1	State of Arkansas
2	94th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2023 SR 46
4	
5	By: Senator K. Hammer
6	
7	SENATE RESOLUTION
8	TO RECOGNIZE THE BENTON HIGH SCHOOL PANTHER GIRLS
9	VOLLEYBALL TEAM, THE BENTON HIGH SCHOOL PANTHER BOYS
10	GOLF TEAM, THE BENTON HIGH SCHOOL PANTHER
11	CHEERLEADING TEAM, AND BENTON HIGH SCHOOL PANTHER
12	WRESTLER HAVEN OWENS.
13	
14	
15	Subtitle
16	TO RECOGNIZE THE BENTON HIGH SCHOOL
17	PANTHER GIRLS VOLLEYBALL TEAM, THE BENTON
18	HIGH SCHOOL PANTHER BOYS GOLF TEAM, THE
19	BENTON HIGH SCHOOL PANTHER CHEERLEADING
20	TEAM, AND BENTON HIGH SCHOOL PANTHER
21	WRESTLER HAVEN OWENS.
22	
23	WHEREAS, on October 29, 2022, the Benton High School Panther Girls
24	Volleyball Team won the 2022 Class 5A State Volleyball Championship in Hot
25	Springs, Arkansas; and
26	
27	WHEREAS, the Benton High School Panther Girls Volleyball Team were the
28	2022 5A Conference Champions, had a conference record of 14-0, and won the
29	Little Rock Christian Invitational and the Fort Smith Invitational; and
30	
31	WHEREAS, Abigail Lagemann was named the Most Valuable Player of the
32	Volleyball State Championship and named to the All-State Team and Henley
33	Hooks, Kenzie Garrett, and Khenedi Guest were named to the All-State Team;
34	and
35	
36	WHEREAS, the Benton High School Panther Girls Volleyball Team is

1	coached by Head Coach Michelle Shoppach and the assistant coaches are Heidi
2	Cox, Brooke White, and Suzanne Reggins; and
3	
4	WHEREAS, Head Coach Shoppach stated "This team had a swagger about
5	them, they did not get flustered. They were able to handle adversity and
6	rally together to slay their opponents. The chaos we created in practice made
7	it easy to handle game situations. Their motto was FTP, Feed-the-Panther.";
8	and
9	
10	WHEREAS, the Benton High School Panther Girls Volleyball Team includes
11	Gracie Aldebot, Emmaline Armstrong, Karlee Backus, Elle Bolding, Addie Burns,
12	Aubrey Chrestman, Delaney Cooper, Hannah Edington, Ellie Ferguson, Kam Flynn,
13	Kenzie Garrett, Khenedi Guest, Anna Grace Hardy, Evie Hendrix, Henley Hooks,
14	Drew Hudspeth, Abigail Lagemann, Olivia Little, Lexi Mahan, Presley Pallette,
15	Addy-Mae Seagraves, Parker Sollars, and Parker Stearns; and
16	
17	WHEREAS, on October 4, 2022, the Benton High School Panther Boys Golf
18	Team won the Class 5A Boys State Golf Championship in Benton, Arkansas; and
19	
20	WHEREAS, the Benton High School Panther Boys Golf Team won the state
21	championship with a score of two hundred ninety-eight (298) points and won
22	the conference championship with a score of three hundred one (301); and
23	
24	WHEREAS, Paxton Lane was a winner of the overall championship and was
25	named to the All-State and All-Conference Teams; and
26	
27	WHEREAS, Eli Cowden, Elias Payne, and Mason McDaniel, were named to the
28	All-Conference Team and Elias Payne, Maddox Davis, and Mason McDaniel, were
29	named to the All-State Team; and
30	
31	WHEREAS, the Head Coach for the Benton High School Panthers Boys Golf
32	Team is Mark Balisterri; and
33	
34	WHEREAS, the Benton High School Panther Boys Golf Team includes Eli
35	Cowden, Whit Warford, Dominic Miceli, Mason McDaniel, Maddox Davis, Elias
36	Payne, Gavyn Benson, J. Thomas Pepper, Paxton Lane, Joe Duke, Grant Warford,

1	and Cameron Barton; and
2	
3	WHEREAS, the Benton High School Panthers Cheerleading Team won the 2022
4	Class 5A State Cheerleading Championship; and
5	
6	WHEREAS, with this win, the Benton High School Panthers Cheerleading
7	Team repeated as Class 5A State Cheerleading Champions and placed second in
8	the 2022 State Cheerleading Championships; and
9	
10	WHEREAS, the Benton High School Panthers Cheerleading Team placed 6th
11	out of twenty-nine (29) teams in the Medium Division II at the Universal
12	Cheerleading Association National High School Cheerleading Championship; and
13	
14	WHEREAS, the members of the Benton High School Panthers Cheerleading
15	Team are not only outstanding athletes, but also gave back to their community
16	and the team has a combined total of over two hundred (200) hours of
17	community service; and
18	
19	WHEREAS, the Benton High School Panthers Cheerleading Team is coached
20	by Head Coach Jaime Bunting and the assistant coach is Colton Watson; and
21	
22	WHEREAS, the Benton High School Panthers Cheerleading Team includes
23	Addie Harding, Anna Grace Hardy, Abby Harrison, Cadence Clement, Kade
24	Robbins, Lily Tindall, Maggie Armstrong, Maggie Bacon, Taylor Doggett, Zoey
25	Hawkins, Lizzie Bacon, Macy White, Addison Golden, Claire Cornwell, Lily
26	Cavaneau, Preslee Hambric, Sailor Holland, Will Tudor, Allie Stoll, Macy
27	Sparks, Amy Anthony, Brooklynn Bailey, Callia Givens, Emily Richardson, Faith
28	Dougherty, Hannah Still, and Madyson Bright; and
29	
30	WHEREAS, on February 25, 2023, Haven Owens with the Benton High School
31	Panther Wrestling Team won the one hundred thirty-eight (138) pound weight
32	class individual wrestling championship at the Jack Stephens Center at the
33	University of Arkansas at Little Rock; and
34	
35	WHEREAS, Haven Owens was coached by Sam Cowling, Jake Brabham, and
36	Russell Ottons

1	
2	NOW THEREFORE,
3	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE
4	STATE OF ARKANSAS:
5	
6	THAT the Senate recognize the Benton High School Panther Girls
7	Volleyball Team, the Benton High School Panther Boys Golf Team, the Benton
8	High School Panther Cheerleading Team, and Benton High School Wrestler Haven
9	Owens for winning their respective Class 5A State Championships.
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	