1	State of Arkansas
2	94th General Assembly
3	Fiscal Session, 2024 SR 36
4	
5	By: Senator J. Petty
6	
7	SENATE RESOLUTION
8	TO RECOGNIZE THE VAN BUREN HIGH SCHOOL POINTERS
9	WRESTLING TEAM FOR WINNING THE 2023-2024 CLASS 5A
10	STATE WRESTLING CHAMPIONSHIP AND THE CLASS 5A DUAL
11	STATE WRESTLING CHAMPIONSHIP.
12	
13	
14	Subtitle
15	TO RECOGNIZE THE VAN BUREN HIGH SCHOOL
16	POINTERS WRESTLING TEAM FOR WINNING THE
17	2023-2024 CLASS 5A STATE WRESTLING
18	CHAMPIONSHIP AND THE CLASS 5A DUAL STATE
19	WRESTLING CHAMPIONSHIP.
20	
21	
22	WHEREAS, the Van Buren High School Pointers Wrestling Team won the
23	2023-2024 Class 5A State Wrestling Championship on February 24, 2024, and the
24	Class 5A Dual State Wrestling Championship on February 3, 2024; and
25	
26	WHEREAS, the Van Buren High School Pointers Wrestling Team:
27	(1) Won the Class 5A State Wrestling Championship with one
28	hundred seventy-three (173) points to outpace the second place Lakeside High
29	School team by forty-three (43) points; and
30	(2) Defeated Lakeside High School to capture the 2024 Class 5A
31	Dual State Wrestling Championship; and
32	
33	WHEREAS, with these championship, the Van Buren High School Pointers
34	Wrestling team won its third consecutive Class 5A State Wrestling
35	Championship and Class 5A Dual State Wrestling Championship for a total of
36	six (6) state titles in three (3) years; and



1	
2	WHEREAS, Don O'Kelley won the individual state championship at the one
3	hundred thirteen pound (113 lb.) weight class marking his second consecutive
4	state championship title; and
5	
6	WHEREAS, Dakota Fenwick won the individual state championship at the
7	one hundred twenty pound (120 lb.) weight class marking his second
8	consecutive state championship title; and
9	
10	WHEREAS, Owen Camera won the individual state championship at the one
11	hundred twenty-six pound (126 lb.) weight class; and
12	
13	WHEREAS, Alex Reed won the individual state championship at the one
14	hundred thirty-eight pound (138 lb.) weight class marking his second
15	consecutive state championship title; and
16	
17	WHEREAS, Alex Lopez won the individual state championship at the one
18	hundred forty-four pound (144 lb.) weight class; and
19	
20	WHEREAS, the Van Buren High School Pointers Wrestling Team had nine (9)
21	wrestlers place in the individual events at the state championship; and
22	
23	WHEREAS, the Van Buren High School Pointers Wrestling Team placed first
24	in the following wrestling tournaments, the:
25	(1) Gravette Tournament;
26	(2) Berryville Tournament;
27	(3) Pulaski Academy Tournament; and
28	(4) North Regional Tournament for the second consecutive year;
29	and
30	
31	WHEREAS, the Van Buren High School Pointers Wrestling Team is coached
32	by John Petree and Dakota Petree; and
33	
34	WHEREAS, the Van Buren High School Pointers Wrestling Team's hard work
35	and dedication were integral to its victories,
36	

1	NOW THEREFORE,
2	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE
3	STATE OF ARKANSAS:
4	
5	THAT the Senate recognize the Van Buren High School Pointers Wrestling
6	Team for winning the 2023-2024 Class 5A State Wrestling Championship and the
7	Class 5A Dual State Wrestling Championship.
8	
9	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption of this resolution, a copy shall be
10	provided to Head Coach John Petree and Coach Dakota Petree by the Secretary
11	of the Senate.
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24 25	
25 26	
20 27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	