1	State of Arkansas
2	94th General Assembly
3	Fiscal Session, 2024 HR 1056
4	
5	By: Representative Rye
6	
7	HOUSE RESOLUTION
8	TO RECOGNIZE THE EAST POINSETT COUNTY HIGH SCHOOL
9	WARRIORS FOOTBALL, BOYS' BASKETBALL, AND GIRLS'
10	TENNIS TEAMS FOR THEIR ATHLETIC ACCOMPLISHMENTS; TO
11	RECOGNIZE THE EAST POINSETT COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT'S
12	BAND PROGRAM.
13	
14	
15	Subtitle
16	TO RECOGNIZE THE EAST POINSETT COUNTY
17	HIGH SCHOOL WARRIORS FOOTBALL,
18	BASKETBALL, AND TENNIS TEAMS FOR THEIR
19	ATHLETIC ACCOMPLISHMENTS; TO RECOGNIZE
20	THE EAST POINSETT COUNTY SCHOOL
21	DISTRICT'S BAND PROGRAM.
22	
23	
24	WHEREAS, the East Poinsett County High School Warriors football team
25	made it to the semifinals in the 2A state playoffs in 2022 and had high
26	expectations for the 2023 football season; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, on November 2, 2023, the East Poinsett County High School
29	Warriors football team beat the Marked Tree High School Indians 38-32 for the
30	2A-2 Football Conference Championship title; and
31	
32	WHEREAS, the East Poinsett County High School Warriors football team
33	played its first state championship game in school history in 2023 and earned
34	the 2023 2A State Runner Up title; and
35	
36	WHEREAS, Dennis Gaines was named the 2023 Farm Bureau Insurance Award

4/30/2024 2:43:11 PM DTP310

1	Winner for 2A Offensive Player of the Year in 2A football; and
2	
3	WHEREAS, the East Poinsett County High School Warriors boys' basketball
4	team defeated the Marshall High School Bobcats 68-61 to claim the 2024 2A
5	Basketball State Championship title; and
6	
7	WHEREAS, Jacob Gaines was tabbed the 2024 2A Basketball State
8	Championship Game's Most Valuable Player and finished the game with twenty-
9	two (22) points and nine (9) rebounds; and
10	
11	WHEREAS, Dennis Gaines and Tyrus Reel each added thirteen (13) points
12	in the 2024 2A State Championship Game and Omar McCuiston scored eleven (11)
13	points; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, the East Poinsett County High School Warriors boys' basketball
16	team claimed the basketball program's first state title since 2012; and
17	
18	WHEREAS, four (4) players from East Poinsett County High School
19	Warriors girls' tennis team participated in the State Tournament at Allen
20	Park in Jonesboro and one (1) player participated in the 2023 2A State
21	Championship Game; and
22	
23	WHEREAS, Riley Ashcraft placed second in the 2023 2A Girls Singles
24	tournament; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, the East Poinsett County High School band program had multiple
27	accomplishments in 2023, including:
28	(1) Performing at War Memorial Stadium in Little Rock for the
29	2023 2A Football State Championship; and
30	(2) A Region V Concert Assessment for the band's concert
31	performance and sight-reading performance at the Jonesboro High School
32	Performing Arts Center; and
33	LHEDEAC the Foot Deinsett County High Coherl hard are good the 2007
34 35	WHEREAS, the East Poinsett County High School band was named the 2024
36	2A State Concert Band Honor Ensemble and received 1st Division Superior Ratings from all of the Region V Concert Contest Assessment judges; and
, 0	Ratings from all of the region v concert contest Assessment judges; and

1	
2	WHEREAS, the East Poinsett County High School band was selected to be
3	the 2025 2A State Concert Assessment Ensemble; and
4	
5	WHEREAS, the East Poinsett County High School band was recently
6	assessed at Highland High School for its solo and ensemble performance and
7	received ten (10) superior rated solos, two (2) superior rated ensemble
8	performances, and two (2) excellent rated solos,
9	
10	NOW THEREFORE,
11	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL
12	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
13	
14	THAT the House of Representatives recognize the East Poinsett County
15	High School Warriors football, boys' basketball, and tennis girls' teams for
16	their athletic accomplishments and the band program for its accomplishments.
17	
18	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption, a copy of this resolution shall be
19	provided to East Poinsett County High School by the Chief Clerk of the House
20	of Representatives.
21	
22	
23	
<ul><li>24</li><li>25</li></ul>	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	