1	State of Arkansas						
2	94th General Assembly						
3	Regular Session, 2023 HR 1009						
4							
5	By: Representative Walker						
6							
7	HOUSE RESOLUTION						
8	TO RECOGNIZE THE IZARD COUNTY HIGH SCHOOL COUGARS						
9	FOOTBALL TEAM AS THE 2022 SANCTIONED 8-MAN STATE						
10	CHAMPIONS IN THEIR FIRST YEAR OF VARSITY FOOTBALL.						
11							
12							
13	Subtitle						
14	TO RECOGNIZE THE IZARD COUNTY HIGH SCHOOL						
15	COUGARS FOOTBALL TEAM AS THE 2022						
16	SANCTIONED 8-MAN STATE CHAMPIONS IN THEIR						
17	FIRST YEAR OF VARSITY FOOTBALL.						
18							
19	WHEREAS, the 2022 Izard County High School Cougars football team won						
20	the Arkansas Activities Association sanctioned 8-Man Football State						
21	Championship after defeating the Rector High School Cougars, thirty-six (36)						
22	to twenty-six (26), at War Memorial Stadium in Little Rock, Arkansas, on						
23	Thursday, December 1, 2022; and						
24							
25	WHEREAS, with this win, the Izard County High School Cougars earned a						
26	state championship sanctioned by the Arkansas Activities Association in their						
27	first year of varsity football; and						
28							
29	WHEREAS, the Izard County High School Cougars completed the season with						
30	a 9-2 overall record and an unbeaten 5-0 conference record; and						
31							
32	WHEREAS, the Izard County High School Cougars included Malachi Cruz,						
33	Wyatt Buchanan, Tyler Hill, Dakoda Townsley, Noah Stevenson, Garrett Roberts,						
34	Gaven Stephens, Xander McCandlis, Jesse Warden, Jameson Chapman, Tyler						
35	Morehead, Adam Morgan, Tristin Wood, Porter Burton, Noah Mosley, Justin						
36	Brewer, Ashton Grisham, Archer Booth, Micah Olson, Chase Chapman, Brody						



.

1 Hightower, Rico Cruz, Evan Ogle, Emanuele Scorza, Vincent Modi, Vincent Wase, 2 Vincent Fobker, and Lucas Berchert; and 3 4 WHEREAS, the Izard County High School Cougars were led by Head Coach 5 Jared Johnson, and assistant coaches Carlton Hill, Brody Ninemire, David 6 Jones, and Kyle McCandlis; and 7 8 WHEREAS, Head Coach Jared Johnson received the Hooten's Arkansas Farm 9 Bureau 8-Man Coach of the Year Award for the most outstanding 8-Man Football 10 coach in the state; and 11 12 WHEREAS, Malachi Cruz, Wyatt Buchanan, and Tyler Hill were named all-13 state and Dakota Townsley was named honorable mention all-state; and 14 15 WHEREAS, Xander McCandlis and Jesse Warden were named honorable mention 16 all-conference; 17 18 WHEREAS, Malachi Cruz, Wyatt Buchanan, Tyler Hill, Dakoda Townsley, 19 Noah Stevenson, Garrett Roberts, and Gaven Stephens, were named all-20 conference; and 21 22 WHEREAS, Jameson Chapman was selected as the Brandon Burlsworth's 23 Player of the Game in the State Championship Game; and 24 25 WHEREAS, Malachi Cruz was named the most valuable player in the 26 sanctioned 8-Man Football State Championship Game, 27 28 NOW THEREFORE, 29 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL 30 ASSEMBLY: 31 32 THAT the House of Representatives of the Ninety-Fourth General Assembly recognize the Izard County High School Cougars football team as the 2022 33 34 Sanctioned 8-Man Football State Champions. 35 36 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption of this resolution, a copy be

2

1/25/2023 2:07:21 PM MAG010

1	provided	to Head	Coach Jare	d Johnson	and the I	zard Count	y High School	Cougars
2	football	team by	the Chief	Clerk of t	he House	of Represe	ntatives.	
3								
4								
5								
6								
7								
8								
9								
10								
11								
12								
13								
14								
15								
16								
17								
18								
19								
20								
21								
22								
23								
24								
25								
26								
27								
28								
29								
30								
31								
32								
33								
34 25								
35								
36								