8	Crawford County, Newton County, Searcy County, and Sebastian County listed
9	under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member of the United
10	States House of Representatives.
11	
12	SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 7-2-105 is amended to read as follows:
13	7-2-105. Fourth Congressional District.
14	(a) The Fourth Congressional District shall be composed of $\div$
15	(1) The the counties of Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Clark,
16	Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Drew, Franklin, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot
17	Spring, Howard, <u>Jefferson</u> , <del>Johnson</del> , Lafayette, <u>Lincoln</u> , Little River, Logan,
18	Madison, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike, Polk, Scott, <u>Sebastian</u> ,
19	Sevier, Union, and Yell <del>;</del>
20	(2) The following voting districts of Grawford County as they
21	existed on January 1, 2011:
22	(A) Alma # 1 voting district;
23	(B) Alma # 4 voting district;
24	(C) Bidville voting district;
25	(D) Chester voting district;
26	(E) Dean Springs voting district;
27	(F) Dyer voting district;
28	(C) Eagle Crest voting district;
29	(H) Kibler voting district;
30	(I) Locke voting district;
31	(J) Mountain voting district;
32	(K) Mulberry # 1 voting district;
33	(L) Mulberry # 2 voting district;
34	(M) Mulberry # 3 voting district;
35	(N) Porter voting district;
36	(O) Vine Prairie voting district:

1	(P) Whitley voting district; and
2	(Q) Winfrey voting district;
3	(3) The voting districts and voting precincts of Jefferson
4	County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-
5	<del>102(a)(2);</del>
6	(4) The voting districts and voting precincts of Newton County
7	as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-
8	104(a)(3); and
9	(5) The following voting districts of Sebastian County as they
10	existed on January 1, 2011:
11	(A) 9-1-A voting district;
12	(B) 9-1-B voting district;
13	(C) 9-1-C voting district;
14	(D) 9-1-D voting district;
15	(E) 9-1-E voting district;
16	(F) 9-1-Q voting district;
17	(G) 9-2-E voting district;
18	(H) 9-3-E voting district;
19	(I) 9-3-F voting district;
20	(J) 9-3-G voting district;
21	(K) 9-3-H voting district;
22	(L) 9-3-I voting district;
23	(M) 9-3-J voting district;
24	(N) 9-3-K voting district;
25	(0) 9-3-L voting district; and
26	(P) 9-3-M voting district.
27	(b) The qualified electors residing in the counties and portions of
28	Crawford County, Jefferson County, Newton County, and Sebastian County listed
29	under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member of the United
30	States House of Representatives.
31	
32	SECTION 5. EMERGENCY CLAUSE. It is found and determined by the
33	General Assembly of the State of Arkansas that the General Assembly is
34	responsible for establishing the four (4) United States Congressional
35	Districts in the state; that the United States Congressional Districts are
36	based on the information provided by the federal decennial census by the

T	United States Bureau of the Census; that the lederal decennial census data
2	delivery was delayed; that the establishment of the four (4) United States
3	Congressional Districts is necessary to provide equal representation of the
4	citizens of Arkansas in the United States Congress; and that this act is
5	immediately necessary because the establishment of the four (4) United States
6	Congressional Districts must occur in adequate time for the candidates to
7	file for office and for the citizens of Arkansas to have a fair election.
8	Therefore, an emergency is declared to exist, and this act being immediately
9	necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health, and safety shall
10	become effective on:
11	(1) The date of its approval by the Governor;
12	(2) If the bill is neither approved nor vetoed by the Governor,
13	the expiration of the period of time during which the Governor may veto the
14	<pre>bill; or</pre>
15	(3) If the bill is vetoed by the Governor and the veto is
16	overridden, the date the last house overrides the veto.
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	