1 2	State of Arkansas 94th General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2023		SENATE BILL 373
4			
5	By: Senator Caldwell		
6	By: Representative J. Moore		
7			
8	For An Act To Be Entitled		
9	AN ACT CONCERNING THE REORGANIZATION OF LOCAL		
10	DISTRICT CO	OURTS TO CREATE THE SIXTEENTH JUDICIA	L
11	DISTRICT OF	F THE STATE DISTRICT COURT SYSTEM; TO	ADD
12	AN ADDITION	NAL JUDGESHIP TO THE SIXTEENTH JUDICI	AL
13	DISTRICT OF	F THE STATE DISTRICT COURT SYSTEM; AN	D FOR
14	OTHER PURPO	OSES.	
15			
16			
17		Subtitle	
18	CONCE	RNING THE REORGANIZATION OF LOCAL	
19	DISTR	ICT COURTS TO CREATE THE SIXTEENTH	
20	JUDIC	IAL DISTRICT OF THE STATE DISTRICT	
21	COURT	SYSTEM.	
22			
23			
24	BE IT ENACTED BY THE G	ENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKAN	SAS:
25			
26		nsas Code § 16-17-904 is repealed.	
27		sas County District Courts.	
28		unty shall have the following distric	<del>t courts and</del>
29	<del>judges:</del>		
30		orthern District shall have:	
31		One (1) district court located in St	uttgart; and
32		One (1) district judge; and	
33		e Southern District shall have one (1	<del>) district court</del>
34 25	with three (3) departments:		
35 36		(i) One (1) located in DeWitt;	ı
1D		······································	

```
1
                             (iii) One (1) located in St. Charles.
 2
                       (B) All three (3) departments are to be served by one (1)
 3
    judge.
 4
          (b) The judge of any district court located in Arkansas County shall
 5
    be elected by the electors of the judicial district in which the court is
 6
    located.
 7
          (c) In Arkansas County, the jurisdiction of the district court shall
8
    be limited to the judicial district in which the court is located.
9
           SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 16-17-915 is repealed.
10
11
          16-17-915. Monroe County District Court.
12
          (a)(1) Monroe County shall have one (1) district court with three (3)
13
    departments as follows:
14
                       (A) One (1) located in Brinkley;
15
                       (B) One (1) located in Clarendon; and
                       (C) One (1) located in Holly Grove.
16
17
                 (2)(A) The department in Brinkley is to be served by one (1)
18
    judge.
19
                       (B) The two (2) departments in Clarendon and Holly Grove
20
    are to be served by one (1) judge.
21
          (b) The judges of the Monroe County District Court shall be elected
22
    countywide.
23
          (c) The Monroe County District Court shall have countywide
24
    jurisdiction.
25
26
           SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 16-17-1115(a)(2), concerning the
27
    reorganization of local district courts to state district courts, is amended
     to read as follows:
28
29
                 (2) The new state district court judgeship judgeships created by
30
     this section shall become effective January 1, 2025, and shall be placed on
31
     the ballot to be elected in the 2024 nonpartisan judicial election from the
32
    newly constructed state district court district districts.
33
34
           SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 16-17-1115(c), concerning the Sixteenth
35
    District of the state district court system, is amended to read as follows:
36
           (c)(1) The Sixteenth Judicial District shall be composed of the
```

1	counties of Monroe and Arkansas.		
2	(2) The Sixteenth <u>Judicial</u> District shall have seven (7)		
3	departments as follows:		
4	(A) One (1) located in Stuttgart;		
5	(B) One (1) located in De Witt DeWitt;		
6	(C) One (1) located in Gillett;		
7	(D) One (1) located in St. Charles;		
8	(E) One (1) located in Brinkley;		
9	(F) One (1) located in Clarendon; and		
10	(G) One (1) located in Holly Grove.		
11	(3)(A) The Sixteenth Judicial District shall be served by one		
12	(1) two (2) state district court judge judges.		
13	(B) One (1) judgeship shall be designated as Division $1$		
14	and one (1) judgeship shall be designated as Division 2.		
15	(4) The assignment of judges to departments under subdivision		
16	(c)(2) of this section shall be determined by the mutual agreement of the		
17	state district court judges of the Sixteenth Judicial District.		
18	(4)(5) The Sixteenth Judicial District judge judges shall be		
19	elected districtwide.		
20	(5)(6) The Sixteenth Judicial District court shall have		
21	districtwide jurisdiction.		
22			
23	SECTION 5. EFFECTIVE DATE. Sections 1 and 2 of this act are effective		
24	on January 1, 2025.		
25			
26			
27			
28			
29			
30			
31			
32			
33			
34			
35			
36			