1	State of Arkansas
2	94th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2023 HCMR 1001
4	
5	By: Representatives Ray, Achor
6	By: Senators J. English, M. Johnson
7	
8	HOUSE CONCURRENT MEMORIAL
9	RESOLUTION
10	IN RESPECTFUL MEMORY OF ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF
11	CORRECTIONS SERGEANT JOSHUA CAUDELL.
12	
13	
14	Subtitle
15	IN RESPECTFUL MEMORY OF ARKANSAS
16	DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS SERGEANT JOSHUA
17	CAUDELL.
18	
19	
20	WHEREAS, on February 28, 2022, Arkansas Department of Corrections Field
21	Sergeant Joshua Caudell died as a result of wounds incurred while pursuing a
22	gunman who had fired shots at Pulaski County deputies near Maumelle,
23	Arkansas; and
24	
25	WHEREAS, while tracking the suspect with his K-9 unit, Sgt. Caudell was
26	fatally shot as he looked beneath a trailer where the gunman was hiding; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, Sgt. Caudell served the State of Arkansas for nearly a decade
29	through his employment at the Tucker Unit of the Arkansas Department of
30	Corrections; and
31	
32	WHEREAS, although his unwavering commitment to protecting the public
33	and his dedication to duty routinely put him in harm's way, Sgt. Caudell
34	served with honor and distinction despite the personal dangers he faced; and
35	
36	WHEREAS, his service and courage reflect the outstanding character and



1	neroism of both correctional and law enforcement officers; and
2	
3	WHEREAS, Sgt. Caudell was a devoted husband, father, and son and a
4	respected member of the Tucker community and Jefferson County, Arkansas.
5	
6	NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-
7	FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS, THE SENATE CONCURRING
8	THEREIN:
9	
10	THAT the members of the House of Representatives express sincere
11	condolences to the family of Correctional Sergeant Joshua Caudell and commend
12	his heroic actions and outstanding contributions to the State of Arkansas.
13	
14	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption of this resolution, a copy shall be
15	transmitted to the family of Sergeant Joshua Caudell by the Chief Clerk of
16	the House of Representatives.
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33 34	
34 35	
36	
20	