## Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to the Arkansas Constitution.

1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: S	53/27/23
2	94th General Assembly		
3	Regular Session, 2023		SJR 15
4			
5	By: Senator B. King		
6			
7	SE	NATE JOINT RE	SOLUTION
8	AN AMENDMENT	TO THE ARKANSAS CO	NSTITUTION CONCERNING
9	THE MEMBERSHI	P OF THE STATE HIG	HWAY COMMISSION; AND
10	PROVIDING FOR	R THE APPOINTMENT O	F MEMBERS OF THE STATE
11	HIGHWAY COMMI	SSION FROM CERTAIN	COUNTIES OF THE
12	STATE.		
13			
14			
15		Subtitle	
16	A CONST	ITUTIONAL AMENDMENT	CONCERNING THE
17	MEMBERSI	HIP OF THE STATE HI	GHWAY
18	COMMISS	LON.	
19			
20			
21	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SEN	ATE OF THE NINETY-	FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE
22	STATE OF ARKANSAS, AND BY	THE HOUSE OF REPR	ESENTATIVES, A MAJORITY OF ALL
23	MEMBERS ELECTED TO EACH H	OUSE AGREEING THER	ETO:
24			
25	THAT the following	is proposed as an	amendment to the Constitution of
26	the State of Arkansas, an	nd upon being submi	tted to the electors of the state
27	for approval or rejection	at the next gener	al election for Representatives
28	and Senators, if a majori	ty of the electors	voting thereon at the election
29	adopt the amendment, the	amendment shall be	come a part of the Constitution of
30	the State of Arkansas, to	wit:	
31			
32	SECTION 1. Arkansa	as Constitution, Am	endment 42, § 2, is amended to
33	read as follows:		
34	§ 2. Qualifications	and appointment o	f members — Terms of office <del>of</del>
35	first commission.		
36	<u>(a)</u> <del>Within ten day</del>	<del>'s after the conven</del>	ing of the General Assembly of the



As Engrossed: S3/27/23

1 State of Arkansas in the year 1953, the The Governor, by and with the advice 2 and consent of the Senate, shall appoint five (5) persons who are qualified 3 electors of the State to constitute the State Highway Commission for terms of 4 two, four, six, eight and ten years respectively. The terms of the persons so appointed shall be determined by lot. The Commissioners to be appointed from 5 6 the State at large; provided, however, that no two Commissioners shall be 7 appointed from any single Congressional District. 8 (b) The Commissioners shall be appointed as follows: 9 (1) One (1) Commissioner from Benton, Washington, Crawford, or 10 Sebastian counties; 11 (2) One (1) Commissioner from Miller, Lafayette, Columbia, 12 Union, Calhoun, Ouachita, Nevada, Hempstead, Little River, Sevier, Howard, 13 Pike, Clark, Dallas, Grant, Hot Spring, Garland, Montgomery, Polk, Scott, 14 Logan, Yell, or Perry counties; 15 (3) One (1) Commissioner from Faulkner, Pulaski, or Saline 16 counties; 17 (4) One (1) Commissioner from Mississippi, Poinsett, Cross, 18 Crittenden, St. Francis, Lee, Phillips, Desha, Chicot, Ashley, Bradley, Drew, 19 Lincoln, Cleveland, Jefferson, Arkansas, Monroe, Prairie, Lonoke, White, 20 Woodruff, or Jackson counties; and 21 (5) One (1) Commissioner from Carroll, Boone, Marion, Baxter, 22 Fulton, Izard, Sharp, Lawrence, Randolph, Clay, Greene, Craighead, Madison, 23 Newton, Searcy, Stone, Independence, Franklin, Johnson, Pope, Conway, Van 24 Buren, or Cleburne counties. 25 (c)(1) In the event of rejection by the Senate of a person whose name 26 has been so submitted, the Governor shall within five (5) days after receipt 27 of written notice from the Secretary of the Senate of such rejection submit 28 the name of another appointee to fill such vacancy. 29 (2) In the event the Governor should within five (5) days 30 thereafter fail to appoint or fail to submit to the Senate for confirmation 31 the name of any person to be appointed, the Senate shall proceed to make the appointment of its own choice. 32 (d) The initial Commissioners appointed under this section shall draw 33 34 lots so that one (1) Commissioner serves a term of six (6) years, one (1) 35 Commissioner serves a term of seven (7) years, one (1) Commissioner serves a 36 term of eight (8) years, one (1) Commissioner serves a term of nine (9)

2

03-27-2023 09:51:47 MBM095

As Engrossed: S3/27/23

1	years, and one (1) Commissioner serves a term of ten (10) years.			
2	(2) All subsequently appointed Commissioners shall serve a term			
3	of ten (10) years.			
4	(e)(1) The General Assembly may, by a three-fifths (3/5) vote of each			
5	house, amend subsection (b) of this section in the regular session following			
6	each federal decennial census.			
7	(2) If the General Assembly amends subsection (b) of this			
8	section in a regular session, new Commissioners shall be appointed.			
9	(3) An act amending subsection (b) of this section shall specify			
10	when the terms of newly appointed Commissioners shall commence and the terms			
11	of prior appointed Commissioners shall be cut short and terminate.			
12				
13	SECTION 2. Arkansas Constitution, Amendment 42, § 3, is repealed.			
14	<del>§ 3. Terms of office of members.</del>			
15	Upon the expiration of the foregoing terms of said Commissioners, a			
16	successor shall be appointed by the Governor in the manner provided for in			
17	Section 2 for a term of ten years, which term shall thereafter be for each			
18	member of the Commission.			
19				
20	SECTION 3. EFFECTIVE DATE AND IMPLEMENTATION.			
21	(a) This amendment is effective on and after November 6, 2024.			
22	<u>(b) On January 1, 2025:</u>			
23	(1) The terms of the persons serving on the State Highway			
24	Commission prior to January 1, 2025, shall be cut short and terminate; and			
25	(2) The terms of the members of the commission appointed under			
26	Section 1 of this amendment shall commence.			
27				
28	SECTION 4. BALLOT TITLE AND POPULAR NAME. <u>When this proposed</u>			
29	amendment is submitted to the electors of this state on the general election			
30	<u>ballot:</u>			
31	(1) The title of this Joint Resolution shall be the ballot			
32	title; and			
33	(2) The popular name shall be "A Constitutional Amendment			
34	Providing for the Appointment of Members of the State Highway Commission from			
35	<u>Certain Counties of the State".</u>			
36				

3

1	/s/B. King	
2		
3		
4		
5		
6		
7		
8		
9		
10		
11		
12		
13		
14		
15		
16		
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
24		
25		
26		
27		
28		
29		
30		
31		
32		
33		
34		
35		
36		

4