1	State of Arkansas
2	94th General Assembly
3	Fiscal Session, 2024 SR 19
4	
5	By: Senator M. McKee
6	
7	SENATE RESOLUTION
8	TO RECOGNIZE THE NATIONAL PARK COLLEGE NIGHTHAWKS
9	MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM AS THE NATIONAL JUNIOR COLLEGE
10	ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION (NJCAA) DIVISION II MEN'S
11	NATIONAL CHAMPIONS.
12	
13	
14	Subtitle
15	TO RECOGNIZE THE NATIONAL PARK COLLEGE
16	NIGHTHAWKS MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM AS THE
17	NATIONAL JUNIOR COLLEGE ATHLETIC
18	ASSOCIATION (NJCAA) DIVISION II MEN'S
19	NATIONAL CHAMPIONS.
20	
21	
22	WHEREAS, the National Park College Nighthawks Men's basketball team
23	claimed the 2024 National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA)
24	Division II Men's Basketball Championship title when they defeated South
25	Suburban College, 84-79, on Saturday, March 23, 2024, at the Mary Miller
26	Center in Danville, Illinois; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, after making it to the National Junior College Athletic
29	Association (NJCAA) Region II postseason championship a year ago, the
30	National Park College Nighthawks Men's basketball team received one (1) of
31	four (4) at-large bids to compete in the National Junior College Athletic
32	Association (NJCAA) Division II Men's Basketball National Tournament as the
33	number five (5) seed; and
34	
35	WHEREAS, the National Park College Nighthawks Men's basketball team
36	defeated Johnson County Community College, North Central Missouri College,

1	and Davidson-Davie Community College before claiming the National
2	Championship over South Suburban College; and
3	
4	WHEREAS, the National Park College Nighthawks Men's basketball team
5	concluded the season with a 31-1 record and avenged their defeat in the
6	region championship game to claim the National Championship as an at-large
7	selection; and
8	
9	WHEREAS, National Park College Nighthawks Men's basketball team was led
10	by Coach Dillon Hargrove; and
11	
12	WHEREAS, Coach Dillon Hargrove was named the 2023-2024 NJCAA Division
13	II Men's Basketball Coach of the Year; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, sophmore center, Taylor Harrell, was named the tournament's
16	Pin Ryan Most Valuable Player, scoring fifty (50) points, thirty-five (35)
17	rebounds, and making two (2) blocks including:
18	(1) A double-double of eighteen (18) points and fifteen (15)
19	rebounds in the semifinals; and
20	(2) Twenty-two (22) points and eight (8) rebounds in the
21	championship game; and
22	
23	WHEREAS, the National Park College Nighthawks Men's basketball team had
24	a historic 2023-2024, picking up its first national ranking and becoming
25	number one (1) in the nation,
26	
27	NOW THEREFORE,
28	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE
29	STATE OF ARKANSAS:
30	
31	THAT the Senate recognize the National Park College Nighthawks men's
32	basketball team as the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA)
33	Division II Men's National Champions.
34	
35	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that upon adoption of this resolution, a copy be

provided to Coach Dillon Hargrove by the Secretary of the Senate.

36