1	State of Arkansas
2	94th General Assembly
3	Fiscal Session, 2024 HR 1037
4	
5	By: Representative Haak
6	
7	HOUSE RESOLUTION
8	TO RECOGNIZE THE JOHN BROWN UNIVERSITY WOMEN'S
9	BASKETBALL GOLDEN EAGLES AS THE 2024 SOONER ATHLETIC
10	CONFERENCE WOMEN'S BASKETBALL CHAMPIONS.
11	
12	
13	Subtitle
14	TO RECOGNIZE THE JOHN BROWN UNIVERSITY
15	WOMEN'S BASKETBALL GOLDEN EAGLES AS THE
16	2024 SOONER ATHLETIC CONFERENCE WOMEN'S
17	BASKETBALL CHAMPIONS.
18	
19	
20	WHEREAS, for the first time in history, the John Brown University
21	Golden Eagles Women's basketball team earned the 2024 Sooner Athletic
22	Conference Basketball Championship after defeating the Langston University
23	Lady Lions 53-42 on March 5, 2024, at the Sid Richardson Center in Fort
24	Worth, Texas; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, the victory of the John Brown University Golden Eagles women's
27	basketball team in the conference championship game was its twenty-sixth
28	consecutive win; and
29	
30	WHEREAS, the John Brown University Golden Eagles women's basketball
31	team finished the season with an overall record of 28-3; and
32	
33	WHEREAS, Tarrah Stephens was named Tournament Most Outstanding Player,
34	scoring a game-high twenty-six (26) points and making eleven (11) rebounds;
35	and
36	



.

1	WHEREAS, the John Brown University Golden Eagles women's basketball
2	team was led by Head Coach Jeff Soderquist; and
3	
4	WHEREAS, the victory of the John Brown University Golden Eagles women's
5	basketball team in the conference championship game is owed to its hard work
6	and dedication and the leadership of Head Coach Jeff Soderquist,
7	
8	NOW THEREFORE,
9	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL
10	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
11	
12	THAT the House of Representatives recognize the John Brown University
13	Golden Eagles women's basketball team as the 2024 Sooner Athletic Conference
14	Basketball Champions.
15	
16	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that upon adoption, a copy of this resolution be
17	provided to Head Coach Jeff Soderquist by the Chief Clerk of the House of
18	Representatives.
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	

2