1	State of Arkansas
2	94th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2023 SR 48
4	
5	By: Senator F. Love
6	
7	SENATE RESOLUTION
8	TO RECOGNIZE THE UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS AT LITTLE
9	ROCK TROJANS WOMEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM FOR BEING THE
10	2023 OHIO VALLEY CONFERENCE REGULAR SEASON CONFERENCE
11	CHAMPIONS.
12	
13	
14	Subtitle
15	TO RECOGNIZE THE UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS
16	AT LITTLE ROCK TROJANS WOMEN'S BASKETBALL
17	TEAM FOR BEING THE 2023 OHIO VALLEY
18	CONFERENCE REGULAR SEASON CONFERENCE
19	CHAMPIONS.
20	
21	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock Trojans Women's
22	Basketball Team are the 2022-2023 Ohio Valley Conference Regular Season
23	Champions; and
24	
25	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock Trojans Women's
26	Basketball Team became the first team in the Ohio Valley Conference to win
27	the league title in its first year as members of the league; and
28	
29	WHEREAS, the regular season championship marked the thirteenth
30	conference title in the past sixteen (16) years and the eighteenth
31	championship won overall for the University of Arkansas at Little Rock
32	Trojans Women's Basketball Team; and
33	
34	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock Trojans Women's
35	Basketball Team reached the semifinals of the Ohio Valley Conference
36	Tournament for the fifteenth time in sixteen (16) years, the third-longest



1	stretch in the nation; and
2	
3	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock Trojans Women's
4	Basketball Team registered an Ohio Valley Conference record of forty-six and
5	thirty-three one hundredths (46.33) points allowed per game in league play,
6	while the Ohio Valley Conference record was fifty and nine-tenths (50.9)
7	points allowed per game overall; and
8	
9	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock Trojans Women's
10	Basketball Team recorded the program's fourth win over a Southeastern
11	Conference program in the past three (3) seasons; and
12	
13	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock Trojans Women's
14	Basketball Team was named the National Team of the Week by the U.S.
15	Basketball Writer's Association for the week ending Sunday, February 19,
16	2023; and
17	
18	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock Trojans Women's
19	Basketball Team player Angelique Francis was named the 2023 recipient of the
20	Pat Summitt Most Courageous Award and she will receive this award at the
21	Women's Final Four Tournament; and
22	
23	WHEREAS, Head Coach Joe Foley was named the Ohio Valley Conference
24	Coach of the Year and this was his sixth Coach of the Year honor; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock Trojans Women's
27	Basketball Team player Sali Kourouma was named the Ohio Valley Conference
28	Player of the Year and this is the fourth Player of the Year honor a Trojan
29	has won; and
30	
31	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock Trojans Women's
32	Basketball Team members received the following awarda: Sali Kourouma was
33	named First Team All-Ohio Valley Conference; Tia Harvey was named Second Team
34	All-Ohio Valley Conference; and Jaiyah Harris-Smith named to the Ohio Valley
35	Conference All-Newcomer Team; and

1	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock Trojans Women's
2	Basketball Team finished the season undefeated at home in Ohio Valley
3	Conference League play; and
4	
5	WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock Trojans Women's
6	Basketball Team played Southern Methodist University in the first round of
7	the Women's National Invitation Tournament,
8	
9	NOW THEREFORE,
10	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE
11	STATE OF ARKANSAS:
12	
13	THAT the Senate commend the University of Arkansas at Little Rock
14	Trojans Women's Basketball Team for being the 2023 Ohio Valley Conference
15	Regular Season Champions.
16	
17	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption of this resolution, a copy shall be
18	transmitted to Head Coach Joe Foley by the Secretary of the Senate.
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
2425	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	