1	State of Arkansas
2	93rd General Assembly
3	Third Extraordinary Session, 2022 HR 1002
4	
5	By: Representatives Ladyman, Tosh, Cavenaugh, Rye, B. Smith
6	
7	HOUSE RESOLUTION
8	TO RECOGNIZE THE JONESBORO HIGH SCHOOL HURRICANES
9	BOYS BASKETBALL TEAM AS THE 2022 CLASS 5A STATE
10	CHAMPIONS AND THE SECOND CONSECUTIVE CLASS 5A STATE
11	CHAMPIONS.
12	
13	
14	Subtitle
15	TO RECOGNIZE THE JONESBORO HIGH SCHOOL
16	HURRICANES BOYS BASKETBALL TEAM AS THE
17	2022 CLASS 5A STATE CHAMPIONS AND THE
18	SECOND CONSECUTIVE CLASS 5A STATE
19	CHAMPIONS.
20	
21	
22	WHEREAS, the 2021-2022 Jonesboro High School Hurricanes boys basketball
23	team netted the Class 5A Boys Basketball State Championship after defeating
24	the Marion High School Patriots boys basketball team with a score of 55-28 at
25	the Bank OZK Arena in Hot Springs, Arkansas, on Thursday, March 10, 2022; and
26	
27	WHEREAS, with this win, the Hurricanes earned their second consecutive
28	championship; and
29	
30	WHEREAS, the Hurricanes finished the season with a 28-3 record and was
31	ranked as number one (1) overall in the final Arkansas Sports Media poll, as
32	number twenty (20) in the 50-teams MaxPreps national rankings, and as number
33	twenty-two (22) in the SBLive/Sports Illustrated Power 25 poll; and
34	
35	WHEREAS, the Hurricanes included Quion Williams, Amarion Wilson, Devin
36	Smith, Deion Buford-Wesson, Kylen Kelly, Devarius Montgomery, John Paul



1 Pickens, Phillip Tillman, Isaac Harrell, James Blair, Caleb Chew, Chris 2 Stacy, Jesse Washington, Quinshaud Neal, Ty Spicer, Kavon Pointer, Terrance 3 Brown, Markevious Pickett, Kellen Mullins, and EJ Phillips; and 4 5 WHEREAS, the Hurricanes were led by Head Coach Wes Swift and Assistant 6 Coaches Sammie Lewis and Kenton Weaver; and 7 8 WHEREAS, Head Coach Wes Swift received the Lowell Manning Award for the 9 most outstanding boys coach in any sport across the state for the second time 10 and topped the list of outstanding coaches for the 2021-2022 athletic seasons 11 by the Arkansas High School Coaches Association; and 12 13 WHEREAS, Quion Williams, Jesse Washington, and Isaac Harrell made all-14 state for the 2021-2022 school year; and 15 16 WHEREAS, six (6) of the players, Quion Williams, Jesse Washington, 17 Isaac Harrell, Amarion Wilson, Kavon Pointer, and Deion Buford-Wesson, were 18 named all-conference for the year; and 19 20 WHEREAS, Quion Williams was named the most valuable player of the Class 21 5A State Tournament, 22 23 NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-THIRD GENERAL 24 25 ASSEMBLY: 26 27 THAT the House of Representatives of the Ninety-Third General Assembly 28 recognize the Jonesboro High School Hurricanes boys basketball team as the 29 2022 Class 5A State Champions and the second consecutive Class 5A state 30 champions. 31 32 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption of this resolution, a copy be 33 provided to Head Coach Wes Swift and the Jonesboro High School Hurricanes 34 boys basketball team by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives. 35

36