1 2	Λ \mathbf{D}_{1}^{2}	
3		SENATE BILL 370
4		SERVITE BIBE 370
5		Hill, M. McKee, J. Payton
6	6 By: Representatives Beck, Beaty Jr., Bentley, Long, Pill	ington
7	7	
8	8 For An Act To	Be Entitled
9	AN ACT CONCERNING THE SCHOOLS OF LAW UNDER THE	
10	10 UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS; AND F	OR OTHER PURPOSES.
11	11	
12	12	
13	13 Subtit	le
14	14 CONCERNING THE SCHOOLS C	F LAW UNDER THE
15	15 UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS.	
16	16	
17	17	
18	18 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF	THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
19	19	
20	20 SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 6-64-60	2 is amended to read as follows:
21	6-64-602. Establishment - Name - Operation.	
22	22 <u>(a)</u> There is established a full-ti	ne law school, to be operated in
23	Little Rock, Pulaski County, Arkansas, under the control and direction of the	
24	University of Arkansas at Little Rock, to be known as the University of	
25	25 Arkansas at Little Rock William H. Bowen	School of Law, and to offer classes
26	of legal instruction both in the daytime	and in the evening.
27	27 <u>(b) The Dean of the University of .</u>	Arkansas at Fayetteville School of
28	28 Law and the Dean of the University of Ark	ansas at Little Rock William H.
29	29 <u>Bowen School of Law shall:</u>	
30	30 <u>(1) Work to combine at least</u>	the following offices of both the
31	31 <u>University of Arkansas at Fayetteville Sc</u>	nool of Law and the University of
32	32 Arkansas at Little Rock William H. Bowen	School of Law, while ensuring
33	33 <u>adequate and comparable services at each</u>	school:
34	34 <u>(A) The administrative</u>	functions of the Office of
35	35 Admissions;	
36	36 <u>(B) The Office of Acad</u>	emic Affairs or its equivalent;

As Engrossed: S4/3/23 SB370

1	(C) The Office of Student Affairs or its equivalent;	
2	(D) The Office of Administrative Services or its	
3	equivalent;	
4	(E) The Office of Career Services or its equivalent;	
5	(F) The Office of Externship Programs or its equivalent;	
6	(G) The Office of External Relations or its equivalent; and	
7	(H) The Office of Financial Aid or its equivalent; and	
8	(4)(A) Work to ensure there is a minimum of a twenty-five	
9	percent (25%) reduction in costs following the merger of the offices listed	
10	under subdivision (b)(3) of this section between the University of Arkansas	
11	at Fayetteville School of Law and the University of Arkansas at Little Rock	
12	William H. Bowen School of Law.	
13	(B) The Dean of the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville	
14	School of Law and the Dean of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock	
15	William H. Bowen School of Law shall annually report to the Legislative	
16	Council:	
17	(i) The expenditures of all merged offices between	
18	the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville School of Law and the University	
19	of Arkansas at Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law both before and	
20	after the merger established by this section;	
21	(ii) The titles, functions, and salaries for each	
22	employee of each law school, including detailed objective and comparable-	
23	worth justifications for each employee's total compensation; and	
24	(iii) Detailed objective and comparable-worth	
25	justifications for the total compensation for the Dean of the University of	
26	Arkansas at Fayetteville School of Law and the Dean of the University of	
27	Arkansas at Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law.	
28	(c) The merger of the offices required under subdivision (b)(3) of	
29	this section shall not alter the status of a faculty member of the University	
30	of Arkansas at Fayetteville School of Law or the University of Arkansas at	
31	Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law, including:	
32	(1) Remaining employed at his or her respective school;	
33	(2) Retaining his or her tenure or tenure-track status;	
34	<u>and</u>	
35	(3) Continuing to be subject to his or her respective	
36	campus's policies.	